We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't get the Virgin Airways experienced had heard advertised. Big disappointment”
Review of Virgin Atlantic Airways


Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Original flight cancelled about 24 hours in advance thus lost a vacation day- vacation days are a treasure plus needed to make all kinds of adjustments for our arrival; told the flight was canceled because Virgin flies old plans thus sometimes don't fly across the Atlantic because need to do alot of maintenance. Upper class seats were too small (barely shoulder width) & were uncomfortable. Equipment in the seat not logical and got no help from flight crew. Generally ignored by flight crew-had to ring bell to get anything when saw them go around to other customers; also they were very disorganized in how they managed customers, usually this is quite logical (left to right seat front to back row). These attendants hopped around in an illogical style. Usually fly to Europe business class & this was worst experience ever. Was looking forward to flying Virgin Atlantic but this was the biggest disappointment ever. Also trying to reach their customer service preflight was awful- the website chat function never worked; finally found a US acceptable phone number but wasn't easy. 1st time automated voice said to call back as too busy to take more calls. 2nd try, finally got a lovely man who was quite helpful, but it was a lot of work. I don't plan on flighting Virgin Atlantic again.

Date of travel: May 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank debbiea451
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (16,163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 37 of 16,163 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Excellent staff, welcoming and helpful, great food - very comfortable…highly recommend. Thought the inflight movies could be better - but maybe that is just because there isn’t a lot of good films out at the mo.

Date of travel: May 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank fionaw319
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My first experience flying with Virgin Atlantic. The only positive was aircraft was clean, but I didn’t find the very comfortable especially for a 9 hour flight, on the outward flight the food was passable I suppose for economy and drinks were OK but selection wasn’t very wide.
But on the return flight the food was ghastly we had a sort of coleslaw as a starter, three pieces of dry curried chicken, with dried rice followed by a revolting synthetic cream dessert. Breakfast was four pieces of fruit and a tasteless yogurt with a muffin and a cold cup of tasteless coffee, the toilet floor was wet and dirty, I have honestly had a far superior experience with TUI to the Caribbean from LGW
Arrival back at LHR was dreadful as we left the aircraft and were still in the tunnel, we first had to endure a sniffer dog, followed by border force interrogation asking irrelevant questions and we then had the NSA who opened and inspected our hand luggage. Police and other uniformed enforcement officers. I am a 66 year old retired British born citizen and do not expect this overwhelming and over zealous show of security when I return home from a family wedding. I don’t suppose you would get this much attention if you came here on an inflatable from France as an illegal immigrant. This was followed by The stupid automated Passport machines then rejecting mine and my son’s passports and we had to join yet another bloody queue for a manual inspection. Then after all these delays it took an additional 45 minutes for our luggage to come through on the carousel. Terminal 3 LHR and Virgin Atlantic
NEVER AGAIN 😬😬

Date of travel: May 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank Jez m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The seats were comfortable and the food was good, but the real pleasure is the crew. The attendants were attentive without being intrusive. They all had friendly and happy attitudes. Seriously, they are this airlines best asset!

Date of travel: May 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank Compass11218406203
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 21, 2024

The service and staff was very good, the airplane nice and clean BUT the seat in economic was VERY bad, I am only 168 cm long, and even I had a problem with space for my legs - so I will avoide Virgin in the future - it is not posible to sit down the whole trip .... it is to painful for det legs. We used KLM on the way out, and they have good space for legs to the same price for the flight

Date of travel: May 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank 634charlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.