We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

1st Trip to New Orleans-Planned So Far...what to add?

Los Angeles...
Level Contributor
358 posts
1 review
1st Trip to New Orleans-Planned So Far...what to add?

Hi all,

Very excited to come into town for a work conference in a couple of days. It's my first time in New Orleans so I'm trying to pack things in during non-business hours.

Here's what I have planned so far:

Thursday- dinner at Commander's Palace

Friday- early am jogging tour

Friday day- walk around the French Quarter/Garden District

Friday night- dinner at Upperline

Friday later- conference party at WWII Museum

Saturday day- conference

Saturday dinner- NOLA

Saturday night- Preservation Hall

Saturday later- Carousel Bar and Sazerac Bar

Sunday day- conference

Sunday night- work event at BB Kings

Sunday later-??? Frenchmen Street?

Monday day-conference

Monday dinner- GW Fin

Tuesday 1/2 day-conferene

Free afternoon and evening

Wednesday day-free

So the other things on my list are picking up pralines at the very last day (Wednesday) at New Orleans Cooking school and the muffuletta at Central Grocery to take home.

The other food places I'm going to try to hit are Mother's for the ham and Cafe du Monde. I'm debating/wondering if I should take the Garden District Tour and Cemetery tour on my last full day. Any advice on where to dine solo on Sunday or Tuesday night? Also, would it be relatively safe for me to explore Frenchmen St. on my own in the evening? I like live music, especially Brass bands.

Any suggestions are appreciated!

Thank you!

7 replies to this topic
New Orleans...
Level Contributor
3,053 posts
1. Re: 1st Trip to New Orleans-Planned So Far...what to add?