We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Visiting Pokhara, Nepal in Monsoon season

1 post
Visiting Pokhara, Nepal in Monsoon season
Save

I am supposed volunteering in Pokhara July 19th and wanted to arrive about a week early to do a short trek. I recently discovered that July is monsoon season in so I have thought about pushing the trip to next summer. I'm a teacher so summer is really only my availability. If I push my trip to next summer it would have to be need to be late June(I have a friends wedding June 11th). Is there much difference in the weather between mid June and mid July or is it about the same?

Also, is it still possible to trek in July or is it a complete no go? I could miss the wedding and go early June next summer if that makes a huge difference, but I would like to avoid that if I can.

6 replies to this topic
OG Australia
Level Contributor
846 posts
6 reviews
10 helpful votes
1. Re: Visiting Pokhara, Nepal in Monsoon season
Save

It is in general a deluge. Amazing storms being subtropical. On occasions everything will clear for a short moment with crystal clear views. It will be humid. Clothes never quite dry. You will need a good umbrella. The most amazing storm I have ever seen was from Pokhara Dam side hotel in mid May just before we took off for the ABC.

The trails will be muddy. Roads with be under repair. Tracks impassable. The leaches will be numerous . They will get in every where they can. You may be one of the few people on the trail and the leeches will whisper your name as they hang off leaves waiting for you to pass.

Look up rainfall chart for Pokhara online or in a guide book.

If you want a Himalayan experience in late June / July look into Ladakh