We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible customer service”
Review of Aer Lingus


Reviewed June 8, 2024

I booked a trip with Aer Lingus for a conference and a weekend away after the conference, but unfortunately I couldn’t attend my conference due to bereavement. Therefore I cancelled my trip and asked for a refund.

On their website, it says you can receive a full refund if it’s due to bereavement. I have submitted my sick note from my GP and a letter from my GP for claims like this. I also submitted the death certificate of my relative, however that was in Chinese. I have received many conflicting information about the need for this death certificate. Someone from customer service said I won’t need to provide it, but then someone else said I need to provide a translation like it was obvious and I was stupid.

All of the interactions I had with them, they had no compassion or empathy. The attitudes and tone of voice were horrible. As if having to go through the emotional turmoils of bereavement wasn’t enough, they continue to add fuel to the fire.

My friend did go to the conference and also flew with them. However her flight was cancelled and she had great difficulty trying to get home. She also had a terrible experience with their customer service.

I will never book another trip with them and I urge you to avoid them.

Date of travel: May 2024
2  Thank Aijing W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (13,604)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 84 of 13,604 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2024

This airline offers pornographic movies to passengers. I traveled with my family member and had the most uncomfortable flight of my life with a fully nude pornographic movie playing directly in our view. Completely inappropriate and no family should ever be put in that situation. The airline should never have provided this movie as an option. Not to mention all of our flights were late/delayed.

Date of travel: June 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Christy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 7, 2024

A horrible and untrustworthy airline. We were diverted to Philadelphia due to weather, which is no fault of the airline. They told us they would bus us to Dulles. We were given no other option. We were told it would take about two hours for the buses to arrive. After waiting for two hours, until about midnight local time, we were then told it would be two more hours. The Aer Lingus rep in Philly said we could arrange our own transportation and be reimbursed. Since we had no confidence that a bus would show up, we ordered a Lyft back to where our car was parked near Dulles. We submitted a claim with Aer Lingus but it was rejected.

Date of travel: May 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 7, 2024

Took a flight earlier this week with Aer Lingus. Probably one of the worst flights I’ve been on. I pay for WiFi for it to cut out for a few hours mid flight. I contact the provider to get a refund and they make up something about how everything was functional. The fact you have to pay for WiFi on an international 7 hour flight that you pay thousands of dollars for is disappointing. I won’t be flying with them again. Choose United or American instead.

Date of travel: June 2024
3  Thank Madison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 7, 2024

Our recent experience with Aer Lingus, our first with the airline, will regrettably be our last. We encountered late departures, delayed boarding, and avoidable delays within the airline's control. Of the four flights we booked, two were significantly delayed by the airline's actions. One delay caused us to miss a connecting flight, leaving us stranded for 23 hours. Rebooking the flight involved standing in line for four hours with about 80-90 other passengers facing similar issues. Despite traveling with small children, no priority was given, and there was no effort to bring in additional staff to expedite the process.

The aircraft used for our flights were old, worn, and outdated. On our eight-hour flight, the in-flight entertainment systems were broken, and with the flight fully booked, no alternatives were offered. The seating was similarly aged and lacked necessary maintenance.

This unfortunate experience has ensured that we will not be flying with Aer Lingus again.

Date of travel: June 2024
2  Thank 113lalal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.