We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Moving to the UK as a sailor

3 posts
Moving to the UK as a sailor
Save

Hi,

I'm looking to immigrate to the UK shortly and I'm trying to decide where to live. I work as a sailor mostly on boats with seasonal contracts, so I expect to be out of any potential flat for months at a time, mostly using it as a place to keep my things and to recover during months that I'm between contracts. As such, I'm hoping to find a place with relatively low rental costs (no sense paying through the nose for a flat I'll not actually be in most of the time, right?) and low crime rates, with good transport links to the rest of the UK. Preferably also a largish city as I'm a city-slicker by heart and am most comfortable in urban settings, and also potentially a port with potential local maritime jobs. I've been looking at Southampton and Bristol to start with, but I'm a bit short on details other than "They were famous historical ports" and am open to other possibilities as well. Can anyone offer more local advice and information?

London is right out, though. Bugger the living costs.

19 replies to this topic
Liverpool, United...
Level Contributor
27,644 posts
72 reviews
124 helpful votes
1. Re: Moving to the UK as a sailor
Save

Liverpool.

Scotland, United...
Level Contributor
837 posts
2. Re: Moving to the UK as a sailor
Save

Newcastle, Liverpool, Glasgow, Dundee.

Stirling, United...
Destination Expert
for Stirling
Level Contributor
17,395 posts
4 reviews
15 helpful votes
3. Re: Moving to the UK as a sailor
Save

Birmingham's central, good transport links, and can be cheap, but it's not a port.

Bristol is expensive and Southampton is within striking distance of London, so also rather expensive.