We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveler rating
14
7
3
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
7
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach view room staff were really helpful prawns rooms are clean stayed here spicy amenities india
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2017 via mobile

2 night stay in an air conditioned room. Really comfortable. The food was lovely in the restaurant and the staff were really helpful. Only Criticism is there was no bottled water in the room which is a problem if you arrive after 9.30pm as all shops shut but you can still buy from the restaurant up to 12am. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Nadine1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 July 2017

The rooms at Spice of Life were great. It is also extremely close to the beach such that you can even get a beach view room.

Things to remember -
Internet keeps going off.
No drinking water in rooms.
No telephone in rooms.
No fridge or TV in rooms.
Staircase is small and without railing. Not recommended for old people.
Had to ask for a small table stand.
Lighting in rooms is kind of dim.

As the hotel sees mostly foreign guests, these amenities are not provided so you'll need to ask for it. The manager is quite nice. Restaurant serves great food. Market is close by.

Room Tip: Ask for the suites on the second floor
  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Priyanka A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 April 2017

Had a little nose online of what Mandrem had to offer and once we arrived we went straight to SOL to check out the rooms. Compared to the rest of Goa the prices are very good and you won't find anywhere near the same quality for the same price . The rooms are clean, big and very cool. We opted for a non-A/C room and we slept like babies. Didn't get much of a chance to try the food as we only stopped for a few days but the smells wafting out of the kitchen were wonderus! The owner Carmen and her family are fantastic hosts. The Nepalese boys are hilarious once you get to know them, safe travels home boys!

Room Tip: Don't be turned off ground floor rooms, our stay was fab!
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank zoeamandakelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

This was our third stop in Goa and can only use this stay as a comparison to the other two...
On arrival, the greeting we received was met with confusion, as the staff at Spice were unsure of who we were, even though we had booked on line! After recognising our booking, we were handed our keys and guided to our room promptly.
Our sea view room with balcony was okay. Not the clearest view, as obstructed by trees but you could just about see the sea! However, especially lovely, in the morning to draw your curtains open to...
Room was satisfactory. Beach was only seconds away!
Food was great and the staff, after making an effort to have conversation with, were friendly and polite.
Wi-fi was NOT available/connected during our 4 day stay.
Our overall stay at Spice was satisfactory but we feel improvements can be made, hence the review. We felt that on arrival, there wasn't anyone who took charge, hence the confusion. Furthemore, whether it was a lack of communication or not, we were not fully briefed, when we first arrived, on any amenities or services the hotel had to offer. Had this been done, perhaps we could've realised that we didn't have to pay each time for our breakfast, as was included in the price of our stay! However, this too was an oversight on our side, as missed on the small print that breakfast was included. Still strange why staff accepted our cash each time we had breakfast though? (A guesstimation refund of 250 rupees was made. Probably should've been nearer 1000 rupes but they had no proof of receipts, as they don't write customers name on the biils)
After a couple of days into our stay, we met a lovely lady, who apparently was in charge of the hotel's guests! Such a warm welcome! We were asked if all okay and if there was anything we needed....Oh how we wished she was there on our arrival!

Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank nipper g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for just under a fortnight. I met one of the owners when I checked in who was ever so lovely, and all the staff were really helpful and the service was brilliant. India was a culture shock for me personally but the hotel was clean and well kept, the room fine but basic compared to western standards. Nevertheless the price reasonable and location was great, literally could watch the sunset off my balcony.

Stayed: March 2017, traveled solo
Thank Danny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews