We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

One-week road trip sowthwest UK

Level Contributor
25 posts
1 review
One-week road trip sowthwest UK
Save

Hi all!

I am currently a student in Oxford and have 6 more months until graduation, but I haven't explored the UK as much as I want to due to covid. Anyway, I've decided to go on a one-week road trip starting on April 12 because then travel restrictions will be lifted in the areas I'm considering.

The only thing that I definitely want to do is drive on the Black Mountain Pass in wales and explore Brecon Beacons Park while I'm there. Other than that, I have no plan and I'm hoping to get your suggestions on how to spend the remainder of my trip.

My main interests are nature and sightseeing and I don't mind long drives. Candidates of places I might want to visit/stop at include Snowdonia, Cotswolds, and Bath but I'm not entirely sure.

Any recommendations on which roads to take and places to stop by in Wales and the west of England?

Many thanks

12 replies to this topic
North Yorkshire...
Destination Expert
for Wiltshire, London
Level Contributor
21,832 posts
625 reviews
258 helpful votes
1. Re: One-week road trip sowthwest UK
Save

Self-contained, self catering accommodation opens from 12 April, and catering only served outside. hotels will remain closed…… can you get any accommodation?

Level Contributor
25 posts
1 review
2. Re: One-week road trip sowthwest UK
Save

Yeah you're right, this is from gov.uk: [from April 12], members of the same household can take a holiday in England in self-contained accommodation.

I still haven't looked but is compliant accommodation in short supply?

North Yorkshire...
Destination Expert
for Wiltshire, London
Level Contributor
21,832 posts
625 reviews
258 helpful votes
3. Re: One-week road trip sowthwest UK
Save