We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shinjuku Kuyakushomae Capsule Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shinjuku Kuyakushomae Capsule Hotel
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Convenient ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2017 via mobile

I stayed here on a solo trip to Tokyo in November 2016. In the heart of Shinjuku and about 15 mins walk to the main Shinjuku station.

Perfect for a solo trip

It was a bit hard to find initially. And you may walk past the pin on google maps several times before you find it.

Remember to take off your shoes as soon as you walk in.

More tourists who stay here than other the capsule hotels I have stayed at

Stayed November 2016, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    196
    88
    18
    16
See reviews for
9
28
228
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2017 via mobile

The place is a bit hard to find from the Shinjuku Station itself, but manageable with a google map. Upon arrriving you would leave your luggage at the locker area and can proceed to the capsule.

Tips:
- if you are a solo traveler then this place is perfect for you
- backpacks is way convenient if you check-in here
- male bathroom/shower area are open that fellow male goers can see your banana, which is something that i'm not use to especially in my culture.(oh well can't argue with that coz the place is cheap)
- you pay what you get, if the place is cheap don't expect 3-5 star treatment
- you have to check out everyday before 10am, you can leave your bags at the reception and recheck-in again.
- if your bag is small you can sneak it inside the capsule
- bring with you earplugs

Stayed August 2016, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2017 via mobile

I have given top star ratings because of this was new to me and was unusual but very interesting.

Capsules you sleep in are small yet comfortable and only recommended for sleeping. If you want to sit back and watch a movie (which you use headphones for, it is a complete silence zone) then be sure to experience back pain since you will slouch.

As for showering. This is common and split male and female. Be warned you will shower side by side and be nude in the numbers of at least 15 onwards.

Same goes for jacuzzis and saunas and face washing areas. All in all good experience. Staff also very friendly and informative.

Definate recommend at least for one night, just for the experience.

Stayed December 2016, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank SirJacobDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2017

When planning this trip with my son, I figured this would be a perfect time to try out a capsule hotel since we’d be both males and the anything-goes kind of people.

Reservation for three nights via online was easy though but after the experience, it might not have even been necessary at all. (More about that later).

Upon reaching the 3rd floor where the front desk is, you’d be greeted by (not the front desk clerks) loads of luggage. We arrived at about 10am and we were immediately informed that they will not be entertaining check-ins until 4pm. I couldn’t even use their rest room because the entire facility was undergoing “cleaning”. But thankfully, we were allowed to leave our bags (with the rest of the other luggage) while we set out to explore the city.

We got back at about 6pm and the lady in the front desk patiently explained to me the policies of the capsule hotel. She had some challenges in speaking English but I appreciated her efforts in doing so very much. I read in some reviews that the staff where somewhat rude, but I thought otherwise. To me it was just normal.

The plus factors;
1. Location – It’s right smack in the heart of it all. And the train station entrance is just a block away.
2. Very clean bathrooms. They provide you with a towel, a bathrobe & a pair of shorts. It comes with common use shampoo, body wash and facial soap. Although be prepared to take a bath in the company of other men in one big shower area all butt naked. Try not to be culture shocked by it.
3. Each Capsule comes with its own TV though I barely got to watch because it was all in Japanese. It’s pretty warm and cozy after getting under the thick blanket.
4. They have a mess hall complete with vending machines and hot water in the 4th floor.

The downsides;
1. You’d have to check out every morning before 10am and be asked to vacate your capsule & locker. Then when you get back later in the day, you’d have to check in again, be assigned a new locker and capsule. So, it appeared that you don’t really need to reserve after all.
2. This part I liked the least. The lockers & showers are all in the 3rd floor. While our assigned capsule was in the 6th floor. You are not permitted to bring you luggage to the capsule with you (except if you just want to organize or arrange stuff inside it). Its pretty inconvenient to have your bag so far away from you in case you realize there is something in it that you need with you for the night. I did observe that some guests manage to sneak in their luggage to the 6th floor. They probably felt the same way we did.
3. The lockers were also quite small that even a small cabin sized luggage won’t fit in. As a result, you’d see luggage on top of lockers all over. Then it spreads out further to the receptions areas and even on top of the shoe lockers nearby. Luggages were everywhere.
• The locker rooms are so cramped that it makes it difficult to open even just a small luggage, especially with other people around.
• Although I appreciate that they permit guests to leave their luggage behind so they don’t need to haul it with them through the day, it makes the place seem so cluttered & messy.

4. There is a disco a few floors down whose music beat you can still hear in the dead of the night. Too bad the hotel can’t do anything about it.

We tried the capsule hotel for the experience and surely the experience we got. I’m not so sure if all capsule hotels are like this. But if they are, I’ll be more likely looking for a hotel room instead in the future. Will I recommend this place again to my friends …? I’ll just say no comment.

Room Tip: Ask for a capsule in the lower lever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2017, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shinjuku hotels

Castleblayney, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2016

This place ticks ALL the boxes. It gets 10 out of 10 from me for Hospitality--- cleanliness---IMMACULATE--- Location-- beside Train Station and Mc Donalds. The extras which are ALL complimentary, include unlimited tea coffee- minerals, towels, pyjamas and EVERYTHING one would need for showering and shaving. Also has a Hot Spring. For $45 this place is SUPERB.

Room Tip: This is a capsule hotel, obviously no views, but you can only admire the cleanliness and the respect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2016, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mullyashfox2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#15 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Shinjuku
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#11 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinjuku Kuyakushomae Capsule Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinjuku Kuyakushomae Capsule Hotel

Property: Shinjuku Kuyakushomae Capsule Hotel
Address: 1-2-5 Kabukicho, Shinjuku 160-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Specialty lodging in Shinjuku
Price range (per night): ₱1,155 - ₱4,016
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Shinjuku Kuyakushomae Capsule Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN and Expedia so you can book your Shinjuku Kuyakushomae Capsule Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing