We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$228
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Hostal Silvestre(La Romana)
US$79
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$214
US$179
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$207/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Plaza Real Resort(Juan Dolio)
US$35
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel River View(La Romana)
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Emotions by Hodelpa(Juan Dolio)(Great Value!)
US$284
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$162
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,658)
Filter reviews
4,658 results
Traveler rating
1,672
1,563
808
334
281
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,672
1,563
808
334
281
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla romanapool barseafoodbad reviewsa la carte restaurantssanto domingoanimation teamgrand bahiabuffet restaurantcatalina islandan excursionrecommend this resortfamily vacationnight showsbeefmichael jackson showgreat resort
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 4,658 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Been travelling for a long time and been at many resorts, this one is the most amazing and beautiful resort I ever been at. The grounds are so green, clean, and beautiful flowers , trees...etc.. Beautiful beach, food is great, and amazing people. 1 hour and fifteen minutes from the Punta Cana Airport, and 55 minutes to Santo Domingo City. A must visit. Entertainment is great, Lots of shops for gifts, Will certainly return to this resort in near future,

Stayed: March 2018
4  Thank phyllisleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe La Romana, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Phylli,

Thank you for your generous review. It is wonderful to know that you have had a great time and you are considering coming back. We will be more than happy to host you again on your next trip to La Romana.

Do not hesitate to contact us at our email address info.romana@bahia-principe.com

Our best Regards

Santa Guzmán
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 March 2018

This was our 2nd trip to the resort. We loved our first trip but this one left us shocked and disappointed by the difference.
We were switched rooms several times at the main resort because of broken air conditioners. They finally just upgraded us to the adult resort , which we thought was great customer service. However the room we were given over there had many problems. Tv did not work, coffee maker didn't work, patio door didn't lock, curtains were hanging off the hook, the safe was ripped from the wall and screws hanging out of it, the lock itself on the safe was broken as well. It took them bringing in 3 tv's to get one to work and 3 coffee makers. I wondered if this was an extra room where all the broken appliances went.
The staff at front desk on the adult side were rude and just ignored you.
They switched us rooms again, we stayed place in this one and didn't even bother letting them know about the broken sink that leaked water all over the floor if you turned it on. There were 2 sinks so we just used the other.
Rolled my ankle one afternoon on a jagged piece of concrete at the edge of the drive. Had to stay in room and ice it so depended on room service, terrible, never brought what you ordered. Ended up having to go to hospital 2 hrs away for x rays. I was told by several staff that we would be compensated however the motel insisted they had upgraded us so that covered all incidents (even though 80% of issues occurred after upgrade).
Our first trip to this resort in 2015 was amazing, no issues at all. This trip in 2017 was so different, I am not sure what happened? We spoke to many other guests who had similar experiences during our 2 week stay.

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe La Romana, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Maria,

We truly appreciate your preference for our hotels’ chain, however, it is indeed with regret that we have learnt we were unable to meet your expectations in relation to the issues tha you mentioned in your review. We want assure you that we have taken very good note about your observations, which has been addressed directly to our heads department to take the correctives measures to improve our service, as well as to ensure we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from our hotel.

We do hope that we are afforded the opportunity to welcome you back to our beautiful resort so you may enjoy a more favorable experience.

Do not hesitate to contact us at our email address info.romana@bahia-principe.com

Kind Regards,

Santa Guzmán
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

This hotel is very nice, from the rooms to the service everything was top notch. I have travelled to Punta Cana in the past and found the staff at the resort very rude and lacking in hospitality. I have to say that the staff at this resort thrive on hospitality. From the from desk staff, maids, entertainment team and even the gardeners everyone was very friendly and hospitable. Rooms were kept clean and tidy. Beach and pool area always kept clean as well and staff out there all day maintaining the cleanliness. The beach is on a cove so the water is not crystal clear but it is still enjoyable. The grounds at this hotel are beautiful and very well kept. If you are travelling as a family this resort is the one to go to. Upgrade to royal golden I promise you won’t be disappointed. If you are travelling as a couple I would recommend the luxury side (Bougainville) as it is adults only. There were quite a few children on the resort but nothing that bothered us. Food was very good, buffet had a great selection and the a la Carter restaurants were top notch. Wifi is only available in the lobby and is mediocre but it does its job. Overall if you are looking to stay away from the hustle and bustle of punta Cana I would definitely choose this resort. Don’t listen to negative reviews this hotel is beautiful and worth it!

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
2  Thank Brittany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe La Romana, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Brittany,

We are grateful to learn through your review about the experiences you have had during your stay in our resort. It is thrilling to hear that we have played such an integral role to provide a memorable vacation for you. Thank you for your lovely words about the professionalism of our staff members; we are aware that it is only because of them we are able to achieve our goal- the continuous improvement of our services.

In the name of our General Manager and staff, we would like to thank you for vacationing with us, we hope to see you very soon in our property.

Do not hesitate to contact us at our email address info.romana@bahia-principe.com

Our Best Regards,


Santa Guzmán
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 March 2018

We stayed at this beautiful resort March 17-24, 2018. We flew into Punta Cana and shuttled to the resort. Total trip was about an hour from PC airport to resort. Just to be clear, my review is about The Grand Bahia Principe, not the sister resort The Grand Bahia “Luxury Bouganville” for adults only. A lot of the un favorable reviews seemingly for the Grand Bahia Principe actually pertain to the Luxury side -adults only which could be confusing.

The pool is very large, with same depth overall and the temp is very cool and refreshing. No problem getting chairs or towels here. Activities every day initiated by the staff if you like to participate… The beach area is gorgeous and the water was cool and great for swimming. I agree that it isn’t as clear as other beaches in the DR, but it was great and by no means lessened my vacation experience. The Soco river is adjacent to the resort and mixes with the sea water, and therefore the water is not ” Caribbean blue. Looked more like The Pacific or Atlantic Oceans --still beautiful, just not turquoise.. It was not dirty or awful as some have mentioned.

The lobby is beautiful and you can catch up on emails here if you need since wi- fi is free only in the lobby. In the evenings they have live music just off the lobby in the outdoor seating area with a nightly cocktail stand with the evening’s drink special.

We only saw one show and that was the Michael Jackson Tribute. See it. It was a lot of fun!

The rooms are very large and each has AC, a coffee maker, tv, fridge with soft drinks, water and beer…and a small patio/balcony sitting area with a table and 2 chairs. We had no issues with housekeeping. Plenty of water, coffee, towels and toiletries were delivered each day perfectly. Some of our friends asked for more beers or sodas each day and the request was pleasantly honored. One of the rooms our friends stayed in, had a loud AC unit but it wasn’t enough to make a fuss over and they had a great stay. Yes, TV channels are in Spanish.

We ate breakfast & dinner each day in the buffet restaurant off the lobby – food was good, and the choices were overwhelmingly many! Each evening is a different theme and there are special items offered for the theme. Mexican, Italian, etc etc. I cannot eat gluten or dairy and I never went hungry. Lots of fresh fruit and vegetables at every meal. Also eggs made to order each morning. Service was consistently friendly and good. We tried the ala carte seafood restaurant for dinner one night. Service was good and everyone enjoyed their meal. I recommend the Salmon entrée.

Just off the pool, by the beach, is an outdoor buffet restaurant which allows a very casual attire. Cover your swimsuit, and wear sandals. Guys, you need a shirt on too. We ate mid-day snacks and or lunches everyday here since it was close to the pool with a beautiful beach view and breeze.

While it is all inclusive and tipping is not required, we chose to tip the staff cash for drinks at the bars, table service in the restaurants, and daily housekeeping.

This hotel does a great job to accommodate a very nice vacation with its gorgeous lush landscaping, and staff that are excellent (I am very impressed -- the employees speak Spanish, English, French and German). Amazing!!

Room Tip: there is a safe is in the room -- no need to pay extra.
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank mrschris3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe La Romana, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Chris,

It was very pleasant to know that you enjoyed our services and facilities and that we were able to provide you a delightful stay. Furthermore we would like to express our gratitude for sharing your positive remarks for all our readers on Tripadvisor.

On behalf of our General Manager and all Team Members at or hotel, hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Do not hesitate to contact us at our email address info.romana@bahia-principe.com

Kindest Regards,

Santa Guzmán
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the adult side of the hotel and the room was beautiful maid service twice daily and a butler who would fill your bath and light oil burners for your return to the room all 1st class. The food let the hotel down badly although lots of people did seem to like it , raw undercooked meat which I just wasn't willing to take a chance on and nothing that really matched up , the waiters were amazing and couldn't do enough , As were the reception staff the young man who checked us in remembered our names the full 2 weeks we were there .
The beach wasn't quite what we were expecting lots of wasps that I have to say you got used to , but if you want clear blue Caribbean sea this isn't the hotel for you , the sea has a blue flag and the water is clean but we had to go on trips to use our snorkel , the trips we went on were all booked through the hotel and were amazing Saona island ,Catalina island and waterfalls and mangroves all just beautiful.
It's a very peaceful resort and entertainment is virtually none existent , the quiet pool was lovely , but the big pool which was quite fun until you worked out that the loud drunken Americans get in the pool at 10am drink masses of alcohol and never leave it until 6pm not even for the toilet , we went back to the quiet pool though the animation team really work hard .
We did have a wonderful time but think we will be going back to Jamaica on our next visit to the Caribbean it just edges this place on food entertainment and blue sea but all in all great value for money .

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Pennie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe La Romana, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Dear Pennie,

Our main goal strives in having a great ambience to satisfy our guest’s requirements, we are glad to learn that you enjoyed your vacations with us.

Thank you so much for taking your time to share your experience with us and we hope to have the opportunity to host you in the near future. Do not hesitate to contact us at our email address info.romana@bahia-principe.com

Warmest Regards,

Santa Guzmán
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews