We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Teppan Baby Shinjuku
Ranked #4 of 10,418 Restaurants in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Shinjuku
Description: Teppan Baby is a Japanese restaurant of Typical Japanese soul food "Hiroshima Yaki". Hiroshima Yaki is a sort of grilled dish "aka Okonomiyaki as well", looks like a pancake (salty though), which we proudly serve with fresh vegitables and meat, seafoods and eggs. You can enjoy our genuine Hiroshima Yaki not only by eating but also watching the skilled chef cooking at an open kitchen (grill counter). You can also enjoy the wide range of drink menu, including Shochu, Japanese Sake, beer and soft drinks. For vegetarian menu and anything about the menu, please feel free to let us know. We have a communication app in English, Korean, Chinese(simplified, traditional), Malay, Thai, French.
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Great little restaurant, we were made to feel very welcome and accommodated and we thoroughly enjoyed the food here. The yakisoba omelette was definitely our favourite.

Thank journey987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teppanbaby, マネージャー at Teppan Baby Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you so much for coming to Teppan Baby and writing a nice comment. We are happy to learn that our hospitality brought you satisfaction and you lived our Okonomiyaki and Yakisoba!
Hope to see you again when you come back to Tokyo.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 46 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

My very small serve of Yakitori noodles arrived but we then had over a 45 minute wait for my husbands food to arrive. It was the fact that three tables surrounding us all got their meals while we still waited. Some things are easy to get right but this restaurant lacks the know how for the basics. Don’t waste your time.

Thank Leah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teppanbaby, マネージャー at Teppan Baby Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

We are afraid we don't have "Yakitori" in our menu, but if it is just a typo and what you mentioned here really happened to you, we apologize for the inconveniences that caused. It sometimes takes long to cook Okonomiyaki as we cook it one by one so our staff should always mention that to each customer and offer some appetizers which can be served quickly while waiting for Okonomiyaki. We take your valuable feedback sincerely and make sure our staff to give better explanations about okonomiyaki.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Good food, friendly staff with an English menu and decent price. Would highly recommend for any English speaking tourist

Thank Monique U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teppanbaby, マネージャー at Teppan Baby Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you so much for coming to Teppan Baby and writing a kind comment! Not all of our staff speak English but we will keep trying to deliver the same quality of service both to locals and tourists.
Hope to see you again at our door the next time you come to Tokyo!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Teppan baby was recommend to us by some girls we met in a bar in Hiroshima. We headed there at around 6ish and managed to get a table straight away. The staff were so friendly. We didn’t manage to have the famous okonomiyaki in Hiroshima so we were glad to have it here - it was delicious- and was easy to ask for a meat free option (which hasn’t been the easiest thing to do in Japan!) The garlic rice was also amazing. The food is cooked right in front of you if you sit a the bar, and you say the okonomiyaki straight off the hot plate. If you’re in Shinjuka - or even in Tokyo it’s worth making your way to this place!

1  Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teppanbaby, マネージャー at Teppan Baby Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you so much for your kind comment! The pleasure is ours to have been able to accommodate your preference and bring you satisfaction. We will keep striving to deliver a quality service and food to customers until you come back to Tokyo!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Teppan Baby is located in what is essentially a basement in the middle of Shinjuku - and we were happy to have stumbled across the place. It has a lively atmosphere and the service is outstanding. While some of the dishes we had were just okay, it was great to be able to try a variety of items we wouldn't have tried otherwise, and it was a memorable experience during our short stay in Tokyo.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sarah05262017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teppanbaby, マネージャー at Teppan Baby Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

We are happy to read that you like our service, atomosphere and most of food. Regarding the dishes which were just okay for you, we are sorry for not being able to bring you satisfaction. We are more than happy to accomodate your preference as much as we can, so please feel free to let our staff know if there is anything you are not happy with. We are looking forward to seeing you again when you come back to Tokyo!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teppan Baby Shinjuku also viewed

 
Kabukicho, Shinjuku
 

Been to Teppan Baby Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing