We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy busy”
Review of El Caliente

El Caliente
Ranked #319 of 12,981 Restaurants in Minato
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Shinagawa, Gotanda
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

Great venue with a grey atmosphere. The staff are friendly and helpful. Food is tasty but with a Japanese take in Mexican food. It's great for dinner or just for drinks.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank juliemurphy12016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2017

food is great, staff is amazing, good latin music and during summer time you can enjoy the nice terrace. Great to hang out with friends

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank karimd75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

I cannot believe this place calls itself a Mexican restaurant. It puts mushrooms in their fajitas. I live in California, have eaten fajitas in Mexico, California, Texas, even in Spain. Never seen mushrooms in fajitas. My husband has a severe mushroom allergy that could send him to the hospital if he ate anything that touched mushrooms. Nanako was very unapologetic of the situation and refused to remake the dish. Even the Mexican chef came out and agreed and apologized that mushrooms don't belong in fajitas.

Btw, they only fill the margarita glasses one third of the way. If you are looking for a Taste of Mexico in Tokyo it definitely isn't here. Horrible customer service in a country that I have otherwise seen as kind and caring people. Shame on you Nanako!!!

Date of visit: November 2016
2  Thank Nataliek122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 October 2016

This restaurant is crowded and noisy and people were lining up to get in. In other words, it's popular. And deservedly so. The food and drinks were very good.

It's not really Mexican food, but that doesn't mean it's not good.

We had guacamole and chips. The guacamole is made at the table--you get to select your avocados, which are then mashed and blended with seasonings right in front of you. It's fun and entertaining and the end result was quite tasty. We also ordered fajitas which were served with flare (a literal one, since the server poured on and lit some form of alcohol after setting the dish on the table). The fajitas were tasty, but slightly disappointing insofar as the grilled vegetables were all Asian/Japanese vegetables and tasted like it. The seasoning just wasn't quite right and Chinese cabbage and bean sprouts are no substitute for onions and peppers. But, again, we happily finished them!

Our final dish was a burrito made with pumpkin and something else (by this point the Corona and sangria we had been drinking were having an effect!). Again, it was tasty, but not like any Mexican food I had eaten before.

So, if you're looking for a good meal (and good drinks) on a Mexican theme, and aren't necessarily after Mexican food per se, give this place a try!

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Banda-in-Japan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Food was delicious but was bit Japanized and not very authentic Mexican. However I enjoyed everything we ordered!
Guacamole, they let you pick one avocado and make you fresh one right in front of table.
Fajitas, they do some nice little surprise on the table!
Most of the small tapas are ¥300 &¥500! Good to share while enjoying some nice sangria! We ordered mojito but it was too minty and it was not my favorite.
I thought it was a bit pricey. We (2 people) shared 1 tapa & 1 guacamole nachos, 2 tacos, 1 fajita, 1 dessert, 1 pitcher of sangria, 1 pitcher of mojito. And it was ¥5000 per person. Maybe I felt bit pricey because Mexican food in the states are usually very cheap.
Very crowded, recommend to book ASAP since it's very popular place. The atmosphere was very good. Nice music (maybe too loud for some people), staffs are very kind always smiling, everyone seems having an amazing time there!

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank BusyTraveling_RD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Caliente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing