We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
steven l
Bohol Island, Philippines

Can’t fault

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed May 6, 2019
Got picked up from the pier driver really good. Staff at the hotel were great very friendly and accommodating Chico cafe was nice and quite and the food was good service cannot fault. A very enjoyable stay
Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AprilleGeniston, Manager at Dao Diamond Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review
Responded May 14, 2019
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your amazing feedback! We are all glad to know that you had a very enjoyable stay with us.

Your patronage has gone a long way in supporting the education of our deaf children in Bohol and Leyte.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Yours in hospitality,
Aprille
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
₱1,178
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • StayForLong
  • Agoda.com
    ₱1,112
  • Vio.com
    ₱1,112
2.3 km from Dao Diamond Hotel & Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
₱3,887
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    ₱3,589
  • Agoda.com
    ₱2,405
  • Priceline
    ₱3,599
1.1 km from Dao Diamond Hotel & Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
₱1,717
  • Priceline
    ₱1,951
  • Agoda.com
    ₱1,371
  • Expedia.com
    ₱1,708
2.5 km from Dao Diamond Hotel & Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
₱2,452
  • Priceline
    ₱3,046
  • Agoda.com
    ₱2,185
  • Vio.com
    ₱2,285
2.6 km from Dao Diamond Hotel & Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
6300
₱1,013
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Trip.com
    ₱1,537
  • Agoda.com
    ₱956
  • Expedia.com
1.3 km from Dao Diamond Hotel & Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
₱3,621
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    ₱4,024
  • Agoda.com
    ₱3,621
  • Vio.com
    ₱3,621
2.6 km from Dao Diamond Hotel & Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
₱1,500
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    ₱1,500
  • Agoda.com
    ₱830
  • Expedia.com
    ₱1,085
2.9 km from Dao Diamond Hotel & Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
Facade
₱1,364
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    ₱997
  • Expedia.com
    ₱1,384
2.4 km from Dao Diamond Hotel & Restaurant
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Tagbilaran City
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveler rating
41
46
15
1
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
41
46
15
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews their website deaf microwave tagbilaran philippines ac
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 107 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2018

Dao Diamond is simply a wonderful hotel, staffed and owed by some sort of organisation for the deaf Dao Diamond is close to Island mall and the transport terminal, they have a free modern shuttle van that will take you to the Mall or Ferry port, dont know about the new airport but i assume they will, rooms are well sized and very comfortable, great value for money in a wonderfully relaxed setting.

Room tip: We had probably the worst room - closest the lobby and it was fine..
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Slightly_Bitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AprilleGeniston, Manager at Dao Diamond Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2019

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a lovely review! Your appreciation means a lot to us. Just by staying with us, you already have made a difference in the lives of the Deaf here in Bohol.

By the way, we offer service to or from the new airport depending on its availability and it has an additional charge.

Again, thank you and we hope to see you here again!

Yours in hospitality,
Aprille

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2018 via mobile

Nice, clean, isolate hotel. This hotel operated to support education and care of hundreds of hearing-impaired children. Many staffs are hearing-impaired and need to communicate by hand sign or write down, but they very energetic to service and keen to help. Overall great place, satisfied service!

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Asahi-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AprilleGeniston, Manager at Dao Diamond Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks a lot for staying with us and for leaving a great review! We are all happy to know that you are satisfied with our service. Your patronage has indeed gone a long way in making a difference in the lives of our deaf children in Bohol. We would love to have you here again!

Yours in hospitality,
Aprille Geniston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2018 via mobile

日本語の情報が少ないので書きます。
3泊しました。スタッフは笑顔が素敵でみんなフレンドリー。ゆったりした雰囲気のホテルです。
Island City Mallが比較的近く、両替や買い物はここで。アロナビーチにも、チョコレートヒルズ方面へも行きやすく、Daoに宿泊して正解でした。

私達はフェリーターミナルまで送迎をお願いしました。電話ができずメールで到着時刻を連絡しましたが、時間通り迎えに来てもらえました!ありがとうございます。ホテルの名前入りの車で、宿泊者の名前入りボードを持っていてくれるので分かりやすかったです。

フロントでモーターサイクルのレンタル手配が可能です。返すときもホテルまで取りに来てくれるので楽!レンタル店 Hey Joeは良心的ですし、ホテルにバイク専用駐車スペースもあります:)

朝食は5種類くらいのセットの中から選べて、個人的にはフライドポークがおすすめ。簡単なプレートですがおなかいっぱいな量。遅めに行った日は自動的に写真のセットになりましたが、このオムレツが美味しい!美味しかったと伝えるための手話を覚えていけばよかった。皆さん笑顔が素敵でした。

私は問題なかったですが、情報として、ヘアドライヤーと冷蔵庫はありませんでした。お部屋にセキュリティボックスはあります。ドアはオートロック。外には警備員さんもいましたよ。

サービスや施設に日本式の完璧さを求める方には合わないかもしれません。ideafに関する活動が素晴らしいですし、堅苦しくなく暖かでのんびりした雰囲気がとても気に入りました。お世話になりました!

Thanks to your help, we enjoyed the vacation leisurely‼

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank moca2moca
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AprilleGeniston, Manager at Dao Diamond Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for leaving a lovely feedback. We are happy to know that you had a great stay at our hotel. Your appreciation and recommendation makes us more motivated to offer all our guests a truly memorable experience.

Your patronage has made a difference in the lives of our deaf children here in Bohol.

We are honored to have served you and we would love to see you again.

Yours in hospitality,
Aprille Geniston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2018 via mobile

I am writing this today, july 19 2018.
I checked in yesterday ang checked out this morning.
I admire what they do- supporting and hiring the deaf and mute.

My problem is the hotel itself.
Our rooms were rilled with mosquitos.
The bed was not comfortable.
The worse part is the food in their Chico restaurant.
We ordered the rice tippings for dinner last night...and it was disgusting. It was like left over food that stirred in a wok and out it in a bowl of rice..the price is abt $4.
Needless to say that we did not eat our food.
I did not want to be rude, so i jyst asked the one on the front desk, who is not deaf nor mute, to place another order for us as we were still hungry. That was about 8:45pm.

The hotel staff jyst kept on walkung to and fro the kitchen until she just went back to her station.
I aporoached her and asked if our new order has been placed. She looked at me and said that the kitchen no longer wanted to cook since their last order is at 9pm - we were not informed of this.
The only remedy they can offer is that they will not charge us for the disgustingly awful dinner.

After realizing that it was pointless to argue, my staff and i went to bed hungry and disappointed.

This morning, we had our complimentary breakfast...the night before, we were told that it would be a single-line buffet. It was not.
I wish i could have taken a photo. Their ham breakfast was a piece of ham so thin that i was afraud tgat the wind would blow it off my plate. A small egg, a cup of steamed rice, a small piece of watermelon, and orange juice diluted in water. Luckily it came with the room charges as this breakfast for the birds costs $5.

The worse part is that when we were checking out, THEY CHARGED US WITH LAST NIGHT'S DISGUSTING DINNER, even if they said they wont, because according to their manager, who was not there last night,we should have complained earlier. We paid for that awful dinner because i did not want to give the impression that we only wanted a free meal.

We had arranged for AIRPORT transfers both to and fro
We were fetched at tge AIRPORT yesterday.
The incompetent front desk staff had us for SEA port for today. Luckily we overheard her giving instructions to their driver.

What they do employing the deaf and mute is commendable. I admire that but...
DONT BE FOOLED. The hotel looks nice but the rooms had mosquitos, the food was very very bad, the staff were inconpetent, and their manager was clueless.

I use tripadvisor before i book any hotel be it domestic or international. I appreciate the reviews previous guests give as it helps me decide.
Thats why i took the time to narrate my experience for the first time.
I wanted to return the benefirs i fet from using tripadvisor.

But hey, its your money, right?
Good luck on your next stay in this hotel.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
7  Thank azuedw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AprilleGeniston, Manager at Dao Diamond Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2018

Mr. Edward,

I am just amazed as to how people used social media for venting their anger . I would like to remind you that when you first checked in, you never bothered to listen to general instructions given to all our customers upon check-in which includes the time a food order is accepted which is no later than 9 PM. Our front desk informed your staff about that.You ordered almost at 9 PM (our front desk staff even reminded you that we will only accept orders before 9 PM) and you ate almost all of it before you complained. What we understood as customer and business owner is that when you taste the food and if you don't like it, you complain right away and demand for replacement or refund and if it was disgusting as described in your review then why eat most of it and then complained. I don't understand how you went to bed hungry? By the way, our rice topping is one of our bestseller food. Regarding mosquitoes, every now and then, they get inside the rooms but if you only called the housekeeping to spray the room then the mosquito issue will be resolved right away.

You're a big guy (almost 6 footer) for a Filipino and you bullied the front desk staff and even our manager who are three times smaller than you, yelling at the top of your lungs. You are for sure not a gentleman and seem to be mad at the whole world. There was no reason for you to go WILD and browbeat to small female hotel staff. Does that really make you a big man? We will be really happy if you will not return to our hotel ever! In fact we have black listed you if you ever do try to come back to this hotel.

One more thing, 99.9% of are guests are very happy with our hotel and services. Your opinion matters little.

Marilou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2018

Dao Diamond is located a bit out of the city central, but there are numerous motorized tricycle that can be hailed and taken into the city or the beach. Most of the staff are deaf, but surely excellent with their service and communication is not that difficult. Highly recommend renting a motorbike to tour island. Hotel does offer a marginal breakfast, and has pick up at the ferry terminal.

Room tip: Rent a motorbike
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank oceanquest33
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AprilleGeniston, Manager at Dao Diamond Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us. It relieves us to know that accessibility has not been a hindrance for you to have a good experience with us. Your appreciation and recommendation makes us more motivated to offer our guests an unforgettable experience.

It is also our pleasure to let you know that your patronage have helped the deaf children in Bohol and Leyte get quality education, training and support. Our deaf employees were actually our supported students before.

It has been a pleasure to have served you and we would love to see you all again.

Yours in hospitality,
Aprille

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews