We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Hotel”

Hunter's Country House
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 8 February 2018 via mobile

This is the most beautiful hotel, stunning grounds and rooms, also have a fabulous restaurant attached to hotel
Wound highly recommend this beautiful place, staff were amazing

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank shelleyshopalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterDaleHCH, General Manager at Hunter's Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Dear shellyshopalot
Thank you for your very kind recommendation. We are very proud of our grounds, our fabulous staff and the very high standard of both our accommodation and restaurants on site.
kind regards
Peter Dale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2018

We stayed in the hotel for four nights and ate the dinner two times in the restaurant. The food was excellent cooked and well served.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank svetlanae91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterDaleHCH, General Manager at Hunter's Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Dear svetlana e
It is so good to hear that you enjoyed your 4 night stay with us as well as the meals that you experienced in the Sage restaurant at Hunters.
kind regards
Peter Dale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 January 2018

After a month in Plettenberg Bay and eating at most of the restaurants, we were pleasantly surprised at the 5* meal we enjoyed on the 1st of January, when most other restaurants were closed. The food was absolutely fantastic, not cheap, but we got what we paid for, thank you !

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FamilyRossouw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterDaleHCH, General Manager at Hunter's Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Dear FamilyRoussouw
I am so happy that we exceeded your expectations of the meal that you had at Hunters over New Year. Even through the busiest of times, we strive to keep our very high standards of cuisine and service consistent.
We wish you all the best for the new year and hope that you will visit us again soon.
kind regards
Peter Dale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 November 2017

An absolutely gorgeous place, huge gardens, lovely pool. Each cottage equipped with every possible luxury. It was cold and wet when we stayed but a log fire in our room and underfloor heating was a joy. I found the delightful chapel in the grounds. Food was magnificently served in three amazing areas. Everything was fabulous except for a rather poor packed breakfast when we had to leave early to walk with cheetahs!!

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mfeakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 October 2017

5 Stars all the way! This is a wonderful lodge with great accommodations, great restaurant and breakfast service. Individual chalets with superior amenities. Highly recommend staying at this facility.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Denis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunter's Country House also viewed

Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Hunter's Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing