We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Chikanka(Himeville)
US$86
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
US$81
US$64
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$72/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$121
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$49
US$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Albizia House(Himeville)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
KarMichael Farm Guesthouse(Himeville)(Great Value!)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Sani Gables(Himeville)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Arbuckle House(Himeville)(Great Value!)
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
61 on Sutton(Himeville)
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveler rating
159
38
15
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
38
15
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslakeside lodgefly fishingself cateringoverlooking the lakehorse ridinganimal farmtrout fishingprivate jacuzzithe kitchenbeautiful surroundingsmain bedroomsurrounded by mountainsyour doorstepmeals preparedeveryday lifefamily holidayour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 213 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2018

Oh how I wished we could have stayed longer. This was one of the most memorable places we stayed on our month in South Africa and we only had two nights. The lodge was beautiful with stunning views - waking up to see Zebras almost at the bottom of the bed. Everyone from Gareth the owner, to all the staff we met were helpful and friendly. A delicious supper was served in our room and breakfasts taken overlooking the lake. The only thing I would ask is for the very bumpy road in to be made a little more small car friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pattibeasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gareth M, General Manager at Sani Valley Nature Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Dear Patti

Wow what a compliment thank you so much. We have had a huge amount of rain in the past month so our road has been difficult to maintain but we are working on it constantly as you may have noticed:), on your next trip you will have to stay longer. Hope you had a safe trip home.

Regards
Gareth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 March 2018

This was our second visit (from Australia) and we still can't get over the thrill of going for an afternoon walk through this vast grazing area and seeing antelopes and zebras. The dramatic mountain backdrop and elegant lake complete the scene. Our ‘Lakeside’ lodge, the one closest to the clubhouse, is worth requesting as the wifi is quite strong, and it’s just a short walk across the grass to breakfast. It is thoughtfully designed for privacy and comfort, and takes full advantage of the view, which literally took our breath away when we woke on the first morning. When we saw the lake, framed in our huge bedroom window, it was as if a beautiful painting had been placed at the foot of the bed for our personal enjoyment. Our dinners were provided by Maria and we thoroughly enjoyed the food both nights. Portions are over-generous, which is nice. This is a beautiful place to chill out and just relax.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank byf357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gareth M, General Manager at Sani Valley Nature Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Dear "byf357" :)

Thank you for the wonderful review, I love your heading, can I use it please....hopefully we can have you here for a 3rd visit. I hope your drive to Lesotho the next day was worth it....and you managed to negotiate the road there.

Regards
Gareth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

We occupied one of the larger self catering lodges (Rainbow) which slept 3 couples in separate rooms with comfortable beds and quality en suite or adjacent bathrooms. It was ideal for a major birthday celebration with friends. The fittings were of high quality and the beautiful lounge and wrap round verandah were ideal for passing hours enjoying the surrounding lake and birdlife. A fairly lengthy drive in from the main Sani Pass road but the surface was in good condition and easily passable by a sedan car. We did not use the resort catering or the Boathouse restaurant and found the self catering equipment comprehensive and in good condition. Staff were welcoming and helpful even supplying an undercover braai when the weather seemed uncertain. A superb spot for a quiet comfortable break in magnificent surroundings.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
Thank bergview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gareth M, General Manager at Sani Valley Nature Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Dear Robin

Thank you for reviewing Sani Valley Lodge, so glad you mentioned the easy drive in from our gate as we have had a huge amount of rain.....our roads have held up well:)

Quiet break is what we definitely offer and I hope you manage to visit us again

regards
Gareth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 March 2018

Sani Valley Lodge is situated at the foot of the Drakensberg on the Sani Pass road. 360 degree views of the stunning landscape dotted with dams & lakes places you away from the hustle & bustle of everyday life. the boathouse.bar is undergoing a much needed upgrade & will be so much better with larger patio & large viewing windows. Accommodation is comfortable . this is a stunning getaway

Room Tip: Lake View chalets are the ones to book
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gareth M, General Manager at Sani Valley Nature Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Dear Andre

Thank you for your review, yes I cant wait till it is done, should be in the next 2 weeks.

Regards
Gareth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 February 2018

You will need to navigate a 4k gravel road first. We did it with a 2WD so there is no real issue. The chalets are fantastic with magnificent views. There are plenty of walks within the property, but this place is all about relaxing. The animals add a special touch to the experience.

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gareth M, General Manager at Sani Valley Nature Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Dear David

Thank you for the review, when you next need to relax please give us a shout.
Regards
Gareth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews