We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, friendly, great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shinjuku Kuyakushomae Capsule Hotel
Voorhees, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly, great location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2017

Stayed six nights. All the essential amenities in place. Clean linen and towels, well stocked and spacious bath area. Laundry, lounge and restaurant on the fourth floor along with plentiful vending machines. Two WiFi spots to choose from.
The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable with at least a couple of them fluent in English which is helpful.
Access is in an alcove off the street past a Mister Donut. The building also has a karaoke bar of the fifth floor (yellow cat logo) and an English Pub location.
Will return for sure.

  • Stayed March 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJBalshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    199
    91
    18
    16
See reviews for
9
29
234
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2017 via mobile

If you do your research about what a capsule hotel is and what it has to offer then you will not be disappointed if you go. Cheap, different , good experience. Most of the time I made it back to my capsule in the five nights I was staying there I was a little tipsy , so I just passed right out. Plenty of bars around and tons of restaurants. I do recommend not partying in shinjuku at night just take the train to shibuya , a lot better experience.

Stayed March 2017, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2017

Stayed here with 2 friends for a capsule hotel experience in Japan. It didn't disappoint me. Finding the entrance might be challenging. Direction from the website is not helping either. Instead we found a review of this hotel with more details on how to find the entrance. We only stayed here for 1 night when we arrive late in Tokyo.

The hotel is located in downtown Shinjuku with many convenience stores nearby. The female area is only 1 floor, the rest is for male. Be careful when it's full occupancy because you might not find a space to put your luggage. They provide you with bath towel, yukata, bathing amenities, so you can travel light.

There is a common room to relax and dine. Receptionists cannot really speak English. Be careful if you are a light sleeper. In the morning (6-7 am) it will be very noisy as people are getting ready to go out. Unless you are very tall or very big, the capsule itself is just nice.

  • Stayed October 2016, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank am-there
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2017 via mobile

The entrance is difficult to locate because it's in a foyer which is off street level.
It was a very good experience. Close to bars and eateries.
It is about 15 minutes walk from the Shinjuku train station. The express train to Narita airport stops at this station.
I would thoroughly recommend the hotel to anyone seeking a capsule hotel experience.

Stayed February 2017, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Keithm2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2017 via mobile

Does the job. Strange check in procedure, in which you put your shoes in a locker and then give the keys to reception and they will give you a different key for a different locker for you to put your bag and clothes in.

Capsule itself was obviously small - just enough room for me to sit up inside (I'm 5'11) you can also hear all the people come in and talking in the corridors. Capsule was clean and had a TV. Female floor was on the top level.

Common area was pretty busy when I got there, but had the basic amenities, vending machines, Sofas and eating area/canteen. The place also had a spa - if you've never been to an onsen before, read up about it and its very strict rules.

Very central position, without having to walk through the seedy part of town.

Tried this as a one night experience - I would only recommend this type of accommodation if you are on a tight budget. Otherwise, get an airbnb flat.

Stayed February 2017, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank estranero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#14 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Shinjuku
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#10 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinjuku Kuyakushomae Capsule Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinjuku Kuyakushomae Capsule Hotel

Property: Shinjuku Kuyakushomae Capsule Hotel
Address: 1-2-5 Kabukicho, Shinjuku 160-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Specialty lodging in Shinjuku
Price range (per night): ₱1,201 - ₱4,103
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Shinjuku Kuyakushomae Capsule Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shinjuku Kuyakushomae Capsule Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing