We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveler rating
31
30
5
6
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
30
5
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews western style zao onsen ryokan baths luggage meals facilities spring
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 72 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2018

The building is beautiful and the service is excellent as well as the meal. There are several onsens (hot spring) and you can try them all. Staff are very nice, friendly and helpful. The view from the room is really nice. It is recommended to spend at least 2 nights at Miyamaso Takamiya to enjoy and relax.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tinteentin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Parking is available at the bottom of the steps leading up to the ryokan. Someone came down to help us with luggage. Check in was efficient and we were shown around the facilities. We had a semi-western room which was in fact two adjoining Japanese style rooms with a connecting door, one of which had Western style twin beds. The other was left as a Japanese style sitting room. There are two gender separated onsen in the old part of the building, and another two in a newer extension. The newer onsen had both indoor and outdoor baths. Both sets of onsen swapped gender once every day so you could try all four.

The meals were a highlight, traditional kaiseki multi-course, beautifully presented. Breakfast was especially good. Meals were served in a dining room with Western style chairs with legs (I can't get comfortable eating on the floor).

Takamiya is a large hotel group with many ryokans and this showed a little in the rather impersonal service compared with a family run ryokan.

Overall a comfortable ryokan with great food.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank m21ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 June 2017

For the price charged, the place is quite considerably old and pretty run down but the scenic view from the hot spring (onsen in Japanese) and the delicately prepared meals offset some of the disappointment.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGYWQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 January 2017

The service at Miyamaso Takamiya is excellent, and the building itself is beautiful and sprawling. One of the best ryokan kaiseki meals I've ever had, outstanding natural onsen, and great location not far from the ski slopes. They'll also provide vouchers to visit the local public baths in town, one of which is right in front of the hotel. A bit pricy, but well worth it if you want to spoil yourself. English also spoken by much of the staff.

Date of stay: December 2016
Thank Davey Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

We spent a night here and it has ben a great exprience! Staff were very polite and could speak English well. I had a traditional Japanese room and we slept on the tatami which they laid out while we had dinner.

Dinner is great here..so do opt for the meal option if possible. Its hard to describe the entire meal as they kept bringing out the dishes...we had a 10-course meal of sadhimi, seafood, beef, chicken..( pls see the pictures for details).

One thing to note..especially if you are bringing a big lugguage..you have to carry the bag from the car park up a flight of steps to the reception and there are no lifts in the building as it is a very traditional Japanese place..so bring only what you need for the stay. Also, most of the directional signs are in Japanese and I couldn't find the English name of the place and had go rely on the Japanese writing of the name to find the right place.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sunset116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews