We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveler rating
45
53
18
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
53
18
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews warm welcome lovely meal bit dated the owner friendly hotel lovely staff friendly service pie homely feel doune castle my partner many thanks hot water decent size down to earth mains and desserts scottish hotel
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 123 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Did not need to book plenty of room and also plenty parking.attentive staff and a sort of family feel to it.very good menu with a good variety on it.good fresh food and decent size portion.nice relaxing venue.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alan116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

This is a wonderful old hotel untouched by modern times and run by friendly and hospitable hotelier Suzanne and her welcoming staff. Within easy reach of Callander for the rural Jazz & Blues Festival and Loch Loman and the excellent Deanston Single Malt Whisky Distillery plus Doune Castle used in hit TV series Game Of Thrones. Highly recommended.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
2  Thank Rick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 September 2017

We stayed here with our two dogs on Friday 18/8/2017 and again on the 2/9/2017.
We received a warm welcome. Some people would say the hotel needs a bit of modernisation, but we were happy with it. The room was good and the bed comfy.
We had fish and chips for a meal on the first evening, beware if you don't like salad with it which I don't make sure to ask for peas if that is what you want.
Breakfast was very good. We stayed in the same room on our return we were welcomed again very warmly and asked how our trip had gone. We decided to have dinner in the restaurant again this time I had the home made steak pie and the wife the lasagne. The pie had tender meat and good gravy one of the best if not the best I have had in a long time. Too many not home made and are awful the wife enjoyed her lasagne she was offered veg with it but declined and said it was a good job she didn't because she had more than enough. We were surprised at the cost of Lager and brandy expecting it to be more than it was. Breakfast again great. B/Pud, beans, toms, sausage, bacon, mushrooms & I think is scotch pancake plus toast and tea, You don't have to have the full English as you can have what you want. Also cereal etc. All in all a good stay we would certainly go back .

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank hurricane1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

This was a lovely place--old style, yet very well updated. What made it specisl us was the friendliness and joviality of the owners! It's a family-run business, and they all become immediate friends with the guests!! The server in the restaurant even sat down beside us for a chat and sharing pics o her grandchild in NZ! We all enjoyed the loose atmosphere , yet also the attention to detail in the rooms!

Only wee problem was the wifi connection. It sort of went in and out. Oh well!

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank piperanddancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Had a great stay here. Everyone from the check-in to the bar to breakfast was super nice and welcoming. The building is not a modern one, so the floors and stairs creak, but it's the kind of place I prefer. Big lounge downstairs with sofas. Good location, just a few minutes' walk to the castle. I had a single room which was warm and comfortable. There's a kettle with instant coffee and tea in the room. Breakfast in the morning was perfect. Zero complaints, this place is very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Deejais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews