We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trout City”
Review of Paulo das Trutas

Paulo das Trutas
Ranked #39 of 105 Restaurants in Monte Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 17 September 2021

Simple restaurant, focused on trout. Food is good, the trout portions are tasty with several options. You can divide portions but if you are a big eater you'll need to have a plate to yourself. Also had the cheese and doce de leite desert which was great.

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Whissely
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 1,361 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2019

Paulo has a second restaurant in the heart of Monte Verde, easy to get to on foot or by car.
Whoever the original one is tucked away in the woods has the fish ponds, a small shop with various trout pâtés, and jams. On the opposite side there is the “moonshining bar” with the still and shop. Their standard white cachaça called Filha da Truta, at real 40,00 a bottle is excellent. But they have a range of tastes and colours.
Nice deck to have a cold draft and snacks. Inside restaurant. Nice place but you do need a car and GPS to get there. I do prefer this one to the one in the heart of Monte Verde.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Niels-Fernanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 June 2019 via mobile

I must say that i am not a fan of trouts, but everybody in the city was recommending this place, so we decided to give it a chance.
It was absolhtely delicious, the best trout i have ever had!
Many options , all of then very well prepared and tasty.
They braise their trouts also.
If you are in Monte Verde or Campos do Jordão, go check this place!

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank marcusrjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

The environment is simple but nice.
There is a great potential for this place, fish tanks, sort of fountain, nature and beautiful atmosphere

However, it took more than 10 minutes for them to notice us, after calling the waitress multiple times we finally got a menu.

The entrance was very good, smoked trout paste with Italian bread. The trout took a little longer but it was very good, tasteful and well cooked.

A little confusion with the beverage orders, we saw the waiters confronting each other, looking for tables with a warm plate in hands, maybe not that warm after it was delivered.

We took the courage to give a feedback to the owner, or at least we thought so, sitting at the cashier. By mentioning that we had trouble in getting service, she handled a 20 bucks bill and said here don't pay the 10% tip... Very rude!

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank pedrodL5550SJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 July 2015 via mobile

Lovely restaurant. They grow their own trouts. The fish is very fresh and delicious. Must go place. Prices are quite fair.

Date of visit: July 2015
Thank Henalele
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paulo das Trutas also viewed

 

Been to Paulo das Trutas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.