We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Horseshoe Restaurant

₱₱ - ₱₱₱, British,
90 High Street | Offord D'Arcy, St. Neots PE19 5RH, England
+44 1480 810297
Website
Share
Save
Certificate of Excellence
All photos (113)
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good23%
  • Average5%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“pork” (22 reviews)
“fillet steak” (9 reviews)
“sunday roast” (17 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₱₱ - ₱₱₱
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
90 High Street | Offord D'Arcy, St. Neots PE19 5RH, England
All Details
Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here
Sponsored by: The Horseshoe Restaurant
1. Great Food
"food was excellent and the service friendly and attentive."
BobStamford
See reviews that mention excellent food and service
2. Great desserts!
"First time in years my mother ate everything"
Margaret S
See reviews that mention excellent food and service
3. Great Service.
" The service was excellent."
emmasnonna
See reviews that mention amazing service
Write a ReviewReviews (455)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Haven’t been in for a while, but stole the opportunity this evening. The pork souvlaki was outstanding, then the delicious white chocolate and peach mousse with lavender and coconut bon bons that, if you close your eyes, you can imagine yourself in a country cottage...More

Thank NatzBart
Restaurant's Favorite
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Enjoyed a celebratory Birthday visit to The Shoe for lunch and it didn't disappoint. The food, wine and service were all excellent. I had the goat dish which was just superb. Luckily we managed to save room for dessert this time.

Thank Toysietoad
Ian K, Owner at The Horseshoe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

We are very happy that you enjoyed your food. Thanks for taking the time. It is very much appreciated.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The worst customer service ever. We walked in (2 adults and 2 kids) yesterday for dinner at about 7pm but was told to wait till 8pm as we didn’t make any reservation. The restaurant had only 5 customers max and most of the tables were...More

Thank Daiz_13
Ian K, Owner at The Horseshoe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are sorry you did not appreciate some 30 people had booked in advance to eat between 7 & 8pm this Friday evening. Although some tables were empty there were booked customers expected and some did arrive when you were there. I'm sure you must...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We got lost and were very late for our lunch reservation, but our table for six adults and a newborn was held without a fuss. It was a special family lunch and other than the Sat Nav going haywire and leading us to a dead...More

Thank LMarshUK
Ian K, Owner at The Horseshoe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Sincere thanks for your review. Much appreciated.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a family/friends meal tonight, the food was fantastic, good portions and all delicious. Friendly staff & good atmosphere too. Would definitely recommend and will be back. The double lamb chop with moussaka courgette was amazing 😋Steaks and The Shoe burger were really good...More

Thank Kate G
Ian K, Owner at The Horseshoe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks very much for taking the time to review us. Much appreciated.

Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

Good food, friendly staff, have been a number of times including a family Christmas Dinner, what's more to say?

Thank Buddy W
Ian K, Owner at The Horseshoe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks for taking the time to revue us. It is much appreciated.

Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

I have visited this restaurant on two consecutive Sunday’s with family. Staff are pleasant on arrival and attentive throughout. The restaurant never appears particularly busy and you are invited up to the carvery which avoids large queues and knocking into others with full plates. There...More

1  Thank PaulaBev
Ian K, Owner at The Horseshoe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We do very much appreciate your constructive critique and particularly that you enjoy the majority of our offerings. We feel your comments on our vegetables is fair. The caraway with cabbage is a popular touch but its not to everyones taste. We should provide a...More

Reviewed 7 July 2018

Sunday lunch should be effortless, with a good choice of roasts, pleasant venue and nice selection of drink. These guys nail it every time.

Thank geoffCambs
Ian K, Owner at The Horseshoe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Great revue! Many thanks.

Reviewed 5 July 2018 via mobile

Booked a table for 8. Tricky as they need to know what people want beforehand! When ypu have pie and soup of the day. That's a tad tricky. We tried to get the cake before everyone arrived. No response to message left. We arrived all...More

Thank RichardBourne
Ian K, Owner at The Horseshoe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks for taking the time to revue us. Your feedback is very valuable to us. It is true that for tables of 8 or more wishing to dine 'a la carte' we suggest a 'pre-order' if at all possible. This makes it possible for...More

Reviewed 30 June 2018

We are not reviewing the food as we didn't receive any just the service. We made an error and thought about eating here on a Sunday evening. The place was empty which should have alerted us to the fact that food wouldn't be available. However...More

2  Thank NatAndyJosh
Ian K, Owner at The Horseshoe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

We are extremely sorry to hear of this and we hope you can accept our apology that you were kept waiting. Needless to say any such delay like this is extremely rare and we are looking into what caused this. Sunday evenings have never been...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 3 hotels
The Lion Hotel
373 reviews
2.94 km away
The George Hotel & Brasserie
311 reviews
2.95 km away
The Old Bridge
568 reviews
5.35 km away
Sandford House Bar and Hotel
248 reviews
5.43 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Lion at Buckden
187 reviews
2.93 km away
The Bell
74 reviews
3.11 km away
The Black Bull
170 reviews
4.02 km away
The Anchor
23 reviews
4.59 km away
Nearby Attractions
Buckden Towers
35 reviews
2.93 km away
High Harthay Outdoor Pursuits
18 reviews
3.74 km away
Southlake Aqua Park
43 reviews
4.40 km away
Paxton Pits Nature Reserve
178 reviews
5.16 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Tricia W
27 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Ian K | Property representative |
The 'Shoe serves 'a la carte' fresh and prepared food on the premises Monday to Saturday. Sadly, 'TheNeilDeal' is what, in polite company, is called 'mischievous'. Perhaps have a look at the other 400+ reviews? Thanks for... More
0
Votes
MrsPrefect
7 April 2017|
Answer
Response from 980RET | Property representative |
To reassure you all of our sauces are made to order from real ingredients no pre made, processed or packaged products are used in our kitchen. In the case of the blue cheese sauce we make it using homemade veal Demi glacé... More
-1
Votes
Samira1358
10 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Jonathan B | Reviewed this property |
I don't know if they're open Christmas Day, if they are then definitely!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$9 - US$45
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 90 High Street | Offord D'Arcy, St. Neots PE19 5RH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cambridgeshire  >  St. Neots
  • Phone Number: +44 1480 810297
  • E-mail
Description
Set in the picturesque village of Offord D'Arcy between St Neots and Godmanchester, The Horseshoe successfully combines an old village pub and a gourmet restaurant. Known locally as The 'Shoe, the Grade 2 listed 395-year old period building has been extended but retains its original features and charm. The bars offer both low ceilings and rustic style, with exposed beams and Inglenook real fireplaces, whereas the restaurant has a part vaulted ceiling and a more recent design. The frequently changing menu allows you to experience internationally influenced dishes as well as the best of British cuisine. Dishes often carry a wine recommendation to help you choose the right selection. For around £25 to £30 per person, you can enjoy a three-course meal here, and should you choose something you don't like, they will offer you another choice! The Horseshoe really is lucky after all!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing