We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Village Grinder

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Cafe, New Zealand
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveler rating
22
32
13
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
22
32
13
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lunch grinder beetroot relish eggs benedict cabinet food blackboard menu sit outside service was excellent coffee cafe slice sunshine presentation range filling wairarapa
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2018

Friendly staff and great food, well worth a visit when your in Masterton. Would recommend breakfast on your visit

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank mlveale
thevillagegrinder, Owner at The Village Grinder, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2018

Hello thankyou for you feedback on the Village Grinder, am pleased you enjoyed your visit with us. As always will pass on the review to my staff.

Reviewed 4 November 2018

Last year some friends told us about the Village Grinder Cafe and raved about it. We’ve visited it several times since and at first the food, coffee and service were great, however the last two times we’ve been (today and about 4 weeks ago) the...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Lara F
thevillagegrinder, Owner at The Village Grinder, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience at The Village Grinder and firstly we apologies for the poor service that you received. We pride ourselves on our customer service skills from our staff which has been reflected in previous comments from customers but obviously...More

Reviewed 15 October 2018

Stopped for lunch, had a nice selection, a very busy place.The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank John & Cheryl H
thevillagegrinder, Owner at The Village Grinder, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2018

Thankyou for your feedback we always enjoy hearing about customers visit whether it be positive or negative. We are pleased you had a pleasant visit with us and will pass on the compliments to my staff.

Reviewed 2 October 2018

We visited on a Sunday and it was quite busy, despite having plenty of staff out the front, the kitchen didn’t seem to be able to cope,even with food from the cabinet. It was a long wait.The hot food from the kitchen was nice, the...More

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank Katrine715
thevillagegrinder, Owner at The Village Grinder, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2018

Hi there thankyou for your review on the Village Grinder. When the kitchen is quite busy with orders we do put out a sign stating that there will be a 30-40 minute wait on meals and that does include the cabinet food as well, they...More

Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

Looking for that Sunday morning wakeup, the village grind is the place to start. Nice atmosphere and good food. One to hit when your in Masterton

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Shane W
thevillagegrinder, Owner at The Village Grinder, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Many thanks for your comment and am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time here at the Village Grinder and everything was to your satisfaction. Look forward to you revisiting us in the near future. Cheers Sue-Anne

Reviewed 20 August 2018

Great cafe, exc service and food. Fast and tasty food. Nice setting and full of people! Did note that it had a special for Mondays $15 for blackboard menu and drink. Great value. Just make sure they don't forget to charge you it :)

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Kim R
Reviewed 21 July 2018

Friendly quick service with good coffee. Nice bread. More flavour would be good and cracked pepper grinders. Water was available however had to ask and seek it out.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank 833garyi
thevillagegrinder, Owner at The Village Grinder, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Hi Gary Many thanks for your feedback on your experience here at the Village Grinder. We do have a cracked pepper on request for customers to use and the water is kept in the fridge so it is nice and cold on demand. Cheers Sue-Anne

Reviewed 23 April 2018 via mobile

My colleague and I both had omelettes. These were OK but presentation could have been better. I always enjoy their beetroot relish. Cappuccinos could have been hotter.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank 808JohnS808
Reviewed 8 April 2018

I stopped here with my family for lunch one Saturday and was pleasantly surprised. My elderly parents have mobility issues and this place is spacious with easy access. The menu has a good range to suit all tastes and they are flexible also. Food is...More

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Ali_Hawkins
thevillagegrinder, Owner at The Village Grinder, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Hi there, I'm very pleased you enjoyed your experience at the Village Grinder and you found it easy for your parents to have access. We do take pride in our meals and they are generous portions, they can be a little heavy handed at times...More

Reviewed 15 March 2018

After not finding anything suitable and less busy in South Wairarapa we decided to stop in Masterton. Kuripuni is a suburban shopping centre south of the main commercial area and there were several cafes open to choose from. Although advised our meal would be at...More

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank silverthreads101
thevillagegrinder, Owner at The Village Grinder, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

I'm very pleased you managed to come to Masterton and dined at the Village Grinder, as we were very busy that day and there was a wait for meals I really appreciated the patience of the customers, it was a beautiful day here and everyone...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Village Grinder staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing