We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay if you have busy schedule during the day!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shinjuku Kuyakushomae Capsule Hotel
Reviewed September 5, 2016

This place is amazing for busy people who are on the go between 10am and 4pm (the time you need to be out from the hotel. You can still leave your luggage there.)

The capsule hotels are best used as a place to crash in after an active day, you come check-in, get your amenity towels and indoor clothes (not at all fashionable but practical) then head to the spa with hot & cold baths and a sauna to get refreshed!

Toothbrushes and all personal hygiene products are provided free of charge! (aftershave, razor, shampoo, body soap etc.) so you don't have to lug them around.

After that you can head in to the common lounge where you can buy cheap Japanese food from the food-stand and various vending machines. At this time I usually took out my laptop and catch up on news and facebook.

When you are done for the day, you can just crawl into the capsule for sleep.

The location is also excellent for everything, but at first the area might seem dubious during night time, but is still very safe.

Not for families, works best when travelling solo or with friends. (note female and male dorms are separate but common lounge is joined)

Room Tip: Avoid day rooms on the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Santtu_Kahkonen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 44 of 425 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2016

We stayed here on our last night in Japan purely for the capsule experience. The hotel is basically designed for overnight stays only and is fairly compact. The capsules themselves are an unusual experience but fun nonetheless! The bath (men) was amazing! Just don't be afraid to get your jocks off in front of randoms!

Room Tip: Beware the TV channels!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2016 via mobile

Fortunately for me, I just stayed for one night during my late night arrival in Shinjuku. It is located at the middle of pub and disco bar. For me, it was the worst place that I stayed in Japan. Everything is narrow, including locker and shoes locker. For you who is traveling with couples, better to rent a hous outside the city rather than stay at the hotel like this. On the other hand, if you are traveling alone, maybe it is the right choice.

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Rhyando A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2016 via mobile

Staying in a capsule hotel is a cool experience and I recommend it but not for more than one night, if you can afford it. True it is cheaper than a hotel and as a result it is mostly younger folk/20 somethings there. But it is noisy. My cell was by the bathroom and well past 1 am ladies were showering and drying their hair. Few capsule hotels have women's floors so if you want this experience definitely stay here. The bathroom was clean and provided toiletries including toothbrushes. You put your belongings on a locker and your bigger bags stay in a common area. What I did was I sent my luggage on to my next hotel in Kyoto using a luggage forwarding service and I brought only a few things in a pack to the capsule. Also I initially had trouble finding the hotel. But there is an English pub in the same group of buildings and it is easier to find. It was also close to Subande which is a subway stop.

Stayed: July 2016, traveled solo
Thank Elizabeth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2016 via mobile

What an experience! Large capsules provide a comfortable space to rest whilst the hotel itself has many amenities for a low cost layover in Tokyo. It is clean and well looked after.

It is mere feet from the largest train station in the world (however you won't hear the trains) and could not be better situated.

Stayed: September 2015, traveled solo
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Nine Hours Shinjuku-North
Nine Hours Shinjuku-North
#4 of 38 in Shinjuku
47 reviews
Shinjuku
Super Hotel Shinjuku Kabukicho
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Tokyo Ginza Bay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
ENAKA Asakusa Central Hostel
Shinjuku
Capsule Hotel Anshin Oyado Premier Tokyo Shinjuku Station
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Oakhostel Cabin
Oakhostel Cabin
#10 of 26 in Chuo
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinjuku Kuyakushomae Capsule Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinjuku Kuyakushomae Capsule Hotel

Address: 1-2-5 Kabukicho, Shinjuku 160-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 Specialty lodging in Shinjuku
Price Range: ₱1,310 - ₱3,829 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Shinjuku Kuyakushomae Capsule Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Shinjuku Kuyakushomae Capsule Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing