We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveler rating
68
88
11
8
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
68
88
11
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shuttle bus culinary experience ski resort outdoor onsen nice room massage chair nice hotel snow monsters relaxation development skin etiquette changing kaiseki spring january fitting
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 180 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2018

Zao Kokusai ski in ski out resort /hotel ZAO ONSEN
Second Stay at Zao Kokusai with a friend 6 nights + 2 days completely wiped out by severe snow storm w/ high winds which shut almost the entire Zao Onsen ski resort facilities & confined us inside – This hotel fulfils all conditions it was warm & tranquil inside whist roaring blizzard outside. A comprehensive suite of facilities & ski in ski out to the Gondola to Jizo Sancho station up to one of the most ski mountain views in Japan & the famous snow monsters.
It was not dissimilar to my previous stay. An inclusive and exceptional Japanese style dinner which consistently delivered interesting & delicious sometimes unusual culinary experience.
Exquisite Onsen facilities custom designed for relaxation and grooming - sublime and quiet with simple beautiful fittings. Its tranquillity plus….
There was a fare dose of adventure and challenge from getting outside in sub zero temperatures to use the very gorgeous outdoor Onsen. Time spent there in that incredible ambience reinvigorates & restores relaxes, truly amazing.
Zao gets heaps of Snow its heavy and deep and requires a certain level of overall mental and physical fitness. A custom designed ski in ski out destination for all levels of skiers. Ski equipment rental on site is excellent.
Would be great to have a western hotel consultant help with development of etiquette guide and translated menus. Mostly we got by I had been here in January 2017 with a friend. We often had no idea what the food composure was – though enjoyed mostly! Just disappointing that we could not know a lot of the amazing and perhaps traditional Japanese foods & delicacies. Great views from the restaurant too. It’s Blissful. I felt that the breakfast requires a refresh and perhaps some investment. Various foods were not kept sufficiently hot and fresh as you might expect. It was good not great!
Restaurant staff were exceptional faultless patient and kind. Thank you
this hotel may not be ideal for English only speaking “families” unless you are all adventurous foodies & experienced. The 6 night package for 2 was 3500.00AUD which is surprisingly good value when you consider all the inclusions.
The only miniscule material complaint overall is the small green bath towel in rooms are insufficient!
Otherwise it’s still a Great Ski hotel to call home for a week and access my favourite ski fields in Japan.

Room tip: Think - Japanese Style living at floor level is physically challenging for over 3 night stay. They have western as well as Japanese style
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 March 2018

This hotel is just beside the Slope so you can access by any time. the Onsen was excellent. Dinner Kaiseki was delicious. I think it is such a perfect place to relax.
스키장 바로 옆에 있는 위치가 훌륭했습니다. 온천도 유황향이 짙고 수질도 좋았으며 나무로 만든 하치에몬의 높은 천장의 실내가 주는 쾌적함이 좋았습니다. 식사도 훌륭하고 쉬어가기 좋은 곳이었습니다

Date of stay: March 2018
1  Thank bungga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Within Zao skiing place. The rope way ti gi up to sniw monster area ks departing.very close place. Super convenient..Room us big and giid equipment. Hit spring is really naturak like. outdoor bath is great..Dinner and breakfast is great too. You can gi to.Yamagata by Shinkabsen then they have shuttle bus.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 21is
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 September 2017

I know Zao is a ski resort, but this hotel was nice for summer stay as well. We were upgraded to the really nice room with a massage chair. Thank you very much. Their onsen was very good, especially I loved a large outdoor bath with pretty Japanese garden.
We also loved the dinner as well. The name of this hotel is "kokusai" which means "international" in Japanese, but when we checked in, nobody spoke English there. My Australian husband had so many requests at the reception desk and I had to translate everything, which was very tiring especially after a long drive.
The surrounding area was full of nature and very beautiful. We saw wild monkey family on our way here!
I would love to come back here some day.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chiharu I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 1night because we want to see the snow monster (snow covered tree) on Zao mountain.

The staff can speak little english. The room was small for 4adults. We sleep side-by-side on the futon.

Our dinner was served in dining hall with Yonezawa beef (they said it was wagyu of the East).

To see the snow monster, you have to buy the ropeway (5mins walk from hotel) ticket to the top of the mountain. Unfortunately, it was very windy on the top of mountain. We barely stand on the ground.

The public bath was awesome. It was very humid in there, all you can see was steam (so don't be shy...try the public bath). There's also outdoor public bath, a very good star sighting spot.

The foot bath was not so hot & you don't have to take off your cloth.

To get here there's 2options:
-Bus from Yamagata train station (30mins: 1,000yen) and call the hotel free shuttle to pick up from bus terminal

-Taxi from Yamagata train station (15-20mins: 8000yen) we used Taxi on our way back to train station because the bus time did not match with Shinkansen schedule.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Hamu_ham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews