We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

Travelers' Choice


US$12 - US$27
Bar, British, Gastropub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Traveler rating
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bacon burger pie pastry scampi and chips sunday roast halloumi starters and mains chilli salad the pub ate here a couple of times beer garden extra gravy great selection of drinks the sticky toffee pudding great meal heard good things
Selected filters
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited The Hope and Anchor on 16/09/21 whilst visiting the area. This was our first visit to the pub, but we will certainly come again. My wife had a burger with blue cheese, my son a lamb burger and I had the Atlantic cod....All the meals cooked well and nicely presented and the chips were very good too. My wife isn't a fan of burgers and rarely eats them, but said that hers was the best she'd ever had. We all had a dessert which were very good too. The waitress was attentive, though not intrusive. Prices were reasonable too for a gastropub restaurant.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Reviewed 26 August 2021

Visited twice whilst staying in the town. Excellent food on both occasions. Very welcoming and friendly staff and dog friendly too. Prices reasonable also.

Date of visit: August 2021
Reviewed 22 August 2021

Booked this whilst visiting Wirksworth on a staycation excellent food and service would highly recommend

Date of visit: August 2021
Reviewed 19 August 2021 via mobile

Nice meal and good service with easy parking right next to the pub. We particularly enjoyed the different types of burgers and amazing chips!

Date of visit: August 2021
Reviewed 10 August 2021 via mobile

We waited over an hour for our starter but then our starter and main courses arrived at the same time. We sent the mains back to be kept warm and were told that it was because of a problem with the till. When they came...back out again they were very disappointing. The steak that was requested rare was very well done, presumably because it had been kept warm whilst we ate our starters. The piri piri chicken salad was basically a chicken escalope that had been sliced up. The lemon and herb dressing can only be described as vile, thankfully we’d asked for it on the side and it wasn’t all over the salad although before it arrived someone came to say the chef had put it in the salad and did I want it ‘taking off’. No sign of the manager to talk to us and sort things out. When we paid, we were handed a 25% off voucher for next time we visit which we chose to leave behind when we left as we certainly won’t be going back! Don’t waste your money, very disappointing food and poor service.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Reviewed 6 August 2021

Called in for lunch, the food was great & staff were very friendly & helpful. Sat in the bar area to eat then moved outside to the lovely sunny beer garden. Plenty of nice wines, beers & cocktails to choose from. I will definitely be...back…highly recommend.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Reviewed 3 August 2021 via mobile

We came here as a family of 7. No one else eating at time of arrival. Our food can only be described as diabolical. The pie was solid inside, no gravy. The chicken goujons were rock solid, the chicken was drier than the dessert, the...scampi meals that came with chips consisted off 6 chips on each plate, baked beans were ordered but plates came with peas that were cold and the wine was like petrol . Wouldn't recommend at all and when we complained we were told maximum discount is £20 only. The food from Iceland is better!More

Date of visit: August 2021
Ben R, Owner at The Hope and Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2021

Hi Jenny, thank you for your feedback, I can only apologize for the quality of food you have received on your recent visit. There is simply no excuse as everything has clearly been overcooked, wrongly portioned and even the wrong thing sent out. However we...More

Reviewed 2 August 2021

I organised lunch at the Hope and Anchor for a large hen group on a Sunday lunchtime. We didn’t know the area but this was conveniently located for our activities. Their customer service is second to none, both when booking, in the lead up (sorting...out pre-orders) and service staff on the day. We were running late from our morning activity but they couldn’t have been more accommodating and understanding, even on a busy lunchtime. It’s a gorgeous village pub, with a comfortable dining room and pretty courtyard outside area. Parking right outside the door although it’s not private to the pub so it’s pay and display. The food was really great - our whole party was really happy. The half chicken is particularly excellent. Would thoroughly recommend the Hope and Anchor for your next visit to the Matlock area.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Ben R, Owner at The Hope and Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2021

Thanks Gina, we are happy you all enjoyed it.

Reviewed 18 July 2021 via mobile

Booked two days in advance for Sunday lunch at 1pm. Served reasonable food over one hour late - no prior warning of potential delay. On paying I politely suggested that it would have been helpful to have been warned of delay on arrival or shortly...after. Also queried lack of crackling on my pork roast dinner. Was rudely told not to come back every Sunday!!! No danger of thatMore

Date of visit: June 2021
Ben R, Owner at The Hope and Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2021

Hi Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback of your most recent visit. Your comments about the delay and for warning have been taken on board and addressed with the team to ensure communication with the customers is clear. I have...More

Reviewed 27 June 2021 via mobile

Sunday lunch, absolutely fantastic ! Beautiful brisket best lunch around by far. Friendly staff quick service 10 out of 10

Date of visit: May 2021
Ben R, Owner at The Hope and Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2021

thank you for you review, we have worked very hard on our Sunday Roasts

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Red Lion Hotel
125 reviews
.09 km away
526 reviews
2.94 km away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
1,228 reviews
3.81 km away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
492 reviews
4.34 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Le Mistral Wirksworth
721 reviews
.04 km away
Sour Cow
88 reviews
.07 km away
The Blacks Head
85 reviews
.05 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Ecclesbourne Valley Railway
460 reviews
.19 km away
Middleton Top Countryside Centre
40 reviews
1.53 km away
The Northern Light Cinema
100 reviews
.21 km away
The Feather Star
70 reviews
.05 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
21 November 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Mrswhite1990 | Reviewed this property |
12-11pm I believe
Jane R
10 January 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from paugeo19 | Reviewed this property |
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Hope and Anchor

The Hope and Anchor is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4