We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rough first itinerary for a few days in Dec

Melbourne, Australia
Destination Expert
for Perth, Antarctic Adventures
Level Contributor
19,355 posts
30 reviews
43 helpful votes
Rough first itinerary for a few days in Dec
Save

Hi Taswegians

I am departing for Antarctica in Dec from Hobart and as I last lived there as a 5 year old in the early 70s I would love to re-explore some places I remember and some I never got to see or have forgotten over time.

I was initially looking at booking a DIY private tour - basically a car and driver (as I am a non driver) but now a pal from Sydney has suggested they fly down and we rent a car and they will take me anywhere ! Yeay!!

As a non driver I tend to wayyy over estimate times and distances - and also forget that not all states have sights 8 hours apart like the west!

So I have grouped some things into single day blocks and am seeking opinions as to what is doable and what isnt.

The only days that are date specific are a saturday Dec 3 (for Salamanca Markets and CBD stuff) and Wed Dec 7 which is when I board the ship - so more wandering CBD stuff - maybe museums.

No flight booked yet so I am flexible and still working on exactly how many days I need to do all this.

So my days - in no specific order:

1) Hastings Caves, Tahune Air Walk, Russell Falls.

2) Bruny Island (via a tour I saw that does scenic flight there and back and a 3 hour scenic boat). Long all day thing.

3) Tassie Devil Conservation Park and Port Arthur.

4) MONA (whole day ?? what else can be done in this area from my list below)

So if thats 4 days plus a saturday and wednesday morning - what out of the below list can be included on any of the above days on the way to other things ?

Tas Museum & Art Gallery

Cat & Fiddle (childhood memory!)