We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Great experience with my son as he transitions from child to teen

My son and I did the 9 day trek, and he thought it was one of the best experiences of his life. He... read more

Reviewed yesterday
soafey7
,
Adelaide, Australia
Camel trek and Outback Experience not to be missed.

A well organized 9 day trip through the outback to Lake Torrens. Karen and Paul are so hospitable... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Curious15686285735
,
Bendigo, Australia
via mobile
Read all 105 reviews
  
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveler rating
103
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
103
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews an unforgettable experience an adventure wonderful trip beautiful animals alice springs beltana station karen campfire shags australia crew landscape outback sa knowledge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 105 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2015

I did a 3-day camel trek in April 2014 with friends and was blown away by the experience. The Flinders Ranges are simply stunning and a must-see. The camel trek itself was a wonderful experience. You could walk or ride, however the gentle pace atop the camels was perfect to truly enjoy the views, it was very peaceful. Karen & Paul made sure you felt safe and secure on the camels at all times, and I never worried for a moment. Susan was our camp chef and created the most delicious meals over the campfire. We enjoyed great hospitality from all our hosts! On top of all that, I really loved the opportunity to experience life in the outback, sleeping in a swag under the stars. It was fantastic!

Date of experience: April 2014
3  Thank rjt33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen E, Owner at Camel Treks Australia, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2015

Hello Rachael, We loved your trek group, please give big hello's to Lucy, Lisa and Stella. I'm so pleased you guys swagged under the stars and had a great experience. We still hear from Liz who came on your trek, she ended up coming back and helping out on a large school group trek! Thank you so very much for taking the time out to review us. Wishing you continued happy travels. Warmest regards Paul and Karen xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 January 2015

I was fortunate enough to do 2 Camel Treks in 2014, one with a friend on the photographic trek with Pete Dobre' & the other with my son on a family trek. Both were awesome experiences. My son & i can't wait to go again. Karen & Paul are beautiful people, the camels really are gentle giants, the Flinders Ranges are so peaceful & majestic & the food was first class. Would recommend Camel Treks Australia to everyone without hesitation. Don't think about it, just do it!

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank Lisa07003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen E, Owner at Camel Treks Australia, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2015

Thanks So much for your review Lisa, we loved having you on both Treks and where really pleased both treks offered different scenery and theme. We hope to see you both again in 2015. Warmest regards, Paul, Karen, Sara and Luke x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 January 2015

Great hospitality from Karen, Paul, Susan - stunning and beautiful landscapes, and the camels !!! - What an experience to get to meet and learn a bit about, and ride these magnificent beasts. Totally trusted myself to dear Trev, the mature, knowing matriarch of the camels. Can still see her beautiful fluffy head and ears ahead of me as she took me leisurely, surely along. Camping in the tent we got to see some magnificent morning sunrises, hear the night sounds, then the deep quiet except maybe for the occasional soft munching of the camels a way off with their hay. Took a million pics. Susan's an absolute wizz with the meals, abundant, wholesome, delicious!! Excellent few days, and many thanks crew.

Date of experience: June 2014
1  Thank Shanks949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen E, Owner at Camel Treks Australia, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2015

Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate your feedback. Trevor is a fabulous camel and as you commented there is such a sense of safety and trust felt when riding her. We plan to keep churning out those tasty camp oven meals in 2015! Warmest regards Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.