We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Opinions on 4 month solo Europe trip & Eurail pass?

Sydney, Australia
11 posts
Opinions on 4 month solo Europe trip & Eurail pass?
Save

So I'm a second year uni student currently planning a solo, 4 month trip to Europe beginning late July next year until mid-November, and was wanting to ask your opinions on my itinerary, particularly regarding whether or not I'm attempting to do too much, or if there are any places on my itinerary I should skip? Also, I wanted to ask whether it would be worth getting a 3 month Global Eurail pass, and a Britrail pass for England and Scotland, or whether I'm better off buying each ticket separately? It makes it hard because the trip is still 8 months away, so I'm having trouble getting accurate prices for trains or booking flights yet. As a student, I'm trying to spend as little money as possible while still seeing much of what each country has to offer - I haven't properly budgeted or booked anything yet but am planning to save at least 20k, with some money hopefully left over when I get home! (probably wishful thinking) I'm also aware that the Schengen zone only allows me to be in Europe (excluding the UK) for 90 days, but according to my calculations I just scrape by, spending 89 days in the Schengen zone. Travel-wise, I'm interested in beautiful scenery, lurking coffee shops and museums, sunbaking on beaches, and good vegetarian food! I'll post my itinerary below:

ENGLAND - 10 days

22nd July - Depart Sydney for London

23rd July - Arrive in London early morning. Spend 5 nights, making day trips to Brighton and Bath. Have to stay this long due to booking a West End ticket on the night of the 27th of July!

28th July - Depart London to Liverpool, stopping on the way at Stratford-upon-Avon. Spend 2 nights in Liverpool.