We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING, superb food, simply cooked and served - verbal menu only!”

RISTORANTE BAR CAPETTA DI LUCIANI FRANCESCA
Ranked #3 of 12 Restaurants in Mulazzo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 17 July 2018 via mobile

Set high in the hills this Italian wonder is incredible. Italian only is spoken, there are no menus and no tourists eating (while we were there).

Simple, authentic Italian food accompanied by very good Frizz-ante and table wine. We enjoyed the best pasta we have ever eaten with delicious meats to follow (Veal and chicken).

Delightful atmosphere (al fresco) and very helpful owner (who was very open to signaling in the absence of a common language!).

Highly recommended and embarrassingly cheap.

Please note: No cards, cash only

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank LondonAdamF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

We consulted trip advisor and the many reviews in Italian raving about this place led us by sat nav up into the hills. My husband was the lead scout and met with a most charming lady, who spoke no English managed to communicate that although there wasn't a table for the 5 of us that evening but to return the following evening at 7pm.
So we did. We were a family of 5. My husband and I, our 7 year old son and 2 grandparents. That same lady greeted us with a wonderfully warm reception, relieved that at least one of us at the table could speak some Italian.
The location offered a simple dining table overlooking some amazing views. It was our last night in Lunigiana, and based on the reviews, we decided to experience all the Chef had to offer.
There was no written menu so that wonderfully warm waitress gently led me through the choices in Italian, explaining fully when I didn't understand the terminology.
We started with antipasti. The dishes were elegantly yet simply served each as delicious as the next and they kept on coming. Fried bread balls, Tuscan meats, a cold wrap of melanzane like ingredients but cold, my official favourite, onion tart, melon and cheese, and a kind of mashed potato pie. All bite sized portions.
The primo course followed, we each chose a different pasta or risotto. Again each dish was explained fully so we could understand. Once again the quality was exceptional and the tastes to die for. All the produce is locally sourced and the dishes are made to request.
The meat course we served, again we all chose different dishes to taste all that was on offer.
Dessert finished the meal and this was no let down.
We drank a lovely house red with umpteen bottles of mineral water and soft drinks for the little man. The bill came and this is when we had a shock. It was only about 25 euros per head. We couldn't believe that we had dined like kings for over 3 hours and for such little money.
I cannot emphasize enough how utterly amazing the whole night was. The food, the location and most of all the true Italian hospitality. If you are ever within a driving distance of Villafranca, in Lunigiana, take the trip up into Canossa in the hills and visit this wonderful place. I know for sure we will return.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Glitterchick1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Most people never find this place. There are no signs, even on the restaurant itself. You have to go and knock on the door. But once you are there, you are in for a meal of the freshest and tastiest locally sourced food in Lunigiana. As a primo I love the porre and sausage on a thin thin pasta called "paglia e fieno" (straw and hay) Super delicious. Or the tiny ravioli with butter and sage. All freshly made, and just too good. If they have wild boar on the menu for the secondo, don't miss out, they know how to make it right, succulent and never tough! Maria Paola and Francesca serve with grace and delicacy, with their father the king in the kitchen. It is a place to take your friends when you want to show them why Italian cooking is the best in the world!

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ge0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Many people imagine Italy as the perfect, tidy and green country full of colours that TV documentaries show us. Unfortunately it is a little bit different, but if you will be patient and willing you will feel the DISCOVERY CHANNEL emotion you are looking for, reaching this restaurant in the middle of Lunigiana. Here you will see green hills, vineyards and blue sky. Obviously you will do it enjoying the delicious homemade food of this little restaurant, that despite of the difficulty in reaching, it is literally a corner of paradise for the palate! You will make a jump in the Italian 70’s and you will appreciate the amazing quality of the food. Here you will find the classical Italian courses, but please go further and discover the home specialties with a good glass of wine: sgabei with cuts, wild boar with olives overall and the homemade desserts! All dishes are well served and pretty plentiful. Kindness and smiles nowadays look to be something forgotten: on a contrary here you will be welcomed as a member of the family. The whole staff is really helpful and nice, prices are more than fair. Though the distance from main towns this restaurant is always quite crowded, we saw many people even from Milan that is two hours by car, so we always suggest booking.

Date of visit: November 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 June 2016

It is not a chic restaurant, but the quality of the dishes is excellent. The personell (la capetta :) )is very friendly and put a lot of effort to make you feeling at home.
Call before coming, as it is not regularly open

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eveight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RISTORANTE BAR CAPETTA DI LUCIANI FRANCESCA also viewed

Tresana, Province of Massa Carrara
Mulazzo, Province of Massa Carrara
 
Villafranca in Lunigiana, Province of Massa Carrara
Villafranca in Lunigiana, Province of Massa Carrara
 
Mulazzo, Province of Massa Carrara
Mulazzo, Province of Massa Carrara
 

Been to RISTORANTE BAR CAPETTA DI LUCIANI FRANCESCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing