We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everyone in our group loved this trip.”
Review of Argaty Red Kites

Argaty Red Kites
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Doune
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited with family who were staying with us over Easter. It was a very cold Easter Monday, There were lots of people in the hide, but space for everyone to see. We saw between 20 - 30 kites.
The Ranger was fabulous, informative, interesting and engaging with the children. Activities in the hide kept the children interested for longer which enabled us to watch the birds for longer.
A great trip and a highlight of the weekend for our visitors.

Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argaty_redkites_13, Owner at Argaty Red Kites, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for visiting and also for writing such a kind review. I am really glad that you all enjoyed your visit and we love having children in the hide. The kites are wonderful, aren't they?
Very best wishes
Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"beautiful birds"
in 13 reviews
"informative talk"
in 8 reviews
"feeding times"
in 7 reviews
"working farm"
in 8 reviews
"watch the birds"
in 2 reviews
"great spectacle"
in 2 reviews
"fantastic photographs"
in 2 reviews
"close quarters"
in 5 reviews
"both sides"
in 6 reviews
"amazing sight"
in 2 reviews
"bird lovers"
in 4 reviews
"small fee"
in 4 reviews
"brilliant afternoon"
in 2 reviews
"close range"
in 3 reviews
"bird hide"
in 3 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 4 reviews
"information centre"
in 3 reviews
Filter

3 - 7 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Now a member, my husband visits regularly to take photographs. Visit at feeding time 1.30 and see the red kites feed. They hover over the hide and you can see them in all their glory.We counted 25 the last time we visited.

Thank Clare A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argaty_redkites_13, Owner at Argaty Red Kites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your kind review - it is so much appreciated. And so glad that yiur husband has a loyalty card - we hoped it would be a small thank you for our frequent visitors. Should just say, in order to help others, that 5d feeding time changes to 2.30 when the clocks change in the spring and changes back at the end of October. Look forward to seeing you both here soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Dawn Cameron and I visited Argaty Red Kit Viewing Centre hoping to see some of these beautiful birds of prey. What a wonderful experience. There were at least 20 of them there for feeding and we got some great pictures.
A cheeky big buzzard even managed to sneak in too.
Absolutely worth a visit . . .

Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argaty_redkites_13, Owner at Argaty Red Kites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

So glad you had a great visit - we are passionate about the birds and are so pleased to share this with our visitors. Hope to see you here again soon. Best wishes from us all here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We could not have had a better visit to Argaty. Tom’s knowledge about the birds was excellent & he really tried to ensure that everyone had a good view. It was a beautiful day and we could not believe it when he put the bait out - about 20 red kites were soaring around & then diving for the food! What a spectacle! My husband got some superb shots with his telephoto lens. Will definitely visit again.

Thank LizA2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argaty_redkites_13, Owner at Argaty Red Kites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I will definitely pass on your kind words to Tom. And really glad that your husband got some great shots - they aren't easy birds to photograph! Hope we see you here again soon and thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Winter visit to see these beautiful birds being fed. Even though the weather was not good the visit was really enjoyable - there were around 30 Kites in the air - and was made even more enjoyable by the knowledgeable Neil - the host in the hide....

Thank Kerr B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argaty_redkites_13, Owner at Argaty Red Kites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

So glad you enjoyed your visit to us and thank you so much for taking the time to write a review - your words are much appreciated. We are passionate about the kites and feel so lucky to have them here on the farm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Argaty Red Kites also viewed

Stirling, Stirlingshire
Stirling, Stirlingshire
 
Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
 

Been to Argaty Red Kites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing