We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Just incredible

We did the circuit Arica - Codpa (one night) - Putre (two nights) - Arica (one night). Its VERY... read more

Reviewed 5 October 2018
Adriaan L
,
Curico, Chile
Unforgettable!

Don.t miss this experience. The long way is worth with no esitation. The road to go is spectacular... read more

Reviewed 20 August 2018
Cetti G
,
Milano
via mobile
Read all 73 reviews
  
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveler rating
57
11
4
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
11
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bath meters flamingos car road altitude arica
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2016

I've been travelling around the parks, mountains and nature for years. The only thing that I could say is that Surire is one of the most remarkable experiences of my life. NOBODY goes to this place and you will be surrounded by wild animals in their habitat. The park is huge, I've been driving a 4x4 the whole day and it is a lot to see. I love salar de uyuni and altiplano in Bolivia but this place is far beautiful.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Marcohov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 January 2016

On arrival at the dazzling Salar de Surire with its spectacular backdrop of mountains and the ever present volcanoes we were amazed at the 360 degree vistas from every angle. The sight of a pure white whirlwind of salt moving across the salt flat was surreal, with flamingoes and vicunas in the foreground this made for an altiplano experience.
But there was more to come. Agua Calientes is a stunning place to soak in the hot thermal water in the aquamarine coloured pools on the edge of the Salar. There were two people and a dog there also; otherwise we saw no other tourist. A terrific feeling of having discovered this corner of the planet.
One difficulty is the road from Putre - it is not good and it takes longer than you think; we added to the time by stopping for llamas, vicunas, rheas and rabbits!

Date of experience: December 2015
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The experience of a chilly night sitting in the hot springs under the stunning canopy of stars is something I will never forget! We camped near the springs and the following day toured around the circular road stopping at overlooks to watch the flamingos, vicunas and the rheas that look like a mix between ostriches and emus. I would recommend a tour guide - there are some areas that are not supposed to be accessed by the public when you are wildlife-watching, and there are two dangerously hot pools in the large hot spring area. At 4,200 metres, we were also suffering from altitude sickness, and the tour guide had to supply some oxygen at one point. Coca tea worked well for those of us who didn't have to worry about blood tests. I wouldn't recommend coming in winter, it was simply TOO ridiculously freezing cold to be in a tent (approx -14C). Come in autumn or spring!

Date of experience: July 2014
3  Thank Vikki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 March 2014

A visit to Surire requres an expensive tour from Arica or your own vehicle. If you the latter, you can approach from one of three directions. The first, the longest, is from Colchane on the road from Iquique to the Bolivian border via the deserted village of Isluga. Ther second is from the north from Putre, via Guallatire. This may be the easiest. The third is from the Arica road south of Putre via Belen. This is rough ('ripio') but the most fun. The view over the Salar as you approach is stupendous.

The Salar contains large amounts of Borax which is removed by the company Quiborax. There are all thrtee kinds of Andean flamingoes, lots of vicunas and vizcachas (tame near the CONAF refugio. If lucky, you may see a condor or suris (rheas). Don't expect to be overwhelmed by tourists! You can stay in the Refugio although, in early 2014, it is closed for an upgrade. Contact CONAF before starting.

Date of experience: March 2014
4  Thank Etosha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: November 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews