We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Chateau

Coombe Lane, Croydon CR0 5RE, England
+44 20 8686 1244
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good17%
  • Average9%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible4%
Travelers talk about
“venison” (4 reviews)
“panna cotta” (4 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
European, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
₱₱ - ₱₱₱
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Coombe Lane, Croydon CR0 5RE, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent food and service. The food is all local produce and top quality, unlike the awful Beefeater place next door. I also love the country house feel to the place and the classical music they play in the background. Highly recommended. We like to go...More

Thank 48rock
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Saturday lunch in a group, great service, an interesting menu at a very reasonable price, same goes for the wine list, delicious food, pleasant quiet ambience, unpretentious but ambitious but in a lovely setting.....great overall!

1  Thank arnorab
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went to The Chateau for Sunday lunch and it was not a great experience. On the plus side, the food was tasty and well presented. Sadly that is not enough.... The place is shabby. Lot’s of dark carpet and wood. And a broken light fitting...More

Thank Neil O
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

i simply had to go back and let my family try the fantastic food and service in this establishment. visited with my staff for our christmass meal and was so impressed that brought the whole family with me. food is full of flavours and so...More

2  Thank Abdolreza M
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

I e-mailed the restaurant inquiring about their function room for my 21st birthday. They simply replied with ‘we do not do dry hire’, with no formality at all. I didn’t even mention anything about dry hire in my first e-mail. Reading the reviews most birthdays...More

1  Thank courtney s
Venturi69, Owner at The Chateau, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

There’s no need to reply back to you as we explained to you already we do not hire out our function rooms solely to use without supplying food and hoping to make a revenue by attendees buying drinks. We are not in that sector of...More

Reviewed 6 March 2018

We held a dinner after a social event at the Chateau in early February. The food and service was excellent, and Farid and his staff were very patient and accommodating, as some of our group needed to make some last minute changes to their menu...More

Thank casa811
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Enjoyed an excellent meal together with super service. Each of the courses were of a high standard and presented well. Thank you

Thank Annie653
Reviewed 22 February 2018 via mobile

This venue was booked for a funeral gathering and although the staff were very attentive, I have to say the buffet ordered was very poor. All the food served looked as if it had been prepared a few hours before and the samosas were flat...More

Thank momo073
Venturi69, Owner at The Chateau, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2018

Hi What a contrast in your comments here and the moment you left the venue when you thanked me in the hallway personally. I am quiet upset to see it or even respond to it. The price of the basic finger buffet is £13.90 and...More

Reviewed 16 February 2018

We visited and had the Valatines Special Menu We Opted for the Garlic King Prawn starter & the salmon & prawns with avacado starter For the main course we opted for the beef medalions with wild mushrooms in a red wine sauce / jus The...More

1  Thank Robin H
Reviewed 8 February 2018 via mobile

We popped by this restaurant as it was close to where we were going. Looked good from the outside and the food and service was great. Decent meals, good portions at a reasonable price for the type of restaurant. Staff were attentive and able to...More

3  Thank Alan911e
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 24 hotels in Croydon
Premier Inn London Croydon South (A212) Hotel
410 reviews
.15 km away
Normanton Park Hotel
34 reviews
1.59 km away
South Park Hotel
86 reviews
1.61 km away
Croydon Park Hotel
1,526 reviews
2.06 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Surprise
125 reviews
1.17 km away
Beefeater Coombe Lodge
541 reviews
.28 km away
The Sandrock
151 reviews
1.17 km away
Nearby Attractions
Boxpark Croydon
332 reviews
2.32 km away
Shirley Windmill
63 reviews
1.14 km away
Museum Of Croydon
82 reviews
2.45 km away
Littleheath Woods
8 reviews
1.51 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Karen H
20 January 2018|
Answer
Response from Pronto1_11 | Reviewed this property |
Try asking them by phone!
0
Votes
bluebently8
31 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from junewebb30 | Reviewed this property |
I agree with the last reply, smart casual is fine. The Chateau make you feel very welcome whatever you are wearing so enjoy the occasion!
3
Votes
Kevin M
25 May 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Venturi69 | Property representative |
Hi We do have a section under contact us,where you can leave your booking info and we will come back to you.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Coombe Lane, Croydon CR0 5RE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater London  >  Croydon
  • Phone Number: +44 20 8686 1244
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;