We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
7 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$359
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/26/22
Booking.com
$377
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/25/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Anantara.com
$297
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline$363
Hotels.com$359
travelup.com$536
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,168)
Filter reviews
2,168 results
Traveler rating
1,843
227
69
22
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,843
227
69
22
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews italian restaurant bella vista villa host cliff pool village walk canyon view room private pool garden villa rock climbing special thanks breathtaking views kids club main restaurant muscat airport hour drive memorable experience out of this world
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
294 - 299 of 2,168 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2020 via mobile

After seeing a TV program about this hotel we discussed a trip with 2 friends and planned a two centre break to Oman.
Having previously holidayed at a beach resort outside Muscat we were eager to return to the Sultanate of Oman and this new hotel gave us the drive to go.
We arrived in the early hours after a 8 hour flight from Heathrow and were met by our prearranged driver. The roads were smooth and clear, transferring us from the airport to the Anantara Al Jabal Akhdar Resort in 2 hours.
We were ushered into the lo
bby area, leaving the luggage to find it's own way to our rooms. It was quite chilly and very sunny and a welcome drink and towels smoothed the way. I had emailed the hotel of our early arrival and our rooms we ready, marvelous.
We had adjoining rooms with canyon views, absolutely stunning.
Our stay was for 3 nights on a half board basis using the buffet restaurant for breakfast and dinner. However the hotel allows a credit for you to experience the other restaurants, which we did dining at the Arabian the second night and the Italian on the third.
Excellent food, service and ambiance in both and some fantastic views.
The architecture is Omanie,
with a fort style restaurant and bar, although I thought the hotel frontage disappointing when you first see it.
All the staff are amazing, friendly, hospitable and helpful.
The outdoor swimming pool is heated as the temperatures do get quite chilly 2,000 metres high!
But such views are breathtaking.
There is a guided tour of the area conducted by Moher including Nizwa, Bahla, etc which is also unforgettable. Moher is a local Omanie who has a real understanding of the mountains, the people and their culture and we were very lucky to have met him.
The bedrooms and public areas are calming and there is a fabulous viewing platform called Diana's Point, referencing Princess Diana who visited. There is so much more and a 3 night stay was perfect, although
I would love to revisit the Anantara Al Jabal Akhdar Resort.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank FoodCultureFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSymes_Anantara, General Manager at Anantara Al Jabal Al Akhdar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2020

Dear FoodCultureFun,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your amazing review with us.

It is great to see that you had an amazing time with us, discovering and exploring the culture of Oman and we hope that you brought back some great stories to tell as well.

Your amazing words of compliments have been shared with Maher who has been more than happy to make your stay with us more memorable.

Once again, thank you and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our Resort in the near future.

With kind regards,

Dagmar Symes

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2020

The most amazing place and enjoyed our stay, spotless and very well maintained and spectacular views each room had a balcony and beautiful view of sunset. Very friendly and courteous staff and specially at the restaurant.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank Iqbal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSymes_Anantara, General Manager at Anantara Al Jabal Al Akhdar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2020

Dear Iqbal S,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your fantastic review with us.

It is great to see that you had an amazing time with us, discovering and exploring the culture of Oman and we hope that you brought back some great stories to tell as well.

Once again, thank you and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our Resort in the near future.

With kind regards,

Dagmar Symes

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2020

We honestly don't know where to start. We visited back in August and deeply regret the delay in posting this review because of some unforeseen events that look place later on in our honeymoon. It's going to be hard to put our most amazing memories into words but we'll start with "We visited Oman just to stay at Anantara Al Jabal Al Akhdar Resort and we're definitely coming back.

Please keep reading.

From the moment we started driving up the mountain to the moment we walked into the resort, being greeted by the lovely Awatef and to the moment we drove away from the resort, it was all sensational - The most amazing time of our lives.

I had emailed the resort prior to our visit, informing them that this was for our honeymoon and that I wanted to surprise my wife with a little special something. Little did I know that Awatef would go above an beyond to make this the most special time and the highlight of our whole honeymoon.

Awatef greeted us with a big smile and some delicious dates before walking us to our room, showing us around and explaining everything to us while walking us. When we arrived at our room, she showed us around. The room had been decorated with roses, the bed was covered with the best smelling and looking fresh roses, the bathroom mirror had a message just for us. It gave our room that little personal feel, made us feel we were the only guests in the resort.

Later that evening we went to the pool/spa area to put our feet up and watch the sun set behind the mountains, from 2000 meters above. Just spectacular. Walking through the resort, back to our room, we spoke of how beautiful the whole place was. We walked into our room and there it was, another beautiful surprise, this just swept us off our feet. The room had been cleaned up and redecorated, the bathtub filled with warm water and covered with rose petals, a beautiful cake with "Happy honeymoon" on it and some fresh fruits, some of which we have never seen before, here in Australia.

Later that night we went to Al Maisan (part of the resort) for dinner, there we were greeted by Tanveer. We were asked if we wanted to be seated inside or outside. We were walked outside and there it was in the corner, covered in flowers and roses, our table. Tanveer had reserved two tables, both inside and outside just for us. The views overlooking the resort and the mountains, covered by night stars. The food was delicious and limitless, the customer service was nothing short of exceptional. A very romantic dinner, indeed.

The next morning we went back to Al Maisan for breakfast where Tanveer showed us around and explained the wide of range of breakfast foods available. We were seated before we went around trying a little bit of everything, We must say.. Fantastic food selection.

After 24 hours of magical moment after another (we can type all day and it wouldn't do it justice) It was now time to leave. There was one regret; We should have stayed a little longer, we just didn't want to leave this amazing place. We would like to say thank you to Awatef and Tanveer (sorry if we have misspelled your names) for everything you did, for making our special moment that little more special. We will never forget you! I hope the both of you are rewarded by Anantara in many ways, you deserve it and more. We would like to say thank you to every single staff member that made this a memory that will never be forgotten. You truly have the best resort.

10/10 for absolutely everything. We can not say thank you enough. Cannot wait to come back.

Thank you
Muhamed and Stephanie - Sydney, Australia

Room tip: We really don't have any tips - Just stay there as long as you can - You'll have the most amazing time
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank thebashara
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSymes_Anantara, General Manager at Anantara Al Jabal Al Akhdar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2020

Dear TheTravellingArab,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your fantastic review with us.

It is great to see that you had an amazing time with us, discovering and exploring the culture of Oman and we hope that you brought back some great stories to tell as well.

Your amazing words of compliments have been shared with Awatef and Tanveer who has been more than happy to make your stay with us more memorable.

Once again, thank you and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our Resort in the near future.

With kind regards,

Dagmar Symes

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2020

Anantara al jabal was wonderfull. Very beautiful rooms (we had canyon view rooms), nice views, extremely friendly staff, beautifull resort, very nice pool, superb service (there even was a pillow menu and soooo good food (good choice, very good juices at breakfast,...)
There also was a free welness, tenniscourt, fitness,...
Thank you so much to all the staff!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Zophie1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSymes_Anantara, General Manager at Anantara Al Jabal Al Akhdar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2020

Dear Zophie1984,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your fantastic review with us.

It is great to see that you had an amazing time with us, discovering and exploring the culture of Oman and we hope that you brought back some great stories to tell as well.

Once again, thank you and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our Resort in the near future.

With kind regards,

Dagmar Symes

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2020

I visited this property for a long weekend winter break in January, and will definitely return. A fabulous spot for great views and fresh air, with excellent amenities and very helpful, welcoming staff.

The breakfast and dinner buffet is among the best I have ever experienced. Food was fresh, delicious and served on hot plates, which is a rare find at buffets.

The spa is amazing, with a huge range of treatments. I spent a good three hours there, relaxing and getting pampered while the other half took off on his mountain bike!

If you visit in winter, do take warm clothes. As a resident of Dubai, where temperatures rarely dip below 20 degrees c, I had not appreciated how chilly it can be when you're on a mountain 2,000 metres above sea level!

Looking forward to returning again soon.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rebholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSymes_Anantara, General Manager at Anantara Al Jabal Al Akhdar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2020

Dear Rebholidays,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your fantastic review with us.

It is great to see that you had an amazing time with us, discovering and exploring the culture of Oman and we hope that you brought back some great stories to tell as well.

Once again, thank you and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our Resort in the near future.

With kind regards,

Dagmar Symes

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews