We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ryokan 
Hotel Keisui(Omachi)
US$351
US$339
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$237
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$211
US$153
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Nanakuraso(Omachi)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
US$222
Agoda.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Oribana(Omachi)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveler rating
14
2
5
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
2
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsslopessnowamenitiesbathdinneronsen
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2018

Staying at KAI Alps was amazing good!!
Man in Irori place told me that while it's snowy in Tokyo, it turns to be beautiful weather in North area including Nagano. That day, it was heavy snow in Tokyo but it's true that the weather was nice and the sight with beautiful mountains covered with snow was amazing.
You can enjoy a lot when you visit there in winter season, they have a great view from each rooms, dining halls and hot spring.
Also, the hospitality was amazing too, I planed a celebration for my bf but they helped us to make it a great time with the sweets plate says "congrats!"
I saw some comments saying some negative words in this page but I do recommend you to visit there, you can enjoy traditional Japanese old culture which you may not enjoy in other KAI places showing some Japanese modern culture. Thank you so much for sharing the beautiful time! We will visit there again.

Room Tip: There's a special room with fire place I heard.
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank catchkidston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at Hoshino Resorts KAI Alps, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Dear Maho T,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hoshino Resorts KAI Alps. We are very happy to hear that you chose to stay with us for your special occasion, and that you enjoyed the views as well as the atmosphere of our establishment. Our services indeed strive to allow for a getaway that is both uniquely Japanese and comfortable for all who stay with us.
We hope to welcome you back again in the near future!
Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

We stay at the Hoshino Resort Kai Alps a week after they reopen, and we were every disappointed on the experience we got.

1. Check in took a very long time. We arrived around 4.30PM and check in took almost an hour.
2. Dinner need to be pre booked in advance otherwise timing is not an option for you. We were ask when we wanted the dinner either 5.30PM or 8:30PM. And we wanted early dinner at 5.30PM but hotel said the cook cannot prepare dinner at that time for us.
3. Dinner that was told to be included wasn't including for our second night stay. However they didn't mention when we check in. They even asked us what time to we want dinner. We only were told an hour before dinner time that our dinner isn't included before we were booked with an early booking rate which we got 20% discount. It would have be nice if they could have mentioned to us when we check in.
4. The onsen is always crowned with people. We went to onsen after midnight and there were still many people there.
5. The room is very dark and feel small from the layout.
6. The hotel was not leave up to its website description. There were not as many activity within the hotel. The space of each activity is small. If you like to join some of the hotel activity, you might need to queue up to get in the area of there activity. The picture you saw from the website for example the big igloo is smaller than a small kid can go into.
7. The property is small and not that many thing around the hotel. We went during new year and everything surrounded the area are closed.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
2  Thank Nann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at Hoshino Resorts KAI Alps, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear Nann B,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We also thank you for your honest feedback, and sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced under our care. Your concerns regarding check-in and communicating to guests about dining services will be shared with the rest of the team. We highly value your feedback and constantly strive to provide services that meet our guests’ expectations.
Our company has a variety of Japanese inns and resorts all over the country. We hope to welcome you back to another one of them again in the near future and to show you how we are evolving.
Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 December 2017

A warning: if you booked the two-night early booking (with a 20% discount), dinner on the second night is not included. This was not made clear on their website when we booked (August 2016). We were not told when we checked-in and was even asked when we wanted our dinner. We were only told right before dinnertime on the second day when we returned from the slopes. This is a bigger problem here than in other places because the nearest other restaurants are not near and would require a trek in the dark through the snow. They allowed us to have dinner with an extra charge. Nevertheless, it felt a lot like we had been subject to a bait-and-switch. With the extra dinner charge, the hotel made back almost the entire 20% discount, thus negating the whole concept of an early booking discount. When we raised the issue with the hotel management, we were led into a long discussion of what was on or not on the website and a protracted debate on the meaning of “half-board”. The manager was not present during this discussion, choosing rather to use a junior staff to interpret and then disappearing into the background. Again, this is not a question of money (as anyone staying at the Hoshinoya Chains can attest to) but rather an issue of clarity and hospitality.
It was not only the pricing that seemed a bait-and-switch. The photographer for the website deserves an award. The hotel itself is a disappointment. Given the reputation of the Kai and Hoshinoya chain and the beautiful photos online, we expected something better than the dark, cramped, old-fashioned rooms. Dinner was a mediocre attempt at a proper kaiseki meal. For a new hotel- and at this price- we had hoped for a special, luxury experience which we experienced at other Hoshinoya hotels (we will probably never stay at a Kai again and would opt for the much more superior and outstanding Hoshinoya brand). For this level of service and comfort, we could have stayed a traditional Ryokan, which would have had outstanding service and a touch of true Japanese culture.
The only bright light in this experience, the reason for two and not one star, was the junior staff who tried their best to provide the best service and information within their capacity.

Room Tip: A room on a higher will probably allow for better light. Ours was on the first floor and lighting was insufficient.
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LaLaTraveler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at Hoshino Resorts KAI Alps, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Dear LaLaTraveler100,

Thank you for staying at Hoshino Resorts KAI Alps and taking the time to give us a review.
We sincerely apologize for the concerns you experienced about the dinner. I shared your comments with the management team and we have surely taken your feedback into account to further enhance our guest experience.
Your feedback mean a great deal to us. We are committed to regaining your faith in us by an enhanced room product, and also by deliberating a better and exceptional service.
We hope to deliver a better and seamless experience should you stay with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

Hishino Resort Kai Alps was re-opened on 21 December this year and we were glad to stay there on the opening day.

Obviously all the staff were well prepared to hospitalize the guests on this day and they demonstrated their professionalism, excellent service and attentiveness as well as dedication to make the guests enjoy during their stay.

All the facilities and amenities were great, with public bath facing the tremendous snow mountain view and internal you would find the bath with plenty of apples. Regarding the dinner, we were deeply impressed by the food freshness, the chef innovation on creating new taste experience for the guests and the staff sincerity in explaining the dish one by one with patience.

Special thanks to the team which makes a day for both of us during this winter at Omarchi Onsen!

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
4  Thank alexng282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at Hoshino Resorts KAI Alps, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Dear alexng282,

Thank you for a great review of Hoshino Resorts KAI Alps! We are very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us on our opening day, and that you were able to enjoy the views and meals, and that our staff members were able to assist you to the fullest. Our services indeed strive to allow a unique and relaxing experience for all who stay with us.
We have a variety of unique accommodations all over Japan and we hope to welcome you back to another one of them again in the near future!
Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews