We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bear Inn

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
  • Floors marked for social distancing
Updated 31/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Bear Inn
Updated 31/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Ratings and reviews

Travelers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (1,191)
Filter reviews
1,188 results
Traveler rating
532
267
136
124
129
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
532
267
136
124
129
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak mixed grill pudding the pub burns night booked a table sunday lunch lovely meal be visiting again birthday meal fires roast
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Long overdue return to this characteristic inn & a delicious meal tonight! Thoroughly recommend the hearty mixed grill followed by the Bakewell tart & thanks to our polite waiter, Thomas. Will be back again soon.

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 days ago

I went here for a lunch and although it wasn't the same as previous visits prior to Covid it was still a positive experience in what must be trying times for hospitality. Yes there were shortages on staff and some menu choices but there was...still plenty of choice and everything we ordered was fine and delivered in good time.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went here for Sunday lunch. We have been regular visitors to another Chef and Brewer restaurant in another area but this one was nowhere near as good on several counts. For a start no staff were seen wearing masks, and yes I know they are...not compulsory anymore, but it is still good practice to wear them or visors for everyone’s protection. Our drinks order was taken, the range of bitters was not known by the waiter but we’ll forgive that as it may have been his first day. My son-in-law’s choice of lager was not available but there was a sign up about shortages. The waiter had to come back to check on my granddaughter’s food order because he couldn’t read his own writing! My turkey roast dinner was incredibly disappointing. The plate was covered in really salty gravy affecting everything, the sausage was cheap tasting with little texture, it was wrapped in fatty bacon and the Yorkshire pudding looked like it had been ironed flat. There was no shape to it at all, it was totally soggy and tough. Not wanting to spoil the occasion of celebrating my husband’s birthday I did not attract anyone’s attention and thought that someone would come to check everything ok - they didn’t! On to dessert and I asked the waiter if he needed to write everything down. He said no but then had to come back and check twice. Instead of a cheesecake mini pudding I was brought a chocolate dessert which I rejected and my husband was served ice cream with his Bakewell tart instead of the custard he had ordered. How on earth does this pub get some positive reviews?More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Good afternoon, Jean. I'm really disappointed we've let you down with your recent visit to us. To hear both the service and food received were not up to our usual standards is really concerning for me to hear, as you can tell by our positive...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just perfect, such a quaint little pub, homely feel, we sat inside, but the outside would of been lovely aswell in this warm weather, the sunday roast was highly recommended, loved the gravy, such nice and polite staff, eyeing up some the xmas meals for...further in the yearMore

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago

Waited 20 minutes for drinks which came wrong. Food luke warm Each plate of food delivered one by one by same staff member, serving 6 people so took ages. Food order was incorrect on several counts. Waited too long for everything. On complaining to the...landlord, and telling him we were "not" in any way after a deduction or anything free, he blamed everything on short staff due to Covid. He said hed over booked and was getting flustered...the pub was less than half full, staff standing doing not much at all. Food overall wasn't bad but service and management attitude was apauling. Manager shot himself in the foot by giving us a complete refund after many times telling him that's not what we wanted, just constructive criticism. He lost out on £100 . Won't be going back for some time as others were sending food back and complaining too.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hey there, thank you for your comments and I'd like to personally apologise for the way you felt during your visit to us. We really do appreciate constructive criticism, however don't like any guests to be left disappointed so whilst a refund may not have...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The food, service and cleanliness of the pub/restaurant was very high standard inc the toilets. Sunday roast was delicious, very tasty and filling. We will definitely be back 😊

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We can't wait to see you again for another amazing Sunday Roast, Michelle!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

So 2 weeks ago we arrived at the Bear inn and went to the entrance, the proprietor asked if we’d booked to which I said no, the owner said he was fully booked but he’d take a look to see if he could squeeze us...in, there was 4 of us my 2 friends myself and my son, he said he could fit us in around 40 mins if we didn’t mind waiting in the bar, as he was so attentive we decided to stay and have a drink, the owner literally came over 5 minutes later and said oh I’ve found a table if you’d like to follow me, he seated us and tbh I couldn’t of been more pleased with the service , we ordered and waited about 20/25 minutes for food but omg I can only explain it as a taste explosion in my mouth, my one friend had a burger which she said was the best burger she’d tasted, my son had the gammon in cola and rum glaze and said he’d never tasted anything like it before, and I of course had a steak which was cooked to perfection , unfortunately my other friend didn’t like anything on the menu so just had chips, the staff were very efficient welcoming and attentive, but John the owner went above and beyond his duty as a landlord , before I left I asked if I could speak to him and gave him a £10 tip, even tho I’d left a good tip for the staff, John literally said thank you very much I’ll put this in the tip jar with the rest, I said no that’s for you I’ve already tipped the staff well but he was adamant that they work as a team and everything is shared, wow I was impressed so much so I went back on the 28th august 21 and had a meal with my son there I would definitely recommend this pub as the owner snd his staff are absolutely amazing and the pub is so well presented, clean and the best thing is it’s dog friendly, so if your ever in need of good food and 5 star service, please do go check out John snd his staff as this pub is well worth the drive to Well done to everyone at the Bear inn, you smash your rivals out the water, keep it upMore

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Overpriced, slow service, average meals. No steak knives offered for gammon /steak meals, no ice for drinks, the tiniest bit of lemon to flavour the tonic, and a young member of staff sneezing into her hands, and carrying on doing not a lot.No washing her...hands, just her apron was handy.I therefore decided against asking for steak knives in case she brought them over. The smalles dish of peas I've ever seen on a plate too!! Didn't come away feeling full. Been once, and that'll do for us.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Greene_K1ng, General Manager at Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Muttley6, your feedback is extremely disappointing, and I'd really like to speak to you to discuss it further. Please can you get in touch when you have a spare moment 6111@greeneking.co.uk

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The waitress I had was amazing her name was Suzy. She was amazingly polite she had a smile on her face she Deserved a medal 🏅 totally 5 stars for her and also she told us what was the best food in the restaurant.

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Greene_K1ng, General Manager at Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Bigbundermax, great to hear you enjoyed your visit to our pub. Hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 21 August 2021

The steak was fantastic. The waitress, Aimee, was very attentive and looked after us all night. The Manager reminded me a bit of Basil Fawlty. A nice feel of the English Riviera.

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Greene_K1ng, General Manager at Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for your positive review.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Premier Inn Balsall Common (Near Nec) hotel
682 reviews
1.54 km away
Haigs Hotel
231 reviews
1.96 km away
Nailcote Hall Hotel and Golf Club
928 reviews
2.47 km away
The Meriden Hotel
39 reviews
2.83 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Masala Club
502 reviews
2.03 km away
The Barn at Berryfields
633 reviews
2.28 km away
The Oak Room Restaurant
168 reviews
2.50 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Millisons Wood Local Nature Reserve
9 reviews
3.22 km away
Middle England Farm Alpacas
182 reviews
5.23 km away
Heart of England Events Centre
140 reviews
6.62 km away
Rick's Bar
6 reviews
2.44 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
D5815YPsarahm
30 October 2020|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from abritt2022 | Reviewed this property |
They used to allow dogs into the bar area. Not sure if they still do as the layout has had to change because of COVID. Call them.
0
Votes
Doreen W
14 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from P9920XKjohnm | Reviewed this property |
There is a wide selection of Main Course Varying from £8 to £12. All extremely good value
0
Votes
Frank G
3 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from tammbrad | Reviewed this property |
I really don't understand your question....the pub has many reviews.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bear Inn

Yes, Bear Inn is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Bear Inn is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4