We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No space for the legs”
Review of Virgin Atlantic Airways


Reviewed May 21, 2024

The service and staff was very good, the airplane nice and clean BUT the seat in economic was VERY bad, I am only 168 cm long, and even I had a problem with space for my legs - so I will avoide Virgin in the future - it is not posible to sit down the whole trip .... it is to painful for det legs. We used KLM on the way out, and they have good space for legs to the same price for the flight

Date of travel: May 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank 634charlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (16,173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 54 of 16,173 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2024

We travelled Upper Class.

On the plus side, the staff was superb from the moment of arriving at the LHR drop-off to exiting the plane at BGI. That was a big plus.

But, the really negative issue is that Upper Class seats are angled at an off-set of 45° to the aircraft.

This means you don't face forward and because the seats are so close together, it's almost impossible to twist around to look out of the portholes.

I can understand that by doing this, Virgin will maximise on seat numbers for the given area, but for us, it felt really, really uncomfortably odd and not enjoyable - especially for an Upper Class experience.

Finally, and although not Virgin's fault, our bags then took 1hr 20mins to arrive in the baggage hall.

Date of travel: May 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank GreatPapaBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 18, 2024

Travel with Virgin has become very hit and miss. The newer planes are good. Thus wasn't. Cramped and uncomfortable with poor cabin temperature and air quality at I a price point that I could have flown in proper business class on another airline. I had started flying more regularly and was planning to stick to Virgin, but I will now look for an alternative.

Date of travel: May 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank Richard H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 17, 2024

In flight service was excellent, but they often give quite tight times for connecting flights. On our outbound flight we missed the connection, but fortunately we were put on the next flight. For our return flight (which we have not yet gone on), they have reduced the connection time by 40 minutes, making our layover time a lot tighter. They say "contact us if this is an issue", but the only option they gave us was to change our flights for £1000 per flight.

Date of travel: May 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 16, 2024

We flew from London to JFK in New York. Unfortunately our luggage did not arrive. We were very disappointed by this. We were kindly helped at the airport by a Virgin Airways employee who filed a claim with us. In the meantime we were allowed to buy the things we needed. The suitcase was delivered the next day and we were kept well informed of the progress.

We are very happy with the service Virgin offered in this regard. Something can go wrong anywhere, but the way she solved it was excellent.

Date of travel: May 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank Levi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.