We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

March vs. September and Everest Base Camp vs. Annapurna Circ

Minneapolis...
Level Contributor
29 posts
March vs. September and Everest Base Camp vs. Annapurna Circ
Save

Hello -

I am planning a trip to Nepal for 2019 and would like either to do Everest Base Camp or the Annapurna Circuit. Because of my work schedule I can only get enough time to travel at the end of March - first week of April or the end of September - first week of October. The trip works better for me in March, but I'm also a photographer and worried about the air quality/rain that time of year.

Also - I'm torn between Everest Base Camp and the Annapurna Circuit. My love is to see the mountains up close - so any advice would be helpful. Other similar treks I've done and enjoyed are Kilimanjaro and the O-Circuit in Patagonia.

Thank you -

Port Perry, Canada
Level Contributor
376 posts
12 reviews
5 helpful votes
1. Re: March vs. September and Everest Base Camp vs. Annapurna Circ
Save

If your main goal is to see big mountains up close then while I enjoyed both treks Everest Base Camp trek really can't be beaten...you are among the high peaks almost the entire time. You still get plenty of up close views on the Annapurna Circuit but more varied terrain in the lowlands as well.

Others will chime in on weather. I don't have a lot of experience during those times of year.

Minneapolis...
Level Contributor
29 posts
2. Re: March vs. September and Everest Base Camp vs. Annapurna Circ
Save

Thank you for the response. Everest was my gut in where I wanted to go, but I read a variety of reviews saying Annapurna was a better “hike.” Nice to hear my gut confirmed in terms of my prioroties.

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
1,579 posts