We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Trekking Boots

Level Contributor
112 posts
Trekking Boots
Save

What is your favourite trekking boots for Himalayas trekkings? I think it's one of most important gear. Of course is pretty individual, but probably everyone have favourite trusted model.

Salomon X Ultra 3 GTX and Lowa Renegade worked perfectly for me when trekking in Alps, but

I have zero experience in the Himalayas.

15 replies to this topic
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
13,203 posts
464 reviews
472 helpful votes
1. Re: Trekking Boots
Save

It is very personal. Some trek in sneakers while others prefer heavy mountain boots, well Nepalis used to go barefoot and even today in flip flop.

Espoo
Level Contributor
3,887 posts
2. Re: Trekking Boots
Save

I have hiked a lot with Salomon trail runners like yours, now for slightly more demanding treks I have used mid-top versions of the same. Actually the Forces military version which is slightly stiffer and stronger than the civilian version, also no labels or reflectors:

https://www.salomon.com/en-us/shop/product/xa-forces-mid-gtx-en-lg3237.html#color=38989

I have not used leather hiking boots since year 2000, but something lighter. Also before that I hiked AC twice and long EBC trek once with Adidas joggers.

Bavaria, Germany
Level Contributor
337 posts
1 review
3. Re: Trekking Boots
Save

I'm on the opposite side. I'm clumsy and want to make sure my sure my feet and especially my ankles are protected. I wear B/C category boots from Meindl. I think Lowa uses the same category system.

My boots are a fair bit higher than where my ankles are, so it's harder to crack them when I stumble. It might not actually happen very often, but it might end your trek if it's really bad. So I accept the extra weight in favor for more safety.