We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible”
Review of American Airlines


Reviewed 11 January 2021

We were scheduled to fly from Dallas to Kansas City at 2:55 pm on January the 10th. Our flight was cancelled at 9:21 am while we were on another flight due to ‘weather’. It was raining, so we were rescheduled for the 11th at 4:45am. No offer of a hotel or anything. We decided to wait at the airport because there was a chance to get on a flight at 8:40pm. While waiting, our takeoff time came and planes were taking off left and right. It was raining a little, but obviously planes could still take off. In my opinion it was terrible to not offer a hotel, food, something to compensate for the flight. And for other flights to be taking off when ours was supposed to was not okay. Needless to say it was a very stressful, frustrating day. We will not be flying American Airlines again.

Date of travel: January 2021
Thank Oliviafc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (73,005)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,716 - 1,720 of 73,005 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2021

I flew roundtrip from Boston to Syracuse and both the timing and the ease of each flight was great! I'm able to breeze through Logan in the evening, then through Syracuse in the morning, going door to door in only a couple of hours! Though the legroom is lacking, it was no problem for the quick flights.

Date of travel: February 2020
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
2  Thank cgowrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 January 2021

Always disappointing. Was forced to fly and to my borrow the flight was completely full. Borderline negligent behavior by the airline.

Date of travel: January 2021
Thank X7823OXchristopherm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 January 2021

American Airlines has been a disappointment from the get-go. They frequently cancel or delay my flights. I keep flying with them because I made the mistake of signing up for their credit card. Well, even that has been a debacle. They gave me a second AAdvantage number that’s not actually linked to my account. So whenever I check in to my flight, it tries charging me for bags so I have to bag check at the counter. And it’s not applying any of my miles to my account so I really just have a rewardless credit card.

They are cheaper to fly, but you’d better account for a few extra days on both ends of your trip because you probably won’t get there or leave when you plan to (due to cancellations or delays). The staff is overall unpleasant too. Most attendants have been obnoxious, rude, or simply apathetic. I’ve experienced few attendants who have been pleasant.

The last cancellation came the morning of through text. An agent didn’t even call me to schedule a different flight. I had to do it myself.

I’ve attached a screenshot of the most recent text notifications. One of my incoming flights was delayed which caused my bags to be directed elsewhere as they did not make it on the connecting flight. Then the morning of, they canceled my return flight. This is a normal occurrence so I’m going to cancel my credit card and fly with delta from now on.

Date of travel: December 2020
1  Thank destjeor13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 January 2021

Me and my son were supposed to fly from Detroit Michigan to Tulsa Oklahoma on January 2nd. Our first plane was delayed because they over fueled the aircraft which made us arrive in Chicago after our layover had already left. After spending 4 hours in the airport working with American Airlines they were unable to get us on another flight within the next two days. The individual at the ticket counter told us that since this was the fault of American Airlines that if we were to rent a car and drive they would reimburse us for the rental car and hotel and our ticket cost. So to clarify after buying my tickets and spending that money I had to come out of pocket all these additional expenses and now drive because that was the only option they had for us. So we did exactly as American Airlines said and rented the car and drove. After I filed for a reimbursement totaling $742.76 for all the expenses they agreed to refund they now backed out and are unwilling to refund us anything but offered us a $125 flight voucher and apologized for our inconvenience. They directly lied to us and tricked us. Don't fall for it.

Date of travel: January 2021
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank 123,432,145,396
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.