We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ritz-Carlton, Abama
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Las Terrazas de Abama(Guia de Isora)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Allegro Isora(Playa de la Arena)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Holiday Village Tenerife(Puerto de Santiago)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bahia Flamingo(Playa de la Arena)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes(Puerto de Santiago)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Be Live Experience Playa La Arena(Puerto de Santiago)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Blue Sea Lagos de Cesar(Puerto de Santiago)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Dragos Del Sur(Puerto de Santiago)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,645)
Filter reviews
2,645 results
Traveler rating
1,534
607
293
127
84
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,534
607
293
127
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsel miradorkids clubprivate beachthe main hotelgolf buggythe club loungeadult pooljamon jamonvilla roomsone bedroom suiteplaya san juanguest relationswater circuitocean viewhalf boardfamily poolbeautiful resort
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 2,645 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Clearly not a cheap one, but a simple one-stop solution with all to hand.
The biggest thing that stood out was the price of he hotel restaurants - hard to swallow. But very good quality. But we deliberately did not opt for half board - we, as a family, prefer to flex and choose to try different experiences. We hired a car for our stay so did go out 2 evenings to local Sam Juan. Some great value and quality restaurants and a more authentic, diverse experience than a hotel. A taxi would be simple, too, I’m sure

A good spa, gym and pools.
All clean and great mattresses.
Generally good service.
Very friendly staff.
Fly yoga was a fun experience!
Paddle tennis great with the kids.
Good internet connectivity.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
4  Thank Greg_7Oaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRCQuality, Quality Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Abama, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Greg_7Oaks,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, as we appreciate knowing the areas of opportunity we can work on to make our guest´s stay, a truly memorable one.

I believe we do take advantage of our secluded location to offer our guests an exclusive experience and are lucky to have a nice town like San Juan nearby, and I am glad to hear you have enjoyed both aspects.

Our Ladies and Gentlemen will be delighted to hear your positive feedback on their service and will look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Sandra Zaragoza,
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is absolutely beautiful, everything is rated ten out of ten, from arrival porters, to check in to bar staff, waiting on staff, beach boys and chamber maids. The level of service we received was by far we have experienced in Spain/Canaries.
The restaurants are superb, the menus offer delicious 5 star food. The swimming pools were beautifully set out, we used the adults only pool and the main pool, the staff were helpful, the towels fluffy and plentiful.
What an amazing hotel, the little train always waiting to take you up the hills, the friendly funicular operator had a smile as bright as the sun. If your looking for some winter sun not too far away, The Ritz Carlton ticks all boxes. We shall be returning.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank KAren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRCQuality, Quality Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Abama, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear KAren C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

We are very proud of the facilities we offer such as our 2 Michelin star restaurant, our spa, our golf and all the others. It is a delight to hear that you have enjoyed them so much and if you have not had the chance to try them all out, we will be thrilled to welcome you back to add a whole new layer to your Ritz-Carlton experience.

I will pass on your praises to our Ladies and Gentlemen. They are one of the main strength that makes our hotel stand out and comments like yours are what makes it all worth it for them.

We hope to welcome you back soon in our establishment.

Sincerely,
Sandra Zaragoza
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent place to relax for a week, unwind and enjoy.

We stayed a week as a couple. First, has to be said that this is probably a better place for families or couples about to have kids. It ain't a party place.

The sheer size of the place (enormous) comes with ups (many restaurant choices, 7 in the evening ! two of which are michelin starred) and downs (many many kids in some areas). All that said, it's quite a feat to maintain a high quality in pretty all compartments of the hotel, from food to rooms, to the gym, the pool(s) etc. Really well done.

The domain is huge, and there are so many choices of things to do. in no particular order we enjoyed:
- The adult pool near the mirador, with its massive beds where we laid down for hours, read books etc. The service there is great and you can have food delivered there or go to the side at a table. Really loved it. And the poolservice people were great, helping with towels, moving the umbrellas etc. just perfect. And you can take a stroll down to the beach and come back if you wish to do a little walk.

- The gym was great, modern equipment, clean, and open 24hrs. The spinning class outdoor was quite nice as well.

- The tennis and golf were really nice. One thing though, i'd have expected the tennis court booking to be free for hotel guests. Not the end of the world but still a touch surpising.

Rooms were large, well isolated, clean.

Last but not least, the staff was great all round, from the people at the reception, to the people at the pool, the people at breakfast, and those at the pool. Every single employee was doing the utmost to help and it was much appreciated.

Room Tip: If you don't have kids, ask to be in the adult only villas
  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Victor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRCQuality, Quality Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Abama, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Victor J,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. I am delighted to hear it was a positive one.
I believe we take great advantage of our secluded location, and offer our guests a destination within a destination - to enjoy the exclusive Abama beach, our different pools and of course, our wide range of restaurants and ways to move around the resort.
We also have a spa at your disposal, and if you have not had the chance to try it, we would be delighted to welcome you there on your next visit.

Our Ladies and Gentlemen will be happy to hear your kind words. They are a key part of what makes the Ritz-Carlton Abama special and unique and your thanks are truly fulfilling for them.

We do hope to host you again in the near future and keep adding Ritz-Carlton Memories to every journey.

Sincerely,
Sandra Zaragoza
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent welcome at the desk and arrival process although the bags took forever to be delivered to the room. We had ordered an early arrival at 14:00 but the room was not available until 16:00, so why offer this option by email before! On the first day we tried two of the ten on-site restaurants, Los Chozos and 20/20 Steakhouse. Both lacked atmosphere and that upmarket feel you expect in a true 5 star. Both had terrible wine lists, with none of the classic Spanish reds you expect. Who chose these? We had to ask for a decent bottle to be brought from another restaurant which took about 35 mins for some reason. Not acceptable, and they try to charge you the price from that restaurant. The staff throughout the hotel are attentive and always apologetic for faults and errors but little happens as a result of your complaint. (Read previous reviews and hotel mgmt responses, these are similar!)

The bedroom is pleasant and quiet, apart from the noise from the room above who were constantly dragging furniture around. The room lacked lighting, they provide a make-up table and large mirror but no lighting at all. What use is that? The 1 bedroom suite we ordered was fine although with a teenager in the lounge area on a rollaway it was awkward with only one bathroom / toilet only accesible from the bedroom! The mock 4 poster bed serves no purpose other than blocking view to the TV. (Add photo) Good private terrace. They are very mean with bathroom supplies and we had to ask for more soap! Remember this suite is over €800 per night?

Room cleaning can occur anywhere between 10:00-16:30 which is really late and inconvenient as you return from the pool. Surely rooms should be complete by 15:00? The turndown service is then too early at 18:30-19:00? Just when you are back in the room and relaxing. Cleaning during your stay is minimal, only the bathroom floor is mopped with the room and lounge floors uncleaned. A bizarre total lack of management.

The hotel suffers from a multitude of small faults and failures in poor management, service and attention to detail, which in isolation are not important but when you have 3-4 everyday they become the defining factor of your stay!

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
5  Thank Bigboy1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abama2, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Abama, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Bigboy1959,

I was pleased to hear that the welcome and arrival process was to your satisfaction; unfortunately it seems that from then on we were unable to deliver the service and facilities that you were expecting.

As I don´t believe in excuses, I offer none but my sincere apology for not having been able to provide you with the holiday you were so looking forward to.

On a different note please accept my appreciation for sharing your experience with us, your concerns had already been registered whilst you were staying with us and measures we taken almost immediately to try remedy them. I´m pleased to inform you that even before your review, we, the management and line staff, have taken the time to share ideas on how to improve or at least ask anticipatory questions to better meet with most of our guests expectations.

Once again, please accept my most sincere apology for the shortcomings and wishing you safe travels wherever these may take you.

Kind regards,
Rui Beirao
Assistant Director of Rooms
The Ritz-Carlton, Abama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have spent a great week relaxing at the Abama in one of the Tagor villa rooms with a Wonderfull garden balcony just a couple of steps from a beautiful and warm pool reserved for adult Tagor guests only. Yes the hotel has lots of kids in but there are many adult only places so if you want to avoid them its easy to at the Tagor villas.

A great way to spend an anniversary and all the staff have been really nice and helpful. There are more than 6 restaurants and in every one we are greeted by name. The staff go to get lengths to personalise the experience. All the food is a high standard - this is truly 5 start experience. We will be back to enjoy the hotels and explore the beautiful national volcanic park some more.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Drdavidwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRCAbama, Public Relations Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Abama, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Drdavidwr,

I am so much delighted to hear that you've enjoyed our exclusive Tagor' Villas, without a doubt, the best option to relax, with the best views of the Atlantic Ocean and La Gomera Island.

Our wide range of restaurants can turn any holiday into a memorable culinary journey. Which restaurant is your favorite? Mine is El Mirador... but don´t let the other restaurants know ;)

We do hope to host you again in the near future and keep adding Ritz-Carlton Memories to every stay.

Sincerely,
Arianna Calcaterra
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews