We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin Awaji Island Resort & Conference Center
Nearby Hotels
Ryokan 
Hamabeso(Awaji)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Awajishima(Awaji)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Ryokan 
Booking.com
View Deal
Ryokan 
Tankaiso(Awaji)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Agoda.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (545)
Filter reviews
545 results
Traveler rating
238
227
59
11
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
238
227
59
11
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe busbeefawaji islandtadao andopublic transportationconference centerpleasant stayfamous architectjapanese restaurantosaka baytop notchnice viewdinner buffetconvenient storewestern stylelarge roomjapanese standards
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 545 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

This hotel was the most “western” style that we stayed in. The room was large, with plenty of space for our luggage. It had a nice view. The bed was softer than other beds, which was a welcome relief. However, overall the room needed to be deep cleaned or remodeled. It was worn. The Fabrics and carpeting were dirty, the loveseat was uncomfortable, and the safe didn’t work. but the shower was good and so was the lighting. We tried the Hotel buffet for dinner and breakfast. it had a Combination of western and Japanese food. It was more crowded than other buffet we enjoyed, and there was lots of eel. The food was generally not as appealing as other buffets. We had a drink at the Lobby bar, and I would suggest just ordering off the menu instead of asking for something, as the bartender didn’t know how to make some cocktails.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank travellerfromatown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kazutoshi h, フロント オフィス マネージャー at The Westin Awaji Island Resort & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Thank you for choosing Westing Awaji Island for your stay.

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused.
I think what you pointed out is quite right.

I will train my staff hardly and try to not to repeat such a thing again.

It is our our 17th anniversary this year and renovating of guest rooms is in progress.
We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 October 2017

We stayed in this hotel for one night after a self-drive tour in Shikoku before going to Osaka. Did not have much expectation as the room rate was very reasonable and it is a big hotel with conference facilities.

It turned out to be the best hotel we stayed for the whole trip and I have to quickly put this review up.

Firstly, the hotel architecture is very nice and it is linked to a hugh park with nice landscape. It was a pity that it was windy on the day we left and we did not get to see much there.

Rooms are nicely appointed with seat view. They are well-maintained. Lobby is spacious and nicely decorated.

The most valuable things about this hotel is the staff! They are extremely helpful. We asked them to book restaurants, help with luggage and all sort of services and they did it with smiles. I must mention that I tried to get some flyers of the nearby shrine and flipped through a Japanese one. One of the staff quickly retrieved an English version for me. I was not standing of him. It was like 2 meters away from his counter. I am really impressed!

We did not spend enough on this lovely island and will surely come back again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing sea and park
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MadeleineKam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

My wife and have stayed in Room #629 for a night on 12 September 2017.

The hotel is uniquely designed by a renowned Japanese architect. Its location is far from the city area but very near to the seaside - only a 5-minute walk away.

I believe the hotel is not too new, but the building and its facilities are very clean and well maintained.

The room is simple but very spacious, and it is much more spacious than I expected, and it is very clean. Both the bed and pillows are of good size and quality.

The bathroom is also very spacious, and well maintained and very clean.

Both the buffer dinner and breakfast are of high quality with good varieties.

Overall, although it is a little pricey, we have had a pleasant stay in a hotel with great sea view. Strongly recommended for tourists who enjoy a quiet and relaxed holiday.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank LML1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 August 2017

We realised the transportation from Tokushima to the hotel was quite complicated before the trip and sent an email to ask if there were more convenient route to go there. The staff was so kind to reply my email in detail within 2 days.
When we asked for help on booking the JR express bus tickets, the staff, Miho Takai, was really helpful in contacting the bus company and explained to us patiently on the payment procedures at the convenient store. She spent more than half an hour to help us settle our difficulties. We could finally secured the booking at the convenient store and continue our trip smoothly because of her help. She's so responsible that she checked with us if we met any questions and if she missed any steps.
We felt so warm on this experience and this made our stay perfect!

Besides, the japanese style room was really spacious, clean and comfortable. The environment around the hotel was also wonderful. We'd love to visit again in the future!

Room Tip: Spacious Japanese-style room
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank YPLeung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 August 2017

The visit is to see Ando's Yumebutai and the close by water temple, staying at this hotel is a no brainer. Ando did design the exterior, but his energy was spent on the major site of Yumebutai, nevertheless, this is a great hotel to stay at. Top notch service and facility with nicely chosen designer furnitures not the knock off imitations. The restaurants in the hotel are excellent, we had one of the best meal in Japan and it was not too expensive at all. Here is a secret about Awaji Island beef, the "Kobe" beef are cows acquired from Awaji Island as calfs and raised to adult size. So you will have excellent beef on this island and not paying the super high price. Extremely tasty, too. Seafood are also super fresh from the daily catch.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank semanticvision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews