We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible service experience”
Review of Cape Air


Reviewed 24 July 2021

No information at departure gate
Agents insisted flight would be on time until right up to departure time, when it emerged that the inbound flight had not even taken off (and gate agent hadn’t bothered to look before)
Generally rude and dismissive
Would not fly Cape Air from Boston

Date of travel: July 2021
Thank dangZ1741KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2021

Flight was cancelled due to fog and was not communicated to use until over an hour after the boarding time indicated by our boarding passes.

When attempting to reschedule we were offered the next flight out, which was the next morning around 7am. We agreed and they took off to process, assuring us that we were all set. We waited around the gate and were told several minutes later that while they were processing, other reps were simultaneously booking displaced guests, and so we missed our chance. The flight we were promised was no longer available.

We settled for the next flight after that, which was much later afternoon. Only to be told the same thing -- it wasn't actually available when it was offered to us. Only this time, another rep had to tell us, because the one who had falsely promised us two flights at that point was probably too embarrassed to tell us that he failed to do his job twice in the span of 10 minutes.

At this point we were told it was over a day out for the next available flight, because apparently the re-scheduling process is an absolute free-for-all and the reps at the gate do not communicate with each other at all. The concession they offered for dealing with this was a $20 meal voucher for airport restaurants that were already closed at the time.

The entire process was honestly insulting, considering we were now out hundreds of dollars on the vacation rental we were supposed to check into today.

Date of travel: July 2021
    • Customer service
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank enzo613
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 July 2021

It was a Hoot. Flying in a Cessna was great for me. 9 pasangers and a great pilot up and back. Fly at aprox 8K feet was like a great view all around and a few small bumps but nothing to even think about. My wife,yes,was a bit nervous but was a champ. Take off and landings were fine. a bit tight with a full amount of passengers but no reall problems at all. Going thru security was fine and getting on the plane on the tarmac was not a problem at all. Pilots were very nice,professional,plane was very clean. service from ground people was outstanding. Checking in was easy. all in all agreat time on the ground and in the air.

Date of travel: May 2021
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Barry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 June 2021

Every time I have to fly to Boston for treatment due to cancer I thank the Lord for this little airplane and it’s pilots and this airport in Saranac Lake!! We are so very blessed to have this plane three times a day to Boston and back. It has literally saved my life many times. One time I was in stage four liver failure. It got me to the ER in Boston within two hours. The pilots are excellent as are the airport crew. Thank you Cape Air for taking such good care of this little community and it’s visitors. I tell all of my doctors and nurses about your very valuable little flights that can get the from Boston into the Heart of the ADKS in just over an hour. They are always surprised and thankful for the “tip”

Date of travel: June 2021
Thank 412mindab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 June 2021

Out flight from Boston to Nantucket was fine, but no one told us that it was a possibility that our luggage wouldn’t arrive with us, due to weight restrictions. When questioned, the employees act as if you should know this, and they basically tell you that you’ll get your luggage when you get it. The Cape Air employees at Nantucket were extremely unfriendly and unhelpful. But, they sure let you know if your mask wasn’t up all the way. Our trip back to Boston was a nightmare, with our flight being delayed several times, but the airline would not cancel the flight, so they didn’t have to refund any money. We missed both of our connecting flights out of Boston, and they handed us a phone number to call another airline to see if they could help us. They were rude not only to us but to other passengers who were in the same boat as us. Finally, one employee said she had to leave as it was t8 e for her to go be a mommy. WTH? We never did get out of Nantucket by air. We had to take the ferry to Hyannis, then a 2-1/2 hr train ride to Boston and a bus ride to the airport. By the time we arrived at the hotel, all food options were closed. It was truly a Planes, Trains and Automobiles experience, and it all stated with Cape Air. I will never fly this airline again, and strongly suggest you pay attention to all the bad reviews for this airline.

Date of travel: May 2021
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank OmahaTraveler66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.