We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gone downhill”

Herbs and Spice Restaurant & Take-Away
Ranked #8 of 42 Restaurants in Atherstone
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Herbs & Spices Takeaway and Restaurant Here at Herbs & Spices it is our philosophy to make your visit an enjoyable experience. The Design and Décor have been put together by our concept creators to give a rich and welcoming feel. Our staff are friendly and attentive. It is their aim to ensure that your visit will make a lasting impression. With this menu, we have modernised Indian Cuisine taking it to its next level – yet still keeping its authentic flavours – but approached in a contemporary manner, with different accents from around the world added to dishes, making this visit a unique & enjoyable experience.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Ordered from here previously and the meals were really tasty. Unfortunately the last few times during this lockdown have been terrible. Not sure if there’s been a new chef or something but the lamb was tough and chewy, the dishes just tasted of curry paste and it was all very disappointing.
Reluctant to order from here again until things change. Shame because it used to be lovely!

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank Porchy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalaliah10, Owner at Herbs and Spice Restaurant & Take-Away, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Porchy,
We are extremely sorry for your negative experience and we will do everything we can to resolve this issue.
Sorry to hear that you have been disappointed twice with us but unfortunately, we can't find any orders name with *Porchy* in to our ordering databased. The same chef working since day one when we open 10 years ago her in atherston and it's been over 10 years now, Basically we use fresh Lamb keep marinated for few hours and all of them dishes get cooked in a fresh spiceses, so there is no chance to fill a authentic curry taste like curry paste. Curry paste and fres spices is complitly diffrent. Also Chef shah testing most of them dishes before packing out from the kitchen.

Please contact us at the restaurant and speak with us directly so we can come to an amicable solution.
We take every complaint seriously and we value your opinion whether it is positive or negative.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2021 via mobile

Pre ordered 2 dinners for collection on Christmas day.
Special 5 course menu had so many awesome choices and price was more than fair.
Order was handed over in a box wrapped in Christmas paper and had 2 crackers inside for a festive touch.
Every single item was out of this world. Layers of flavours, fresh tasty ingredients and very generous portions.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED as they always deliver a great meal.
Also only Indian in town with 5 hygiene rating. Bonus!

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank travelcrazy727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 December 2020

We order often from here, and the food is always perfect. They serve excellent portions, often with some left for a second meal, and it's always so fresh, with pure ingredients. There's nothing processed or preserved, but just good and fresh food.

The prices are fair, too, with an wonderful selection (even including some English dishes and milder dishes). They're also very allergy aware, with clear labelling of items and care taken to avoid cross contamination. It can sometimes be a bit of a wait from ordering, but it's always worth the wait for a perfect meal.

Kudos to the chef, and also to the general staff (they're always friendly and professional, always polite and helpful).

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank RoNic69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 November 2020

Quite simply, amazing Indian food. I live locally and I have been coming here for years. The current menu is as extensive as ever. H&S must have changed their chef at some point, because when we dined here at the end of October, we all agreed that our evening meal was the best Indian food we have ever tasted. It really is that good. When we visited, we called in on spec and were lucky to have the restaurant to ourselves. The food was super quick, steaming hot and the staff are so attentive and polite, this is always our first choice in Atherstone for either eating in, or taking away/home delivery. Even my teenage daughters love the food here, so it must be good! Highly recommended.

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank RogRed72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 August 2020

Lovely Service and food was excellent. Food came out quickly and piping hot. Definitely a place to go for either takeout or eat in. 10/10

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank IngridT406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Herbs and Spice Restaurant & Take-Away also viewed

Atherstone, Warwickshire
Atherstone, Warwickshire
 

Been to Herbs and Spice Restaurant & Take-Away? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
Philippines
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.