We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
₱8,608
Breakfast included
Expedia.com
₱8,064
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
₱6,972
Breakfast included
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Veronica

As close to perfect and quiet getaway

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Mar 5, 2024
I didn't know what to expect from this boutique hotel. I didn't realize that there was no pool as I was booking, but oh what a great surprise to be 10 steps from the beach. I didn't even miss a pool.

First, the communication with the front desk was the best I've had even before arriving. They arranged for pickup from the airport so we didn't have to figure it out on our own. Our flight was 2.5 hours late leaving Manila, but I made sure to text the staff about the delay. When we arrived, the driver was waiting with a sign with my name on it. He took our bags and loaded them in the vehicle. He said it was a 10-minute ride and this was so true.

Next, I didn't realize that we would have to walk to the hotel. But as the driver dropped us off at the public beach location, 2 staff members from the hotel met us and carried our bags 5 minutes down the beach. We were so impressed with this touch of service.

As we checked into the hotel, Kim was there to meet us with a smile and the bartender met us with welcome drinks. Check-in was so easy. They walked me and my travel partner to our separate rooms which were clean, spacious, and beautiful. My room was 10 steps from the white, sandy beach. I couldn't believe it!

I am already planning my trip back and have told my friends.

PROS: Beautiful beach, small and intimate, great customer service, clean and spacious rooms, amazing sunrises at your doorstep, very attentive staff.

CONS: While the food was great, I spoke to the staff about having all the ingredients listed on the menu. One morning I ordered French toast. When it arrived, it had chocolate sauce. I'm not a chocolate lover and didn't expect it on my French toast. So I kindly asked for it to be redone without the chocolate. The 2nd time it came back, it had peanut butter in between the slices. Again, these 2 items were not listed on the menu. I expressed my concern that if someone had a nut allergy and took a bit of the food, it may have caused a severe allergic reaction.
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: Make sure you ask what ingredients are in the food.
Trip type: Traveled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
₱8,855
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    ₱8,164
  • Vio.com
0.4 km from Villa Umi Panglao Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
₱9,939
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    ₱8,742
  • Expedia.com
    ₱9,346
3.2 km from Villa Umi Panglao Resort
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
₱18,197
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    ₱11,076
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Villa Umi Panglao Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
₱8,707
  • Priceline
    ₱12,501
  • Agoda.com
    ₱7,520
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱10,657
4.4 km from Villa Umi Panglao Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
₱4,210
  • Priceline
    ₱3,816
  • Vio.com
    ₱3,600
  • Expedia.com
    ₱8,113
4.6 km from Villa Umi Panglao Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
₱7,660
  • Priceline
    ₱40,950
  • Agoda.com
    ₱6,224
  • Vio.com
    ₱6,512
7.8 km from Villa Umi Panglao Resort
Free parking
Pool
La piscine
Booking.com
₱1,860
  • Priceline
    ₱1,443
  • Agoda.com
    ₱1,362
  • Expedia.com
    ₱1,604
3.4 km from Villa Umi Panglao Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
₱6,865
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    ₱5,871
  • Vio.com
9.3 km from Villa Umi Panglao Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Vio.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    ₱16,747
  • ZenHotels.com
8.6 km from Villa Umi Panglao Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Panglao Island
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveler rating
32
12
0
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
32
12
0
3
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 47 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2023

Staff are very helpful and friendly, clean and spacious rooms, very good food in their restaurant. The hotel has only 9 rooms, very quiet so you can relax and be away from the crowds, and it's like having your own private beach with white sand. The only negative is they do not have an access road to the hotel so you walk by the beach sand but staff will help carry your luggage.

Room tip: If you do not mind walking on the beach sand then I would highly recommend this place.
Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank philline b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 14, 2020 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay of 5 nights, the staff were really friendly and really loved our daughter. We came from Siquijor, so the price hike on food was a bit of a surprise but it is a really lovely place to stay.

I'd you fancy going somewhere else for dinner or lunch one day, I recommended walking across the beach to the right, turn right again at the public section and walking up the hill to the Italian at the crossroads. It's a 15minute walk and It's clean and offers something different as you are a little stuck for choice at villa umi in terms of other options, unless you take a tricycle or hire a moped lnto town.

The service was great, they help you with your bags to your room and back again for nothing extra (thank god!) As it's about 1/4 mile from the van drop off!

I also recommend checking out the sunset there, the colours are amazing!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
3  Thank drummingboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 31, 2020 via mobile

Beach was beautiful, room was spacious, restaurant staffs were friendly, good food, transportation and breakfast are included in package. Room rate is pricey compare to the quality. They didn’t makeup the room so we asked just for new towers on the next day.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank swimfastG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 9, 2019

It’s a boutique hotel with only 5 rooms, one on the ground floor and the rest on the level one. We planned to have very passive and chilled holidays just to read our books and lay on the sun. Thanks to Villa Umi everything went according to the plan!

Being ‘high maintenance’ person as my friends always tease me, this place scored 10 out 10. As a vegan I was prepared to have some challenges with food in Philippines, however Villa Umi prepared delicious vegan meal for me every day. They only asked what ingredients I like the most (and what I don’t like) and then the chef did the magic.

Also I can’t sleep on the soft mattress and when I mentioned it, the management changed our room to another with two separate beds with harder mattresses. The room was much bigger than the previous one however they did’t ask for any payment for the upgrade.

There was a construction behind happening during our stay but it didn’t bother us too much. Only couple of things were loud in the area that disturbed our quite and peaceful holidays. There is a place next door where they held Christmas party until 11:30pm and Umba dancing at 5am. The music was so loud even my ear plugs didn’t help. Another place next door has very very loud karaoke that was screaming at us during the day. However the last day we had way too much of Long Island and decided to break our peaceful routine and went to sing (rather scream) karaoke too!!! The staff at Villa Umi were laughing at us after that :D

There is no pool at the hotel, but why do you need any if there is a beautiful turquoise water next to you. The only day when we needed a pool is only after the storm when the water at the beach wasn’t as clean.

Overall, Villa Umi took care of us at 100% and contributed to spend these 9 night in the most comfortable and enjoyable way.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank rossomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 8, 2019

Just wanna say thank you. Everything was perfect. If you want the most relaxing experience this place is for you. This year me and my friend visited Phillipines for the first time. We didnt this country at all we just decided to enjoy Bohol and Villa Uma was right place. Thwy picked up us from aiport (and bring us back later). Nice beach, most of time clean water( not deep for around 50 meters. Food and drinks are good. Quitest place. If you wanna go city take trycicle. Prices are not much differ from hotel if you ask driver directly.
If you wanna have night life you need to go other beaches. If you wanna experience local food next Villa uma is public beach where you can find place to eat.

Now they have some construction works but the sound didnt disturb us at all and everything is clean.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank zhansulub
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews