We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved it, been there, have to get rolled out every time i eat there.”
Review of Bollywood Jewel

Bollywood Jewel
Ranked #19 of 468 Restaurants in Chatan-cho
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$14
Description: Bollywood Jewel is an award-winning restaurant of the famous yearly C-1 Chatan Gourmet Battle. It is where the flavors and spices of India come to life. Bollywood Jewel opened its doors on January 21st, 2017 with the intention of providing the best of service along with the best of quality and great taste using only the finest, most fresh, and best ingredients. The goal of Bollywood Jewel was to create a new feel of Bollywood for our diners. The entire atmosphere, ambiance, size, and menu is a complete change and brand new. The menu has a more modern Indian food focus, with a few fusion dishes. The theme of the restaurant is based on the Indian movie industry and showcases the latest music videos and movie stars. The atmosphere gives off a sleek, modern, dark, and calm feeling with the intent of creating more of an adult atmosphere. The restaurant can serve up to 75 people. We welcome you to Bollywood Jewel to enjoy and experience the spices and flavors of India.
Restaurant details
Description: Bollywood Jewel is an award-winning restaurant of the famous yearly C-1 Chatan Gourmet Battle. It is where the flavors and spices of India come to life. Bollywood Jewel opened its doors on January 21st, 2017 with the intention of providing the best of service along with the best of quality and great taste using only the finest, most fresh, and best ingredients. The goal of Bollywood Jewel was to create a new feel of Bollywood for our diners. The entire atmosphere, ambiance, size, and menu is a complete change and brand new. The menu has a more modern Indian food focus, with a few fusion dishes. The theme of the restaurant is based on the Indian movie industry and showcases the latest music videos and movie stars. The atmosphere gives off a sleek, modern, dark, and calm feeling with the intent of creating more of an adult atmosphere. The restaurant can serve up to 75 people. We welcome you to Bollywood Jewel to enjoy and experience the spices and flavors of India.
Reviewed 4 April 2018

I loved the Food, Raul is a good young manger. We are all aware that opinions vary however, every time I have eaten here, I always leave with a full stomach and a smile on my face. Try it for yourself, its good for meetings, or just something different.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lawrence E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahul D, Owner at Bollywood Jewel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you very much for dining with us at Bollywood, and thank you very much for taking your valuable time to provide your feedback on TripAdvisor. We were so happy to read your wonderful comments, are also glad to see the portions are just right! We will continue to do our best to live up to yours and all of our other diners reviews and expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon, and will do our best to keep up the management.
Thank you so much Mr. Lawrence.

PS
---Please let us help roll you out next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

Bollywood Jewel and Dreams has never disappointed in terms of food and service. They’re food is jammed pack with flavor and you can’t beat the price. They are family friendly and my daughter loves their lassi!

The only disappointment for me ever, is the long wait times during their rushes (because it is that good).

Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahul D, Owner at Bollywood Jewel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you very much for dining with us at Bollywood, and thank you very much for taking your valuable time to provide your feedback on TripAdvisor. We were very glad to read your comments on both Dreams and Jewel. We do apologize for the long waits during our rushes, and we will do our best to see if this matter can be fixed. We understand a long wait time is not acceptable. We will continue to do our best to live up to yours and all of our other diners reviews and expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.
Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 March 2018

So the cheese nan is amazing there and the curry is pretty good to. I have been multiple times with friends and we all enjoy it every time. The inside is decorated amazingly as well.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank johnnytryhard3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahul D, Front Office Manager at Bollywood Jewel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you very much for dining with us at Bollywood, and thank you very much for taking your valuable time to provide your feedback on TripAdvisor. We were very glad to read your comments on the food and decor. We will continue to do our best to live up to yours and all of our other diners reviews and expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.
Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 February 2018

I do not recommend eating here unless you want to meet rude staff. The food was low-quality and the amount of rice they brought for $4-5 was ridiculous. ( Very small portion for that price range ) The owner was very rude. ( the waiter/waitress were nice ) Overall for the price of the food and the quality I do not recommend eating here at all. You can’t even call it Indian Food, it was not authentic at all. We recently traveled to New Delhi and Mumbai and the food there is what you call authentic. The Hyderabadi Biriyani was too salty, and oily. The curries were way too salty. We have Indian friends so we know what real Indian food tastes like. This is our second time here and we were extremely disappointed both times. The first time we went we waited approximately 1 hr 45 min for our food, and it never came. We left because the customer service was horrible. Overall this place deserves 0 stars out of 5. Will never come back to this place. We were never "treated like family", instead they treated us with their rudeness.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JeffWat9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahul D, Guest Relations Manager at Bollywood Jewel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Thank you very much for dining with us at Bollywood, and thank you very much for taking your valuable time to provide your feedback on TripAdvisor. First things first. We absolutely will not tolerate you writing up a false and twisted review of your experience with us. You ordered a regular sized Basmati rice which is 300¥. With the correct math and exchange rate, that is roughly 2.7$. You threatened and disrespected our staff and demanded more rice. "This rice is too less! You better put more rice now!"
We do not run a charity, and we definitely will not tolerate your threats. You claimed that "When i order rice in the states, I tell them put more rice."
You cannot come into a business with threats and demands.
You also need to keep in mind that we do not claim to be an authentic Indian restaurant. The wonderful thing about Indian cuisine is that there are no set recipes that must be followed. Each restaurant has the great chance of giving it their own twist.
Why lie about the food being too salty and oily? Why finish all of your food? Do you not recall telling our staff while paying that the food was fantastic? Our staff and we very clearly recall it. Why apologize for complaining about the rice, and thank us so much? There is one thing that is very clear here: you want attention. You did not get your way with the staff and owner, and now you are here and on our Google page with the same 3 reviews in different languages. You claim you waited 1hr on your Google review, but on this review 1hr45min on this review? Please go ahead and continue your social media crusade on Google and TripAdvisor. Check out our fb page while you're at it as well. You want to be treated like family? Do not make demands, threats, and lies. Respect is a two way street. Demanding and threating us rudely for more rice? That's not how it's done. We recommend you keep that in mind.
Have a wonderful February Mr. Jeffwat9!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 February 2018

The food was fantastic. The Biryani with a thin bread baked on top of the bowl was great. The appetizer and other dishes were great too.
It was clean, and the staff friendly. The owner was friendly and made us feel very welcome.
I have no complaints about this restaurant at all. You will like it too.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dantama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahul D, Owner at Bollywood Jewel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you very much for dining with us at Bollywood, and thank you very much for taking your valuable time to provide your feedback on TripAdvisor. Here at Bollywood, we strive to satisfy our customers in every way possible, and it is our greatest pleasure to hear that we were able to do that. It was our utmost pleasure having your group dine at our establishment. We will continue to do our best to live up to yours and all of our other diners reviews and expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon, family.
Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bollywood Jewel also viewed

Chatan-cho, Nakagami-gun
Chatan-cho, Nakagami-gun
 
Chatan-cho, Nakagami-gun
Okinawa City, Okinawa Prefecture
 
Okinawa City, Okinawa Prefecture
 

Been to Bollywood Jewel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing