We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Padbrook Park Hotel(Cullompton)(Great Value!)
US$56
US$44
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bowhayes Farm(Culmstock)
US$153
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waterloo Cross(Uffculme)
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newcourt Barton(Langford)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pitchup.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Pitchup.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Upton Lakes Lodges(Cullompton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveler rating
2
1
3
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
1
3
6
4
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 16 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed at this Hotel on the 5th April 2014. It needs a lot of TLC , bed room was clean , but plumbing was dreadful ! We paid £70 for the night which included breakfast ! But alas when we woke in morning no one was around !! We later found out we were the only people there . no staff , we had been on our own in this "Hotel" all night with no other person there!! and of course no breakfast I feel I must comment on this as there was no phone in room ,and we had no service on our mobiles . After a phone call when we got home , a letter of complaint was sent to the manager, and he has not made any effort to contact us ... So Please anyone thinking of going there ". DONT "

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KayBall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

This stay goes down as the worst one in my life. Arrived to what I can only call a scary 'Hells angels' crowd at the bar who just stated as if we were from out of space whilst we 'checked in' at the 'bar'. The creaky uneven stairs which eventually led us to our room which looked and smelled as tho no one had entered in 50 years! A lovely broken window in the bathroom a huge moth on curtains and when bed covers pulled back another 2 huge moths found.it was an awful experience and never ever will be back

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Loui3eh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I arrived late at around 8.30pm in the dark and struggled to find the entrance from the car park which was very poorly lit. The reception was friendly enough but the room was disappointing tatty and worn. They did not serve food and the bar was deserted. I ended up getting a sandwich from the co-op across the street which was a big disappointment after a full days work and a lot of driving.The bed felt damp and I had a bad night sleep despite arriving exhausted. I woke up scratching my wrist from what felt and looked like a bug bite. I had to clamber over an old obsolete brass plumbing fitting to get into the shower which was OK for me but a definite hazard for older or infirm people. The breakfast was very plain and basic. I will not be going back.

Room Tip: Try a different Hotel
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 August 2013

If you are after accommodation in the Cullompton area, it has to be said that there isn't really much choice. Passing through and wanting somewhere near Diggerland on the Exeter side, we ended up here, booking the room over the phone that morning. Having seen it on laterooms.com at £75 for 2 adults and 2 children, including breakfast, we phoned up and were quoted £85 - however mention of the online deal saw it reduced to £75.

We arrived about 4pm and looked to check in. There is a large car park at the rear of the pub, and several doors to the rear. The one marked reception has a buzzer, but you end of having to go through what seem like several deserted rooms (the pub looks half abandoned from the front anyway) to get to the bar at the rear. This is obviously an old building and therefore has a number of characterful features, including the many characters in the bar who seem to spend all day there. It wasn't quite a meeting of the Hells Angels but lets just say I wasn't inclined to go to the bar for a drink later on.

We were shown to our room, ascending a lovely old grand staircase and then along a musty corridor to the door to room 5. Here, we descended a few stairs to our slightly odd family room, 'T' shaped with large double bunk beds on one side of the stepped corridor and a double bed on the other. Decorated in toile wallpaper, there were some nice touches, such as the rope handrail and the reproduction furniture, however the busy floral curtains clashed with the wallpaper, and the Chinese lettered duvet cover was a total mismatch. The view from the windows onto the car park and yard area (couldn't with the best will in the world describe the concrete floors and walls and scattered benches as a beer garden) reminded me of a thriller where the heroine is stuck in the spooky hotel...

Having been tired, we had initially stayed in our room for a few hours, watching TV, but decided to venture out about 7 for something to eat. Having asked earlier what there was to do locally, and been told, "nothing" - and then asking if the pub got noisy and told that it closed at 7 anyway, we felt going out might take our minds off the seemingly deserted hotel... Returning at 9 to an almost completely dark hotel, we decided to pull the hotel access door shut behind us and ensure we locked our door as we settled in for the night. Unlike most hotels, the doors needed to be physically locked...

Next morning, we gave the bathroom a wide berth (clean, but with an overwhelming chemical smell) and headed down to breakfast. The 'restaurant', one of the deserted rooms we had walked through on arrival, was now a breakfast room! Even more surprising was the appearance of at least two other groups of people who had had the misfortune to stay here too the previous night. Breakfast was the best part of the stay, hot and tasty. Husband reports that check out was difficult as the rest of the hotel, ie the bar, which had been a misfits hang out the afternoon before, was totally deserted at 10am.

The hotel looks like a serious injection of TLC would do it the world of good. It has some lovely features and the basics of a good B&B however is lacking that guiding hand. A pity.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank ADsMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed 9-11th August 2013. Cullompton is looking sad compared to the 1970's.....many shops closed and the inevitable charities growing.. However, the locals still say "good morning" and the church is lively and impressive. The Manor House is tatty, lacking investment and really sub-standard in most areas. The staff were friendly and helpful, and I guess embarrassed by the quality standards imposed by the structure. Breakfast OK, good shower and comfortable bed (this was in Room 5, which has a double and 2 bunk beds.) Only 1 window could be moved a little and we had to find something to wedge it open. We changed from our original offering (Room 7) when we saw pigeon poo on the inside of the window, and could not open this to get any fresh air...that room was dank and musty, and also very dirty with shabby twin beds . VER Y lively after about 2200 on Friday/Saturday evenings which would affect some rooms. We were offered one unwashed glass in the bar, and the tonic and coke were flat and tasteless. THIS HOTEL NEEDS SOME TLC and LOTS of investment. Before that happens, check your room before residing.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the high street will have traffic noise and little fresh air.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 857paula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews