We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but cozy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Ranked #13 of 83 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Reviewed August 30, 2017 via mobile

The room was cozy but a little too tight. We were three (2 adult with1 child) and it was a tight squeeze especially with 2 huge luggages. It was okay for the price, there's a lot of resto and things to do. It's not that close to the trains though

Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
Thank Michelle_Teng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
新宿PH事業戦略, Omotenashi Desk at Shinjuku Prince Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2017

Dear Michelle_Teng

Thank you very much for staying at Shinjuku Prince Hotel. We are sorry that you feel uncomfortable at your room. We have bigger rooms. We hope that you can try it next time.
As you mention, there are a lot of nice restaurants and shops around our hotel. We can help making reservations so please feel free to contact us.
Our hotel is in a same building as the Seibu Shinjuku station and also the hotel and JR stations are connecting by an underground passage so you can come to our hotel even if it is a rainy day.
We are looking forward to serving you again. Please feel free to contact us.

Yours sincerely,
Omotenashi desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (990)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 990 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2017

The Shinjuku prince hotel is in a pretty good location, just a few minutes walk from the JR station (that has tracks by the hotel) and immediately adjacent to Kabuki-cho (more on that later). The rooms in the Prince that I've stayed in on multiple visits are all roughly the same, what I would call modern Japanese-style, i.e. small by western standards. The bathrooms have a tall soaking tub (which is great), there's a bed, a small TV, and a small desk, and that's about it. The whole thing is about 1/2 to 1/3 the size of a "normal" US room. Other hotels in Tokyo have more "western" sized rooms like the Capital Tokyu or New Otani, but their location is generally not as convenient for walking or JR access as the Shinjuku Prince.

The hotel has packages that include breakfast (I always get this, so not sure if they have one without), and the breakfast is good. There are both Japanese and non-Japanese breakfast foods featured, so you can get what you prefer. It's buffet-style and a cut above any of the included breakfasts I've got with a stay in the US.

I would try to get a room with an eastern view, especially if it's in summer. The AC is not great for keeping the rooms very cool when the sun is beating into them. It seems to be centrally controlled and have a limiter on them. The rooms with the afternoon sun seem to have the hardest time staying cool from the visits I've had.

Now, regarding Kabuki-cho access, which is essentially right next door to the Shinjuku Prince. I love this place - there are tons of little restaurants with great food, and interesting shops, and tons of bars with all kinds of people in them. However, there's a good amount of seedy places exploiting women and some aggressive barkers in the narrow streets and alleys of the labyrinth that is Kabuki-cho. There's also a fair amount of drunken Japanese men as the night goes on. Sometimes they will say rude things to Gaijin they meet on the street. I would not recommend a woman or women walk around by themselves, especially at night. Nothing has ever happened to me personally, but the area has a lot going on, and not all of it is legal, so safety first.
I would say this hotel is best for a business visit or some young people that are adventurous due to the proximity to Kabuki-cho. I would not recommend this hotel for families with younger kids.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with an eastern view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Fighting_Irish-CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
新宿PH事業戦略, Omotenashi Desk at Shinjuku Prince Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2017

Dear Fighting_Irish-CA,

Thank you very much for your continued patronage of Shinjuku Prince Hotel.
We appreciate for your precious time to share your thoughts and hope that you had a pleasant stay with us.

As you have mentioned, we are right next to the Kabuki-cho where you can find a lot of restaurants and entertainment venues. Even though there are some areas or places that you may wish to avoid due to the safety concern, the Kabuki-cho itself has been changing a lot to be more for entertainment zone. If there is anything we can assist for the information of surrounding area, please feel free to ask any of our staff.

We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Omotenashi Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2017 via mobile

My family stayed only one night in a "triple" room that was very small. If you stay on a high floor, try to get a room facing the Gracery Hotel so you can see the giant Godzilla head on the roof as well as the night life of Shinjuku at night. Shinjuku is a great place to hang out, eat and shop, so I'd say the location is the best thing about this hotel. Overall, I doubt I'd stay there again as the price is high for what you get.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank joelgs23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
新宿PH事業戦略, マネージャー at Shinjuku Prince Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2017

Dear joelgs23,

Thank you very much for staying at Shinjuku Prince Hotel and appreciate for your precious time to share your thoughts regarding your stay.
As you have mentioned our hotel has a view of both east (Godzilla side) and west (skycrapers side) of Shinjuku. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed the view and also the easy access to the transportation hubs and the entertainment area.

We hope to have a chance to serve you again in the future and if there is anything that we can assist, please feel free to contact us.

Yours sincerely,

Omotenashi desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2017

I visited this hotel and not only is it the biggest hotel I have stayed, the rooms, service, and breakfast were on point. I really had a nice time and was amazed by the size and how good the hotel is. I would recommend this hotel to visitors who are looking for a nice place to spend some time in Tokyo you won't regret it

Room Tip: Come and see for yourself
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank odein4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
新宿PH事業戦略, おもてなしデスク at Shinjuku Prince Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2017

Dear odein4,

Thank you very much for staying at Prince Hotels & Resorts.
We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay in Tokyo and it will be our pleasure if you would consider staying at one of the Prince Hotel group hotel for your future trip.
Again, thank you very much for your precious time to share your thoughts and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Omotenashi desk
Shinjuku Prince Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2017 via mobile

This hotel is in a good location about 5 minutes from Shinjuku main station (use east exit)
I do think it is overpriced though after staying a few days at an APA hotel nearby, the APA hotel had smaller rooms but offers better value.

Was not impressed with the staff at reception, usually at other hotels have stayed at if the room is available if you are early they will let you take it, This hotel had the room ready but wanted extra ¥3000.

Had trouble connecting to their wifi, staff offered no assistance and just handed be a piece of paper with a number to call the help desk, after seeing my reaction they called the number for me but still handed the phone to me, for Japan I think this is very bad service.

The good side it is close to many restaurants, bars, nightlife, shopping and transport.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled solo
1  Thank Harry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
新宿PH事業戦略, Omotenashi Desk at Shinjuku Prince Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2017

Dear Harry P,

Thank you very much for staying at the Shinjuku Prince Hotel.
We apologize for any inconvenience caused from the service of our staff.
Your comment has been shared thorough the hotel in order to improve our service standard.
Again, we appreciate for your precious time to share your thoughts, and hope to have a chance to serve you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Omotenashi Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 83 in Shinjuku
1,354 reviews
Shinjuku
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 83 in Shinjuku
1,403 reviews
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 83 in Shinjuku
4,061 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinjuku Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinjuku Prince Hotel

Address: 1-30-1 Kabukicho, Shinjuku 160-8487, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range: ₱6,588 - ₱30,159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shinjuku Prince Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 571
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shinjuku - a city constantly on the move. Here in this fast-paced subcenter of Tokyo, you'll find the striking, brick-colored tower of the Shinjuku Prince Hotel, which boasts 571 guest rooms and the trendy shops of the Seibu Shinjuku PePe. Located near the towering Tokyo Metropolitan City Hall, this elegant hotel is just a few minutes walk from the skyscrapers of the financial district and the neon lights of the famous Kabuki-cho, a constantly humming nightlife quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Fastbooking, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shinjuku Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Shinjuku
Prince Hotel Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing