We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Johanne wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Hello,
I’m returning from a 8 day cruise on Carnival Magic, from August 3-11. I wanted to report my worst experienced on this first time cruise with my family. My family and I was in our worst nightmare. My family and I were placed in stateroom 9392. Our stateroom was below the Lido deck (dining room). I could  not understand, why that was anyway. While I was booking the reservation, I clearly stated to the representative, not to place our room near an elevator, dining room, the pool or any heavy traffic area. As a first time cruiser with Carnival, I was under the impression that customer satisfaction was a first priority but I was wrong. We spent 7 days we couldn’t sleep. The amount of noise was so unbearable, that we had to report it to guest services . A man came to inspect the noise. I was told, definitely there’s always a noise in this stateroom, it’s not new. It was so sad to hear that. The day before, our last day 8/10/22, guest services called to offer us some ear plugs and a $150 credit to spend as an insult.  My family and I felt, that we were robbed of our peace. As a nurse working for 2 years during the worst time of covid-19, all my family and I wanted was some getaway time. Some things were great, housekeeping worked so hard. and the entertainment was excellent. We only spent 2hrs in Half Moon because the shuttle had mechanical issues, by the time we got there at 2 PM the day was almost over. The food was somewhat ok. I would like some explanations from Carnival Cruise to better understand the reasons as a costumer, why we were ignored and treated that way. They’re only concerned about money, not about their guests!
Read more
Sail Date: August 2022
Cabin Type: Balcony
Type of Trip: Family (multi-generational)
Destination: Caribbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Scroll below for other great reviews

Carnival Magic

118 reviews
 All photos (2,400)2,400
Full view
Traveler (524)
Common Areas (1,374)
Dining and Bars (586)
Itineraries for this ship
Itinerary

Overview

About
Passengers: 3,690   |   Crew: 1,386
Passengers to crew: 2.66:1
Passengers to space: 35.1:1
Launched: 2011   

Decks

  • Deck 1
  • Deck 2
  • Deck 3
  • Deck 4
  • Deck 5
  • Deck 6
Additional decks
Deck 1 layout
Cabins
  Interior Upper/Lower (1A)  
  Interior (4A)  
  Deluxe Ocean View (6L)  
  Deluxe Ocean View (6N)  
  Porthole (PT)  
  Interior (4B)  
  Ocean View (6A)  
  Deluxe Ocean View (6M)  
 

Cabins

Balcony
Cabin size: 185 - 185 sq. ft.
Connected rooms: 186
Accessible rooms: 2
Maximum passengers: 4
Number of cabins: 851
Traveler rating
  • 39
  • 31
  • 17
  • 16
  • 15
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Janice wrote a review Nov 2022
The Villages, Florida2 contributions
Just came back from an 8 day cruise to the southern carribean. This has been my 1st cruise since the pandemic and about 10 years since we’ve cruised on carnival. What a change in 10 years. The quality of food has definitely gone downhill. Best meal was the pasta bar at lunch. No straws except candy ones that turn slimy, so take your own. Coffee machines were out of coffee more times than not. My grandkids loved the kids club, they had a ball there and met a lot of nice people.All in all, we had a great time with family,
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
2togogo wrote a review Nov 2022
Jacksonville, North Carolina8 contributions2 helpful votes
We have taken many cruises over the years and have always loved Carnival. We actually preferred them over any other cruise line. This is the first one we have taken since the pandemic and boy have things changed. The service is terrible, some of the servers were actually rude. The food was terrible with the exception of maybe 2 nights in the dining room and the entertainment was awful. The only saving grace the cruise director Joey, my room steward and one waiter team in the dining room. This cruise was a total lrt down and waste of my money. If I could, I would give it zero stars.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
russpei wrote a review Nov 2022
Sebring, Florida593 contributions211 helpful votes
The staff was outstanding everywhere. Food in dining room, Mongolian Wok, Seafood Shack, Guys Bergers and the BBQ joint was great. Getting on the ship was easy but at Grand Turk the lines to get on the ship was poor, elevator waits were poor and Mongolian Wok line was too long. Our room was excellent and the steward was great. One other poor thing was the hot water came out brown for three days and we were told to just let it run, poor never seen this on any other ship.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
texasLeeds wrote a review Oct 2022
leeds9 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
we sailed from new york to the caribbean in july,What shouls have been a once in a lifetime experience was a disaster.The ship was a dump and a disaster waiting to happen there were people openly smoking cannibis,fights on board cabins been broken into etc etc.our cabin had no light and just bare wires on show.we complained everyday verbally and in writing with no succes.on the last day of the cruise we were offered a swap to another room which we refused as it was pointless when nearly back.The aftercare is also as bad with the point blank refusal of any compensation. If i could give this holiday no stars i would. please look at the pictures and do yourself a favour and dont go with these cowboys.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Robert B wrote a review Oct 2022
Massanutten, Virginia268 contributions80 helpful votes
First the good stuff; the dining room was excellent - both the service and the food. The duo Magic and Music was a super talented musical group. We danced and danced to their tunes! Now the ugly; the Lido Marketplace is a disaster!!! The food was mediocre and cold at best. Other times it was NOT edible. Long lines for that slop! We really tried to avoid the Marketplace! But sometimes it was the only option available. The bars were pretty good but the staff was over worked. There was a music duo called Wild Ember. Painful to listen to!!!! Probably never going on Carnival again.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456