We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Benihana

₱₱ - ₱₱₱Japanese, Sushi, Asian
477 Camino Del Rio S, San Diego, CA 92108-3502
+1 619-298-4666
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good24%
  • Average16%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible5%
Travelers talk about
“fried rice” (13 reviews)
“steak” (14 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
₱₱ - ₱₱₱
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
477 Camino Del Rio S, San Diego, CA 92108-3502
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The chef appeared tired and lacked enthusiasm. We enjoyed the chef of the table infront of us a lot more as he was very entertaining. He used lit up batons that were fun, but our chef said his batons were not working. The soup and...More

Thank diane B
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Diane, we apologize for this disappointing experience. If you have not done so already, please contact Guest Relations via benihanalistens.smg.com/. Our team would love to follow up with you. Your feedback helps us to make improvements. Thank you for taking the time to share your...More

Reviewed 10 July 2018

We hadn't been to Benihana for years but the experience was great and the food was good. We were pleasantly surprised that the kids loved the food as well. This was our first visit to the San Diego branch and although the room was noisy...More

Thank robinhenry
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Robin, thank you so much for your feedback, we hope to see you back again soon!

Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

Benihana San Diego is a very clean and comfortable establishment. Food is fresh and prepared right in front of you, the chef makes it a fun experience. Service is excellent! Definitely recommend this restaurant!

Thank MBLUVSCB
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

On behalf of the Benihana team, we are happy to have provided you with a 5-star experience!

Reviewed 1 June 2018

Always enjoy the experience and the setting. We took our two grand kids and they are a great time and really enjoyed their meal. Love the HIbachi meals especially the steak and the salad is always delicious. Usually take some home for the next day.

Thank ABF49ER
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Our goal is to create great guest memories. We are pleased to hear we were able to do so for you and your family.

Reviewed 28 May 2018

Good Japanese food, though nothing very great. Ambience is very American style and not Japanese style. Quite overpriced food, but then there is not much option in the area, since there are lot many hotels but no other restaurant. So they are pretty much full...More

Thank JAYANTBISWAS
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

We're sorry to hear this. Your feedback will be shared with our Guest Relations team for improvements. Arigato.

Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

To start out visit was on May 7th. I was there with my daughter who just came back from deployment that day, along with two other sailors and their parents that just came back home hours earlier from a 7 month deployment. Shortly after the...More

Thank Sandra N
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Sandra, we’re sorry to hear this. Please fill out this form so that we can follow up: benihanalistens.smg.com/

Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

My family and I stayed in a hotel right in walking distance to Benihana Restaurant. The chef was great, and he entertained us while he prepared our food. The atmosphere was nice, and the food was so good. We even ordered the salad and chicken...More

Thank advantagebill2
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Our goal is to create great guest memories. We are pleased to hear we were able to do so for you and your family.

Reviewed 30 April 2018

Over priced and over hyped. Three people, $100 check. No ambiance. Food was just okay and reminded me of cafeteria style, pre-made food. Just really not impressed.

Thank cebgel
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

We apologize for this disappointing experience. If you have not done so already, please contact Guest Relations via benihanalistens.smg.com/. Our team would love to follow up with you. Your feedback helps us to make improvements. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

In the interest of trying new places I have begun to utilize Door Dash (download the app) to order from places in the area I do not have time to go to when at work. They deliver for a small fee. I had the lunch...More

Thank Michelle C
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Michelle, Your feedback is appreciated. We will be sure to share your kind words with the team.

Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

I am so sick and tired of Benihana’s doing this. They do it all of the time to each family member enrolled in Chefs Table. The first time you sign up no problem but on subsequent birthdays we have had problems. I believe this is...More

Thank MomBabe
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

We certainly want to make this right for you. Please contact Guest Relations using the link below so we can speak to you directly about your experience. benihanalistens.smg.com/

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 288 hotels in San Diego
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Mission Valley / Zoo
430 reviews
.05 km away
Quality Suites San Diego SeaWorld Area
457 reviews
.10 km away
WorldMark San Diego - Mission Valley
122 reviews
.12 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area
973 reviews
.17 km away
Nearby Restaurants
True Food Kitchen
383 reviews
.82 km away
Boudin Bakery & Cafe
20 reviews
.74 km away
King's Fish House
263 reviews
.56 km away
Wendy's
15 reviews
.71 km away
Nearby Attractions
Fashion Valley Shopping Center
543 reviews
1.03 km away
Mission Valley Center
44 reviews
.78 km away
Nordstrom Rack
25 reviews
.69 km away
Diversionary Theatre
10 reviews
1.38 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Benihana staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$30 - US$35
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Valet Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Dining Style
Casual Dining
Good for
Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Monday
11:30 AM - 2:30 PM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 2:30 PM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 2:30 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 2:30 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 477 Camino Del Rio S, San Diego, CA 92108-3502
    (8 FWY and 163 FWY)
  • Location: United States  >  California (CA)  >  San Diego>  > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
  • Neighborhood: Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
  • Phone Number: +1 619-298-4666
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing