We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic day at Diggerland”
Review of Diggerland

Diggerland
Ranked #2 of 15 things to do in Cullompton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Diggerland is The Ultimate Adventure Theme Park Experience where children and adults alike can ride, drive and operate REAL diggers, dumpers and other full- size construction machinery. Diggerland is the perfect destination for action, fun and thrill packed family days out. Fun for all ages (subject to height restrictions), Diggerland with its 20 different rides and drives and an array of additional activities is the ideal theme park for small to large groups looking for something exciting and truly unique. Get to grips with real JCBs and 180/360 excavators, take a head-reeling turn or two on the Spindizzy, rise to lofty heights and enjoy the views on the Skyshuttle, enjoy an off-road ride on the Groundshuttle, or have a go on the Dodgems and Go-Karts!
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I felt compelled to write my first Tripadvisor review after almost being put off my visit due to the the scathing report left by 'Robert B' dated 1/4/18. My wife, 6 year old son, 3 year old daughter plus grandparents all thoroughly enjoyed our visit to the Devon site on 3/4/18. The site may not be as expansive as some other theme parks however this is more than enough to keep a family occupied for a full day and to justify the entrance fees. A 10% discount is available on the entrance fees for advance bookings which makes the trip even better value. Whilst I appreciate the £18 (pp) is a significant cost for many families there are not many places you can visit for a full day for less than this. There are a couple of attractions that require a £1 per ride which I also find irritating however in my experience this is quite common these days. It was refreshing not to have to walk through the gift shop to exit the venue as at many other places. All of the JCBs/diggers etc seemed very new and the only thing that had a tired appearance was the kids wooden playground where the paint had been weathered by the sun however the playground itself was very good just in need of a re-paint. In summary please do not let the review by Robert B put you off a very enjoyable day at Diggerland...Kids and dads will have a great time.

1  Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiggerlandUK, Guest Relations Manager at Diggerland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Anthony,

Thank you for your fantastic review and 5* rating.

We are so delighted to hear that your whole family enjoyed their day out to Diggerland Devon and had lots of fun operating the different machines.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

All the best,
Diggerland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (496)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"digger land"
in 21 reviews
"tesco vouchers"
in 28 reviews
"great fun"
in 42 reviews
"dumper trucks"
in 16 reviews
"ball pit"
in 13 reviews
"bouncy castle"
in 17 reviews
"real diggers"
in 10 reviews
"all ages"
in 31 reviews
"height restrictions"
in 8 reviews
"staff were very friendly"
in 19 reviews
"plenty of picnic tables"
in 5 reviews
"spin dizzy"
in 9 reviews
"theme park"
in 18 reviews
"admission price"
in 9 reviews
"whole family"
in 16 reviews
"birthday treat"
in 12 reviews
"play area"
in 19 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The children (2 & 3 years), were really excited to be visiting Diggerland at Easter, that is until we got there. Unfortunately, the theme park is pitiful, offering very little by way of interest for any family.

Everything inside the park feels dilapidated, it’s all worn, shabby and at the end of its life span. There is also an absence of anything to actually do inside the park; sure there are some diggers (that our kids were too small to operate themselves), and a few other bits and pieces, but essentially we felt we’d paid the overblown admission fee to allow the kids to play in a second rate playground.

The pricing is simply the worst part of the park. It’s a flat £20 per ticket, and that’s not just for adults, but for anyone over 90cm - meaning both our children (2 and 3yrs) were charged full price. The price would be acceptable were Diggerland c. 3 times the size. I mean, the admission is comparable with, say, Paulton’s Park, but Diggerland has far less than a quarter of the activities.

Shockingly, given the obscene pricing and shoddy facilities, Diggerland had the cheek to charge extra for dodgems, and little car rides - two of only a handful of actual activities that were on offer. While we visited, we noticed that nobody actually used either of these rides.

The only positive was the lack of other visitors. Given this is Easter Bank Holiday weekend, the park was deserted. The car park had less than 30 cars in it including ours. A park such as this should be absolutely packed at Easter, but I guess the high prices, absence of activities and run down feel have contributed to a failing business model.

Anyone who despite this warning decides to carry on and part with your cash at Diggerland, bring boots - you will get muddy.

2  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiggerlandUK, Guest Relations Manager at Diggerland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello there,

Thank you for your comments.

Please be assured that we welcome all feedback in order to help us improve our overall service to customers.

It is disappointing to hear that you didn't enjoy your most recent visit to Diggerland Devon.

We have liaised with the General Manager to look into your comments further, to which we have been informed that all rides were open during the Easter Bank Holiday weekend.

Please also kindly note that our Ride Height Chart is available to see prior to visiting, which we recommend to all visitors so that they are aware of the height restrictions. Any child between the height of 90-100 cm are able to enjoy 15 of the 20 rides and drives, 5 of them needing to be accompanied by an adult. If your child measured between these heights, there would have been ample for them to do. The Ride Height Chart is displayed on our website and at admissions when you arrive at the park.

Similarly, regarding your comments about the dodgems and coin operated machines; information regarding this is also available on the website and at the park. Please kindly note that all of the 20 rides and drives are included within your entry price (height restrictions apply), however we also offer the dodgems and coin operated machines as an optional extra for smaller children that may not necessarily be able to enjoy the bigger rides.

Please note the machines we use are real JCB diggers and dumpers and the attachments have been especially adapted in accordance with the Health and Safety Executive (HSE), therefore costing hundreds of thousands of pounds.

Our entry prices are in-line with our competitors; please note various other attractions are priced extremely higher. We also have not increased our prices for four years running, unlike our competitors.

We do provide various special offers in local and national newspapers/magazines and other publications as well as online. In accordance we provide offers to our mailing list subscribers.

Kind regards,
Diggerland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just spent a very nice day at Diggerland. Staff were very friendly and the place was very quiet as the children are not on holiday yet from school. That meant that we didn't have to queue which was wonderful! We all enjoyed going on the rides- especially driving the big JCB, and my son at 92cms was able to go on 3/4 of the rides which was great! He particularly liked going off road and in the police car which he was able to do alone. We had a little shop and thought that compared to some places the prices were pretty reasonable! It a little expensive to go in but we made a lot of use of the place so feel we got our money worth. Lots of fun for all of us!

Thank sawshark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiggerlandUK, Guest Relations Manager at Diggerland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello there,

Thank you for your fabulous 4* review.

We are so pleased to hear that all of the family, especially your son enjoyed riding and operating the various rides and drives.

We hope to see you again soon!

All the best,
Diggerland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2018

We visited Diggerland yesterday during the weekend at the end of half term. We have a 2 year old daughter and had travelled 3 hours to meet friends, who had spoken very highly about this attraction. This wouldn't have been my first choice but I was pleasantly surprised. There were lots of things that an 87cm 2 year old little girl could do, from catching ducks with a parent on a digger to taking a ride around on the "train" as well as heading up in the skyshuttle. There is also a fantastic little ball pool for 1-4s and a separate one for the older kids as well as an indoor bouncy castle. If as during our visit its a nice day there are also little tikes cars and play bits for outdoor play. For the bigger kids, and dads there are larger diggers and a proper JCB where you can live out the childhood dream and actually drive one. All of this is included in your admission price but there are also little ride on ride, digger themed as well as little quad bikes which your little one can ride on with a parent if they need support. My 2 year old loved this and for your £1 you get a decent time as well.
If I were to offer advice to others visiting in the future it'd be plan ahead. If your arriving in the winter or on a wet day Wellington boots are a must, as to get to some of the attractions can be a bit muddy. In the summer I would imagine you will need to be prepared to queue as for some of the rides, like the drive a JCB there is only one vehicle, but even then this can carry a family of 4 with a member of staff so will probably move through quite quickly. We were able to spend 3 hours easily at Diggerland and had it not been for the fact my daughter needed to sleep we could have spent longer easily. whilst we didn't purchase any directly the prices in the café looked comparable to other similar attractions.

Thank dazler85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiggerlandUK, Guest Relations Manager at Diggerland, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2018

Hello there,

Thank you for your lovely comments and 5* rating.

We are delighted to hear that all of you had a fantastic time operating the various rides and drives and that your 2 year old daughter had lots of fun too.

We sincerely hope to see you again soon!

With warm regards,
Diggerland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2018

We decided to visit Diggerland in this half term as a fun day trip. Our son absolutely loved it.

There are loads of real diggers that you can try. Basically, they're used as rides. For children, this for sure is an amazing place to have fun. It also has a nice indoor area for food and to play.

I would recommend this for young ones to have fun with "Big" powerful toys.

Thank mgiordani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiggerlandUK, Guest Relations Manager at Diggerland, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2018

Hello there,

Thank you for your fantastic 5* review.

We are thrilled to hear that you all enjoyed your visit during half term, especially your son!

We hope to see you again soon for much more fun.

Best wishes,
The Diggerland Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diggerland also viewed

 

Been to Diggerland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing