We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Caution when travelling in Nepal!

1 post
Caution when travelling in Nepal!
Save

I am a medical doctor based in Austria. Have traveled almost 20 times to Nepal over the last 32 years.

Iam extremely concerned about the unfolding catastrophy which will take place over the next two to three month in my beloved Nepal.

I can only advice to exercise the utmost caution when travelling in Nepal. Mask up, ideally with a FFP2 mask. Hand hygiene, social distance, ventilating the room as often and thoroughly as possible.

The pandemic will trigger mass casualities in Nepal. There is not the slightest reason to believe that CoVid will treat Nepal any better than it treats India right now, and you know the pictures from India .

The only reason the situation isn't as bad as in India yet is that Nepal is around three weeks behind.

If you are a foreigner, leave the country as soon as possible. Travelling TO Nepal right now should be out of the question. There are good reasons to assume that all international flights to and from Nepal will be banned the same way as they were banned last year. TIA will most likely shut down.

The situation now is nothing like the situation last year. The incoming wave is multiple times higher, B1.617, the most common strain in India is way more contagious.

The only similarity to last year is that Nepal is exactly as unprepared as it was in 2020, thanks to an absurdly incompetent political leadership which has basically given up on the task.

Please take the utmost caution even when people around you seem to take the matter lightly.

Edited: April 30, 2021, 7:58 am
11 replies to this topic
Level Contributor
21 posts
1. Re: Caution when travelling in Nepal!
Save