We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was what I expected out of a capsule hotel ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shinjuku Kuyakushomae Capsule Hotel
1 review
“It was what I expected out of a capsule hotel ”
Reviewed March 9, 2017 via mobile

If you do your research about what a capsule hotel is and what it has to offer then you will not be disappointed if you go. Cheap, different , good experience. Most of the time I made it back to my capsule in the five nights I was staying there I was a little tipsy , so I just passed right out. Plenty of bars around and tons of restaurants. I do recommend not partying in shinjuku at night just take the train to shibuya , a lot better experience.

Stayed March 2017, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    202
    96
    21
    17
See reviews for
9
30
244
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2017

Stayed here with 2 friends for a capsule hotel experience in Japan. It didn't disappoint me. Finding the entrance might be challenging. Direction from the website is not helping either. Instead we found a review of this hotel with more details on how to find the entrance. We only stayed here for 1 night when we arrive late in Tokyo.

The hotel is located in downtown Shinjuku with many convenience stores nearby. The female area is only 1 floor, the rest is for male. Be careful when it's full occupancy because you might not find a space to put your luggage. They provide you with bath towel, yukata, bathing amenities, so you can travel light.

There is a common room to relax and dine. Receptionists cannot really speak English. Be careful if you are a light sleeper. In the morning (6-7 am) it will be very noisy as people are getting ready to go out. Unless you are very tall or very big, the capsule itself is just nice.

  • Stayed October 2016, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank am-there
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2017 via mobile

The entrance is difficult to locate because it's in a foyer which is off street level.
It was a very good experience. Close to bars and eateries.
It is about 15 minutes walk from the Shinjuku train station. The express train to Narita airport stops at this station.
I would thoroughly recommend the hotel to anyone seeking a capsule hotel experience.

Stayed February 2017, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Keithm2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2017 via mobile

Does the job. Strange check in procedure, in which you put your shoes in a locker and then give the keys to reception and they will give you a different key for a different locker for you to put your bag and clothes in.

Capsule itself was obviously small - just enough room for me to sit up inside (I'm 5'11) you can also hear all the people come in and talking in the corridors. Capsule was clean and had a TV. Female floor was on the top level.

Common area was pretty busy when I got there, but had the basic amenities, vending machines, Sofas and eating area/canteen. The place also had a spa - if you've never been to an onsen before, read up about it and its very strict rules.

Very central position, without having to walk through the seedy part of town.

Tried this as a one night experience - I would only recommend this type of accommodation if you are on a tight budget. Otherwise, get an airbnb flat.

Stayed February 2017, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank estranero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2017 via mobile

I stayed here on a solo trip to Tokyo in November 2016. In the heart of Shinjuku and about 15 mins walk to the main Shinjuku station.

Perfect for a solo trip

It was a bit hard to find initially. And you may walk past the pin on google maps several times before you find it.

Remember to take off your shoes as soon as you walk in.

More tourists who stay here than other the capsule hotels I have stayed at

Stayed November 2016, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 83 in Shinjuku
1,331 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#14 of 83 in Shinjuku
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 83 in Shinjuku
1,288 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Prime Pod Ginza Tokyo
Shinjuku
Super Hotel Shinjuku Kabukicho
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinjuku Kuyakushomae Capsule Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinjuku Kuyakushomae Capsule Hotel

Property: Shinjuku Kuyakushomae Capsule Hotel
Address: 1-2-5 Kabukicho, Shinjuku 160-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 Specialty lodging in Shinjuku
Price range (per night): ₱1,285 - ₱3,444
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Shinjuku Kuyakushomae Capsule Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shinjuku Kuyakushomae Capsule Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing